We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary at The Plaza, NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Plaza Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fifth Avenue at Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Christmas Spectacular
Ranked #151 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Trumbull
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Anniversary at The Plaza, NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We booked our stay at the Plaza to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. The overall experience was phenomenal. Our every need was taken care of. We were made to fell like royalty. All staff went our of their way to recognize this special event. During Tea in the Palm Court, several hotel managers approached jus to congratulate us and offer their help with anything. That personal touch is what we will always remember.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    203
    102
    53
    44
See reviews for
281
352
47
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

excellent experience. well positioned hotel on fifth avenue. great service. iconic hotel in the heart of New York . the concierge is very friendly and super efficient....would definitely stay again...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tr- Pol3
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

No one answers phone, Internet is horrible, they forget to clean the rooms, the bags stay with the concierge for over 8 hours two days in a row. They even sent us the wrong shopping bags. No one answers the phone

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

The Plaza is such a beautiful hotel. Everyone was so polite and very helpful. I can't wait to go back again. This is the best location for shopping. The staff are very caring and go above and beyond to make your stay amazing. If you want to be treated like royalty then this is the hotel for you. First class

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Plaza for our anniversary. This hotel used to be my 'go-to' hotel in NYC when I travelled on business- for the location and character- but mainly for the service levels. I've stayed at the Four Seasons in NYC several times- and while that was excellent, it fell just shy of the Plaza because of personalized service (in the past). That would not be the case today. On the + side: our room (with a terrace) was great. -The concierge staff was fantastic. On the negative: the blinds and iPad room controls both had issues during our stay, noise from doors shutting in the hallways was quite loud... and difficult to avoid. small request by the hotel staff were ignored or unable to be met. The "food court' atmosphere on the lower level is quite pedestrian. The check in process and front desk professionalism has gone down several notches since the renovation. We would rate the overall stay an 8.5- which isn't bad at all- but if you've been spoiled by the Plaza in its past, you will find that it falls short.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Very bad experience overall, the wifi did not work & charged for the privilege, they organised a car service for 5am, which never turned up, I then organised my own uber car , the heating in the room was stuck @ 80c for the first night.


  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

My family and I stayed at The Plaza Hotel with 8 rooms for about a week in Feb. The location of the hotel is convenient and it is nicely decorated. However, the staffs tends to provide service with a rude attitude and are not attentive at all. It felt like the hotel is better off to equip themselves with machine than these unfriendly staffs. For the week that I was there, I hardly see any smiles on any of their faces. The ones working in the lobby seemed to be busy all the time looking at the computer monitor. Not a single acknowledgement as an eye contact or a simple good morning was given. The security was rude and all he cares about is if people are taking photos of the hotel. When we returned to the hotel after shopping with bags to carry, the bellman did not bother to offer any assistance. I cannot believe this is actually a Fairmont managed hotel with the level of service it provides. I would definitely not choose this soulless hotel again and I would not recommend anyone in doing so.

Room Tip: Not much to talk about as I do not advise to anyone to choose this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza Hotel

Address: Fifth Avenue at Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in New York City
#83 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#91 Business Hotel in New York City
#98 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#186 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plaza Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza continues its heritage of defining luxury with a newly renovated 282 room hotel designed to meet the highest and most demanding of standards. Discerning. Attentive. Discreet. Our luxury hotel in New York City offers its guests every indulgence and caters to every whim. Thoughtfully integrated in every room is a iPad that has been designed specifically for The Plaza guest to control room ambience, as well as to provide access to a vast array of concierge services. Guests have access to The Plaza's top of the line, ultra-luxury automobile, the BMW 7 Series, to explore New York City. Unmatched hotel services and amenities, enhanced by today's foremost technology, truly create a luxury experience nothing short of extraordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza New York City
Plaza Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.