We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Plaza, a great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
The Plaza Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fifth Avenue at Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Christmas Spectacular
Ranked #166 of 459 Hotels in New York City
cincinnati
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The Plaza, a great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

To begin with we were able to use the Fairmont card free nights (2 nights per card for my wife and I) at the Plaza for four free nights during the US Open. We were booked on the fifth floor where you have an outdoor patio with two nice padded lounge chairs. One day we fell asleep on those chairs in the middle of Manhattan which was great. My workout clothes, shoes and socks were in the room which is complimentary with the Fairmont club membership you get with the credit card, you also get free Internet which runs $14.95 a day otherwise.

Once we got the the room the butler showed up to introduce himself and deliver several Fiji waters. He handed us his card and offered to unpack our clothes, get us a drink, whatever. After a long day at the Open on day two my wife and I were a little tired and sore, I pulled out the butlers card called the hotel and asked if they could draw a bath for us to be ready at 11:30pm. They said absolutely and would I prefer bubbles or bath salts and if I needed anything else. The tub is huge by the way so it took some time to fill I'm sure. That was the way any call and any request was answered "absolutely and is there anything else you need Mr. ...".

We loved the look and feel of the place, old world elegance, stately, refined and regal. It made you feel special when you walked in the lobby and down the hall. The rooms had high ceilings, large baths, comfortable chairs, and the patio was awesome.

The proximity to Central Park, Fifth Avenue shopping, great restaurants and the upper east side is the best. I highly recommend Sarabeths for brunch and Quality Meats for the best steak you will find anywhere. These places are both a block or less from the Plaza and are both highly rated places to eat.

I highly recommend The Plaza, and if you can get the deal we did its an absolute dream trip to NYC.

Room Tip: Fifth floor for the outdoor patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    644
    218
    116
    64
    50
See reviews for
303
400
52
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NJ USA
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Given that the expectations are so high it's great to see that this property lives up to them. Rooms are spacious and well appointed and the bathroom was beautifully designed and almost as large as some nyc studio apartments. Service is gracious without being overbearing. You can stay in NY for less but if you want a splurge. . . .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I was there on 5 nights when I first arrive to NY. I love this place. Rooms are lovely - comfy - luxurious.
Staff are very friendly and always can rely on them at any time.
I had an apartment and I don't regret - price adequate to quality.
Breakfast and room service -- First Class Star from me!
Worth to stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Just got back from a fabulous three night stay at The Plaza. Although this hotel has received some bad press I had a truly amazing experience. Illya at the front desk went above and beyond to ensure I was comfortable and satisfied with my room. He recognized me by name daily and even set up a special arrangement with the doorman. Ask for a room on the 5th floor with a courtyard view to get one of the few balcony's in the hotel. Never underestimate the power of a $20 bill for the doorman.

Room Tip: 5th floor courtyard rooms have balconies
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Impressive lobby, very nicely decorated rooms, superb Concierge who booked great activities and even managed to get us a reservation at Per Se by following up and landing us a cancellation spot. Best spot in NYC. The gym was also great, as were the underground food stores you should go to whether or not you stay at The Plaza.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

its one of the best hotels that you can find in the big apple. they were the first hotel that i've seen and experienced using a tablet(Ipad) to control the temperature, dim lights, and to message your butler. they were also tight with security purposes which is good. the food hall was amazing. lots of choices. we had a great stay and hoping to come back soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaHotelManagement, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear cuteman88,

Thank you for posting a review of your stay here on TripAdvisor! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at The Plaza, especially The Plaza Food Hall and the in-room iPads. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to the Big Apple! Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

How can you go wrong at the Plaza??

We stayed at the Plaza for a couple nights in August. I love all the Fairmont hotels, and this hotel certainly didn’t disappoint! Everyone at the hotel is very helpful and welcoming, including the bellman, the front desk & concierge. The lobby & public spaces are beautiful & historic. I think it’s worth a look even if you aren’t staying at the hotel.

Sadly, the outside of the building is currently being renovated, so the entire hotel is covered with scaffolding / a mesh shroud designed to look like the building underneath. A bit disappointing, but we were aware of the construction prior to our trip, so it was fine. It did impede the view from our room, but we could still see through the construction mesh.

We arrived at the hotel a few hours prior to check-in, and were able to get a room without any problems. We stayed in a King Plaza room, which is their lead-in room category. The room itself is quite large (I think about 450 – 500 sq ft?) and it’s beautiful. The room was very elegantly decorated, and there was a chandelier in the center of the room. Slippers, a little floor mat/towel & a bottle of water were all ready next to the bed for each of us. The two chairs at the foot of the bed were comfortable and well situated in front of the T.V. The bed/pillows/linens were also super comfortable. Lights & room temperature can be controlled by an iPad in the room, which you can also use for personal use during your stay. Wifi is free if you’re a President’s Club member.

The bathrooms at this hotel are gorgeous! On one side, there is a separate toilet and shower, both with glass doors. The other side features a bathtub, beautiful flower wall mosaic & some shelves. The vanity is in the center of the bathroom and is all marble. All the faucets in the bathroom were 24 carat gold!

Our phone rang shortly after we checked into our room – it was our butler, who wanted to introduce himself. I didn’t even know we had a butler! He advised us there was someone available 24/7 if we needed assistance with anything at all. Many times when we left the room, we would come back to refreshed toiletries or water, a bucket of ice, or the bed turned down for the evening.

The only problems we encountered were with noise. We heard housekeeping vacuuming the hallway a couple times (it was actually quite loud). Also, on our second morning we were awakened by exterior construction on the floor above us. There was a note in the room advising when exterior construction was supposed to start / end each day, but we started hearing noises about 30 minutes earlier than was “allowed”. It wasn’t super early, but it made sleeping in impossible.

We didn’t dine at the hotel, so I can’t comment on that. There was a food court of sorts in the basement that looked interesting. It looked like a good place to get a quick bite or have dessert.

Overall we were very pleased with our stay at the Plaza. It’s a beautiful, well located hotel & the service was excellent!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaHotelManagement, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Kristin7,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us here on TripAdvisor. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, from the comforts of your guest room to the Butler service. We do apologize for the inconveniences due to noise, and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us despite these setbacks. Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza Hotel

Address: Fifth Avenue at Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in New York City
#80 Business Hotel in New York City
#105 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#127 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#181 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plaza Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza continues its heritage of defining luxury with a newly renovated 282 room hotel designed to meet the highest and most demanding of standards. Discerning. Attentive. Discreet. Our luxury hotel in New York City offers its guests every indulgence and caters to every whim. Thoughtfully integrated in every room is a iPad that has been designed specifically for The Plaza guest to control room ambience, as well as to provide access to a vast array of concierge services. Guests have access to The Plaza's top of the line, ultra-luxury automobile, the BMW 7 Series, to explore New York City. Unmatched hotel services and amenities, enhanced by today's foremost technology, truly create a luxury experience nothing short of extraordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza New York City
Plaza Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.