We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price, great location, helpful staff, but missing important details” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Azure

Save Saved
You added Hotel Azure to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Azure
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   120 Lafayette Street, New York City, NY 10013 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #353 of 452 hotels in New York City
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great price, great location, helpful staff, but missing important details”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed at hotel Azure for a weekend in New York, and overall had a great time. We'd stay there again.

First, the good things:
The price can't be beat, around $100/night is remarkable for a clean, private hotel room in a fun neighbourhood in New York.

The location is great, technically SOHO, but really it's in Chinatown. Either way you're walking distance from some of the best of lower manhattan, and literally steps from the subway to get anywhere else. Keep in mind, if this is your first time in New York many individuals prefer midtown, close to Times Square, central park and the "main" tourist attractions. Having travelled to New York dozens of times, we try to stay as far way from Times Square as possible, and much prefer downtown. For tourists downtown is close to battery park, statute of liberty and Ellis Island, and the 6 train by the hotel gets you to central park in 20 minutes.

The rooms were small, but well-adorned, clean, and comfortable. Bathrooms had sufficient hot water, good pressure, and were clean. Bed was comfortable and had decent bedding. Many other reviews note the size of the rooms, -- yes, they're small, it's New York and it's $100/night. I've stayed at far more expensive hotels with similarly small rooms. If you're spending a lot of time in the hotel room in New York, you're doing something wrong. If you're in NY on business and need a space to work, this hotel probably isn't for you (or find a nice coffee shop to work at instead).

We did not find it loud (for New York), but we are heavy sleepers. On the second floor you hear the rumble of the train below the building, but not on the 3rd floor.

The staff were helpful and responded to problems we had. They weren't overly friendly, but got the job done.

Appreciated the free wifi, and we were not charged the $2/bag fee for holding our bags after we checked out.

Next, the bad things:
We were initially put in room on the second floor which was absolutely freezing. Granted it was one of the coldest New York weekends, but it was unbearably cold. The heater was left on for four hours while we were out, and on our return the room was still freezing. I don't mean chilly, I mean freezing, we had to wear coats or stay under the blanket to keep warm. The heater was insufficient to heat the room (for whatever reason, the cold seemed to be coming from the floor not the windows). We complained late at night and were quickly brought a space heater, which made the room perfectly comfortable. Had the space heater been in the room from the beginning I would have no complaints. However, no one should have been put in this room in the first place, I can't imagine we were the first to complain. The next day we were moved to the 3rd floor, and once the heater was turned on the room warmed up in less than 20 minutes. Kudos to the staff for moving us to another room (without us asking), but we should never have been in an improperly heated room (without the space heater) in the first place.

In sum, we'd stay here again, requesting a room on a higher floor in the winter. For $100/night you're not going to get much better than this in New York, but the hotel should be considered on the standards of New York rather than what $100/night would get you elsewhere. Would have given 4 stars had it not been for the cold room issue.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter, and potentially warmer in winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa N, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Hi Albertan in America,

We would like to thank you for taking your time out to give us such detail feedback. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience of the heater as it was a sudden issue that occur in which we immediately worked on to ensure all guests stay were up to par. Please do visit us again in the near future to see our improvement.

All the best,
Teresa N.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    79
    41
    20
    16
See reviews for
16
77
28
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

High standard of service and cleanliness as usual. Very friendly and helpful staff especially the room attendants who helped us to pack our baggage and moved to the lobby. Offered airport transportation so my daughter and I didn't have to worry about too much.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa N, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Hello Emilie Y,

We are so thrilled that we have not disappointed you once. We do hope you'll return again and again to allow us to serve you!

Best,
Teresa N.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

This was our first time staying at this boutique hotel which has the best location & most helpful Front Desk staff. Teresa was a wonderful concierge who gave us proper directions to shopping as well as dinning locations. She also mentioned other local attractions such as gallery exhibits and smaller dedication museums. The room was small but clean and cozy. Price was reasonable & fits into our budget. Will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa N, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Hello Adrianne V,

It was my pleasure to be of guidance during your trip. New York is amazing and everyone should have the opportunity to view it in every angle to understand and experience the culture, that it what we want all our guest to bring back as memories. Please visit us soon!

