We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, good service, great beds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
The Plaza Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fifth Avenue at Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #165 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lovely, good service, great beds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed here as part of a work prize event so I was not paying. I probably would not have spent my own money on it as it is pretty pricey per night, as you would expect. What amazed me was how it was such a retreat from the hustle and bustle outside, the rooms were incredibly quiet and the bed was sooooo comfortable. All the staff we engaged with were friendly and made us feel very welcome. The location is of course fantastic.

I did not eat breakfast in the hotel, preferring better value options outside. I would however recommend taking a trip down to Todd English's Food Court downstairs, we had good food in there and enjoyed the atmosphere, sitting at the counter watching the chefs in action.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    727
    239
    129
    73
    55
See reviews for
345
438
62
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband booked this trip (normally I do all the booking) but when he informed me we would be staying at The Plaza I was impressed with his choice, we stayed here in December for four nights, from arrival to departure the staff exuded professionalism they were on hand 24/7 and were eager to help with any queries or requests. We had a king room and both found it to be well equipped and luxurious, no complaints at all, all areas of the hotel were exceptionally clean and we could not fault the domestic staff. Location of the hotel is fantastic - right in the middle of everything we came to see, we love to explore and the hotel was a convenient base. This hotel is quite expensive and on reflection there are plenty other hotels within the locality that are more reasonably priced and we would probably consider those , but would not rule out returning here in the future, we have no issues with recommending this accommodation to family and friends.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Reserved a room through American Express for a pay for 2 stay for 3 nights In a king room and were upgraded to a deluxe king with terrace that was large and well-appointed . An in- room iPad controlled the lighting, air conditioning, messages and notification to housekeeping about turn- down service. The bath only had a single sink vanity but the soaking tub, huge shower and full array of amenities made up for it. The bed was very comfortable and the air conditioning was great- I always enjoy a very cold room and we never heard our neighbors or outside traffic.

This hotel is all about the customer- from check- in to check- out. Everyone is on alert to service you and does it with a smile- very friendly environment!

We enjoyed the continental breakfast buffet in the Palm Court- it was included in our rate but was a bit steep at $32 pp -the room, however, is just beautiful and the service fabulous. We were disappointed that the Oak Room is currently closed but enjoyed cocktails in the bar upstairs and delighted with the mixed nuts and popcorn served with our perfectly mixed drinks. Again, a bit expensive at $22 to 23 dollars a drink but the ambience and service are just wonderful.

The hotel is so convenient to shopping, subways, central park and the theater. There is a house car that will take you to a destination within 10 blocks of 59th and 5th if it is available- one evening the car had just left and the doorman offered us another car....much better than a taxi!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend The Plaza very highly to anyone who values lovely accomodations and first class service in a great location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is not a cheap place to stay, even if you book almost a year in advance. But the decor is fabulous in the common areas and rooms, bathroom is HUGE and luxurious. Staff was eager to please. It's right next to Central Park and very convenient to Empire State Building, Times Square, etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The hotel as a facility is excellent. Much was said here about how great it is. No need to repeat. It is truly impressive. Room is big and very comfortable. But one has to wait for almost everything. Wait 5-10 min to be seated for breakfast. I was waiting for over 15 min for package to be delivered to my room. They said that they are delivering it right away. I went down and it was still there. In the evenings all tables are occupied in the champaign bar. I tried twice to have coffee there. No luck)) Overall the staff is extremely friendly, polite and they try to serve you best. I guess the hotel is just overwhelmed by the number of guests they have.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Anyone that says a hotel is only a place to drop your bags and sleep has not stayed at The Plaza. Stayed at this fabulous hotel from August 23 - August 28 of 2012 and loved every minute. I was there with my husband and 2 children. We stayed in The Edwardian Suite on the 18th floor. The staff was very friendly, courteous and quick to help us with anything we needed. Salvatore checked us in at the front desk and was wonderful. Not once did I experience anyone discourteous.

The suite was beautiful....really. If you're a light sleeper the banging in the air conditioner will keep you awake but the bed was so comfortable, a train wouldn't have bothered me. I heard it but it didn't stop me from sleeping.

There's a food court on the lower level where you can buy pastries and quick sandwiches....worth the peek down there.

Room is situated in the perfect spot for anyone visiting the city for the first time. This was my 6th visit but still ... this felt like ocean front property.

I have stayed in many great hotels ... my favourite until now was The Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay in Sanfrancisco...that is .. until The Plaza.

I also highly recommend you try The Moscow Mule. Killer drink :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaHotelManagement, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear 007Diva64,

Thank you for your positive review. It’s so wonderful to know that we are your favorite hotel and we have passed along your kind words to Salvatore. We hope you’ll come back and stay with us again soon for another Moscow Mule!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

As a frequent visitor of Fairmont and Fairmont Raffles Hotels I had high expectations for The Plaza Hotel for my New York stay. As I entered the lobby for check-in my party was rudely threatened by a clearly aggravated member of security stating no photos are allowed. No photographs were being taken; the closest thing being a member of my staff hanging a camera around his neck. I do not needlessly get threatened, especially in front of my staff by those meant to be in the hospitality industry. I immediately left the hotel and did not check-in. Threatening guests on entry has no place at any hotel and the Plaza Hotel is not immune.

It was a shame as the hotel was quite beautiful and I cannot imagine prohibiting guests from taking photographs in public space. The rude and threatening behaviour was simply uncalled for. However, the result was another fine stay at the Towers of the Waldorf Astoria where guests are treated as guests.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza Hotel

Address: Fifth Avenue at Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in New York City
#104 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#107 Business Hotel in New York City
#112 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#168 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plaza Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Striking the balance between its storied past and limitless future, The Plaza is the ultimate New York City luxury lifestyle destination - an iconic urban resort with a new and contemporary spirit. While traditions remain, such as the opulent grandeur of the Beaux Arts decor and the iconic Afternoon Tea in The Palm Court, exciting new offerings at this legendary hotel include the elegant Champagne Bar, the stylish Rose Club, and The Plaza Food Hall. The Plaza Hotel offers 282 distinctive guestrooms, including 102 luxurious suites, which boast the largest square footage of any luxury hotel in New York City. From the sumptuous decor to the impeccable white glove service, The Plaza is an extraordinary hotel that offers every indulgence. For our suite guests, The Plaza is pleased to offer Butler Service 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Splendia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza New York City
Plaza Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.