We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
The Plaza Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fifth Avenue at Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #165 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Awesome location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Plaza lived up to its reputation as one of the finest New York hotels! My friend and I treated ourselves to the pleasure of staying here for 3 nights to celebrate our birthdays. The room was superbly decorated in antiques and the bathroom was sumptuous! The reception staff were not that friendly but the porters, Teddy and Waheed, deserve special mention for keeping us entertained and for being helpful.

Room Tip: try to request a room with a view over the park - it may be a bit noisy but the view is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    727
    239
    129
    73
    55
See reviews for
345
438
62
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We spent 6 nights here, when we traveled to NYC to be married and it did not dissapoint. We stayed in 'The Rose Suite' which was perfectly romantic. The rooms are exceedingly large by NYC standard and the decor is classic but modern, with the most comfortable bed and furnishings. Our bathroom was very large and had the priveledge of french doors opening to a great view over central park to our left. The butlers pantry and Mod cons, such as the lighting and air con controlled via an ipad, ensured the ambiance was always perfect and our every need catered for. The room was kept immaculate and Our turn down service was a joy, with lots of little personal touches provided. The rest of the hotel was just as lovely and the staff a pleasure to speak with. This was truly a 5 star experience....my only dissapointment was that i had to leave our lovely room to sightsee !!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaHotelManagement, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear SAK_10,

Thank you for your great feedback. We are thrilled you chose to stay with for such a special occasion and that you had great experience - from your comfortable guestroom to the personalized turn down service. We do hope that you will be able to return again in the future, perhaps even to celebrate your one year anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
None of anyones business
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed for 1 night only but it was wonderful. Location is right on Central Park and 5th Ave. Incredibly comfortable bed and the bathroom was divine! I would love to stay longer the next time i visit NYC.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed here 4 days late August. Paid to upgrade to The Rose Suite, well worth it, as was heavenly, The bed was the best i have ever slept in and wanted one to take home,had dressing room dressing table mood lighting all from your in house ipad. I loved the corridors to the suites very well designed and spacious. The plaza has Eloise Boutique, a dream come true for any little princess, also The Eloise Suite. Found Todd English in the food court as part of Hotel easy for a light lunch. My very favorite store is right next door Bergdorf Goodman women and mens across the street,Just doing there Fall windows so beautiful I took many photographs. and of course right in the heart of everything. This was our first trip to New York and would recommend this hotel. One slight downside was breakfast, Service takes too long and waiting for an hour plus for pot of Tea not good enough. Other guests with us found the same problem, as we all wanted to get going to various shopping sightseeing etc. All in All good experience and would return if only for those heavenly beds.

Room Tip: If you want to spoil yourself not much more a night to upgrade to a suite, have some super deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed here as part of a work prize event so I was not paying. I probably would not have spent my own money on it as it is pretty pricey per night, as you would expect. What amazed me was how it was such a retreat from the hustle and bustle outside, the rooms were incredibly quiet and the bed was sooooo comfortable. All the staff we engaged with were friendly and made us feel very welcome. The location is of course fantastic.

I did not eat breakfast in the hotel, preferring better value options outside. I would however recommend taking a trip down to Todd English's Food Court downstairs, we had good food in there and enjoyed the atmosphere, sitting at the counter watching the chefs in action.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband booked this trip (normally I do all the booking) but when he informed me we would be staying at The Plaza I was impressed with his choice, we stayed here in December for four nights, from arrival to departure the staff exuded professionalism they were on hand 24/7 and were eager to help with any queries or requests. We had a king room and both found it to be well equipped and luxurious, no complaints at all, all areas of the hotel were exceptionally clean and we could not fault the domestic staff. Location of the hotel is fantastic - right in the middle of everything we came to see, we love to explore and the hotel was a convenient base. This hotel is quite expensive and on reflection there are plenty other hotels within the locality that are more reasonably priced and we would probably consider those , but would not rule out returning here in the future, we have no issues with recommending this accommodation to family and friends.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Reserved a room through American Express for a pay for 2 stay for 3 nights In a king room and were upgraded to a deluxe king with terrace that was large and well-appointed . An in- room iPad controlled the lighting, air conditioning, messages and notification to housekeeping about turn- down service. The bath only had a single sink vanity but the soaking tub, huge shower and full array of amenities made up for it. The bed was very comfortable and the air conditioning was great- I always enjoy a very cold room and we never heard our neighbors or outside traffic.

This hotel is all about the customer- from check- in to check- out. Everyone is on alert to service you and does it with a smile- very friendly environment!

We enjoyed the continental breakfast buffet in the Palm Court- it was included in our rate but was a bit steep at $32 pp -the room, however, is just beautiful and the service fabulous. We were disappointed that the Oak Room is currently closed but enjoyed cocktails in the bar upstairs and delighted with the mixed nuts and popcorn served with our perfectly mixed drinks. Again, a bit expensive at $22 to 23 dollars a drink but the ambience and service are just wonderful.

The hotel is so convenient to shopping, subways, central park and the theater. There is a house car that will take you to a destination within 10 blocks of 59th and 5th if it is available- one evening the car had just left and the doorman offered us another car....much better than a taxi!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend The Plaza very highly to anyone who values lovely accomodations and first class service in a great location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza Hotel

Address: Fifth Avenue at Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in New York City
#104 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#107 Business Hotel in New York City
#112 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#168 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plaza Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Striking the balance between its storied past and limitless future, The Plaza is the ultimate New York City luxury lifestyle destination - an iconic urban resort with a new and contemporary spirit. While traditions remain, such as the opulent grandeur of the Beaux Arts decor and the iconic Afternoon Tea in The Palm Court, exciting new offerings at this legendary hotel include the elegant Champagne Bar, the stylish Rose Club, and The Plaza Food Hall. The Plaza Hotel offers 282 distinctive guestrooms, including 102 luxurious suites, which boast the largest square footage of any luxury hotel in New York City. From the sumptuous decor to the impeccable white glove service, The Plaza is an extraordinary hotel that offers every indulgence. For our suite guests, The Plaza is pleased to offer Butler Service 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Splendia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza New York City
Plaza Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.