Best,
Teresa N.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

My sister in law, bother in law and their 18 month old baby stayed here for our wedding this past weekend and picked up bed bugs. As the other reviews said the rooms were small, but seemed clean and fine. But soon my brother in law noticed bites which got progressively worse. I refrained from posting the photos of the bites...
My family has since gone home and has tried to contact the hotel and no one will call them back. As disturbing as bed bugs are, they can happen anywhere. The most infuriating thing is that no one will call my family back to answer their complaint or offer compensation.Conveniently the manager is always unavailable. Clearly they are hiding and that is disgusting. Azure, expect a visit from my husband this week and we are filing a complaint with the city.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa N, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

We sincerely apologize for what your family has encountered during their stay. We have made the necessary investigation on all of our rooms and none of the rooms were infected. All of our mattress have the necessary bed bug protector covers to ensure that an outbreak does not occur. We have not received any other complaints about bed bugs in our hotel and our housekeepers are professionally trained to clean/maintain the highest level of sanitizing before reselling any rooms.

Best,
Hotel Azure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed two nights in Nov'13 with my wife. This is pretty good to stay for short period. Rooms are very small but have own bathrooms (at least my had). Staff is friendly. Very convinient location: next to China Town, Broadway and Little Italy, in walking distance from Wall Street and Battery Park. Subway (Canal) in a minute away. Rooms have plasma TV but with just few channels, safe, work table, cofee machine and free wi-fi. Pretty clean (as whole hotel). But bit noisy at night because of subway. It worth its price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa N, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Hello Vzayko,

Thank you for staying with us, it was a pleasure to serve you and your wife. Our biggest advantage would be the convenience of location and I'm so glad you were able to utilize it to your full advantage. We try our best to make everyone's stay as comfortable as possible by giving you everything within reach. Please come back and visit soon.

Best,
Teresa N.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My boyfriend & I stayed here one night - Saturday to Sunday, so that we could stay in town for a late night party. The hotel is on the edge of Chinatown, near the #6 subway line, so it is convenient to downtown activities as well as to anywhere else, thanks to the subway. The front desk staff we saw on Saturday night and Sunday morning - 2 different people - were more than nice, and I'd like to at least acknowledge them for being friendly, helpful and efficient.
The room, however, is a different matter! For nearly $300 for the night we got a cramped room with torn wallpaper, a tiny bathroom with a filthy shower, and a platform bed. The linens were clean, and by the time we got back from partying, the bed was comfortable enough! But otherwise, I would say the place is dirty. The shower floor was gross - ringed with filth and clearly not cleaned. The shelves next to each side of the bed were dusty.
I'm accustomed to staying in cities, so I am not concerned with city noise. Actually, the room was not as noisy as I would have thought - I think they must have at least have gotten sound-blocking windows. It is too bad that the room was so dingy! I've paid far less and gotten much more.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa N, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to apologize that you feel that way during your stay. Your reviews and comments help us improve in areas we’re lacking. We are making the necessary changes to our rooms thanks to everyone’s reviews. Please do consider staying with us in the near future as there are times when we’re as low as $99/per night.

Best,
Hotel Azure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

For $199 this place was the only place affordable and thought it was going to be nice enough. Barely. the only good thing about this hotel was that the receptionists were consistently nice and accommodating, other than that this place is a hole in a wall. Air fresheners in corners and in the elevator to hide smells and you get absolutely nothing but a bed and a shower. I think there was a coffee maker in the room but used dunkin donuts across the street instead.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa N, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Hello Reeta1810,

Thank you so much for taking your time to review us. I sincerely apologize that we didn't meet your expectations. Please consider visiting us in the future as there are nights as low as $89.

Best,
Teresa N.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Azure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azure

Address: 120 Lafayette Street, New York City, NY 10013
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , SoHo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #353 of 452 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Azure 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a hotel near Downtown Manhattan? The Hotel Azure, a SoHo Boutique Hotel is located in close proximity to Downtown Manhattan. Downtown Manhattan holds some of the world's best shopping and largest businesses. When visiting Downtown Manhattan, make the Hotel Azure, a SoHo Boutique Hotel your choice for lodging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Azure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azure Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Azure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.