We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy with little girl” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
The Plaza Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fifth Avenue at Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Christmas Spectacular
Ranked #165 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Los Gatos, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enjoy with little girl”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The bed ! Todd English food hall
Birthday lunch at the palm was awesome ( I requested a bd cake last mins ..they are it happens !!!
Drinks r expensive , foods were not bad on price tag
Many places , hall way for little one ran around
Oh yess....... Eloise for little Girl
They sent bd card , cookies to the room for my daughter

Room Tip: Join the Member u got free wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    644
    218
    116
    64
    50
See reviews for
303
400
52
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Not a place I would recommend. Paying $800 a night you expect impeccable service and quality of ambiance and food. All overrated at the Plaza. I have traveled and stayed at 4 star and 5 star hotels and I would consider this hotel a 4 star at best if that...food was horrible. We had dine in and ordered $26 for a 10 inch what seemed to be a below par $3 frozen Pizza. Breakfast was also below standards. My husband ordered sunny side up eggs they came 25 minutes after he ordered and were stone cold. The selection of breakfast bar for the price was also exceedingly below standards. The overall hotel was ok. The concierge service was not helpful and seemed like they were bothered by even asking them any questions. At one point I had a concierge make me wait over 5 minutes before they even acknowledged me. I have stayed in New York before and there are far much better hotels at 1/3 of the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaneck
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

It was like being a king and queen on your wedding night. Absolutely amazing way to end the wedding celebrations. The rooms were comfortable and luxurious and special treatment by the staff made it a great night

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaHotelManagement, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Mitchell S,

It is always an honor to hear stories of those who spend special occasions with us, such as your wedding night. We hope to welcome you back for many anniversaries to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I was so concerned about some of the poor reviews on The Plaza Hotel, that I almost canceled! So glad I didn't! From the moment we stepped out of the car... everyone was fantastic! We were greeted by Eddie "Spaghetti" and he was so warm and welcoming! What a fun guy! The concierge was excellent...courteous, professional, pleasant. Our room was great, full of old world charm and the bed was very comfortable! Much more comfortable than the Four Seasons (I was surprised about that, since everyone raves over the FS mattresses).

Anyway, I was there recovering from a surgical procedure and the entire staff was always looking to do something for me! First let me say that the food ordered from room service was absolutely EXCELLENT! You MUST get the Palm Burger....might be the best burger I've ever had...anywhere!

Tea time in Palm Court was fantastic...and one day, when I couldn't go downstairs...they were so wonderful...they brought tea to my room for my husband and I. DELISH! You MUST try this if in NYC, even if you're not staying at The Plaza. I don't think it's pricey... bc you have to remember where you are! You're paying for atmosphere, ambiance and exceptional food and service. It's well worth the price.

Another thing that's a MUST at The Plaza... go all the way downstairs, where they have booths from places all over NYC... such as Lady M bakery (BEST mille crepe cake you've EVER had) and Payard (French chocolates and pastries...sooo good!). They also have a lovely shop where you can purchase souvenirs. Adorable trinkets!

The staff was so wonderful, they offered to take me to my doctor's appointment with the hotel car (my surgeon's office was less than 10 blocks away) and before we left, they wrapped up a signed copy of a book all about The Plaza Hotel and a Plaza Hotel Keychain and gave us a beautiful hand written note.

I don't think I'll ever want to stay at another hotel in NYC again. Before this, I had stayed at the Four Seasons (a month before) and there really is NO comparison! The Plaza made me feel like I was a star. They couldn't do enough for me and even mailed out and accepted packages, brought up my favorite foam-gel cushions, nice sized refrigerator, doggie bed, treats and dishes for my little Java Girl.

I can't say enough about this place. I felt like I was in another world. As if I were in a movie... or in Europe somewhere. It was like living in a wonderful dream for 7 glorious nights.

Don't look at the cost... you can't put a price tag on a memory.

I don't think I need to say that there is NO better location in NYC.

Book...stay...and enjoy the luxury and pampering!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaHotelManagement, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Franbug,

Thank you for sharing your excellent feedback with us. We are thrilled to hear that we were able to take care of you while you were recovering and that you enjoyed your stay so immensely. We hope to welcome you back again soon! Thank you again for taking the time to share with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The service was very good ,friendly staff great location. The room was good other than the TV set was quite old and slow. The plaza basement offers exceptional food very convenient so you have to leave the hotel for food and great selections also

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I have stayed in the best hotels in NYC and in many parts of the world. This hotel is terrible, on every level. They offered us a free night stay upon departure and we declined. not sure what else to say other than, saty elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed at this hotel on the July 4th weekend. The hotel is very close to everything. It is very elegant. We stayed in a Junior Suite, the king bed was very, very comfortable and the cot we had was the most comfortable cot I had ever slept on. The bathrooms are beautiful. The receptionist are very polite and professional. The only negative things about the hotel was the one concierge that was at the desk was not very friendly and whenever you asked about anything such as directions he would quickly tell you something and not want to talk to you anymore even when there was nobody in line. The other upsetting thing was when I checked in they said I would have a city view but when I got to the room we looked directly to the building across from us and nothing else. Also beware when you ask for a late checkout, we asked for a late checkout and they gave it to us but we came back to our room before our check out time we were locked out and we had to wait for security to come and open the door and he treated us like we were robbers. Beyond that it is a beautiful hotel and very central to everything around.

Room Tip: ask for room facing central park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza Hotel

Address: Fifth Avenue at Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in New York City
#81 Business Hotel in New York City
#105 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#127 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#181 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plaza Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza continues its heritage of defining luxury with a newly renovated 282 room hotel designed to meet the highest and most demanding of standards. Discerning. Attentive. Discreet. Our luxury hotel in New York City offers its guests every indulgence and caters to every whim. Thoughtfully integrated in every room is a iPad that has been designed specifically for The Plaza guest to control room ambience, as well as to provide access to a vast array of concierge services. Guests have access to The Plaza's top of the line, ultra-luxury automobile, the BMW 7 Series, to explore New York City. Unmatched hotel services and amenities, enhanced by today's foremost technology, truly create a luxury experience nothing short of extraordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza New York City
Plaza Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.