We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nasty, Filthy, dirty!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Bright Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sun Bright Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sun Bright Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   140 Hester Street, New York City, NY 10013 (Chinatown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nasty, Filthy, dirty!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Never ever stay at this hotel ever again! it's filthy like a jail. The sheets are dirty and not changed. Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 5 days and every night we stayed here, my body itched from bed bugs. There was a mosquitoe in the room and had to kill it. A huge cockroach crawled onto my boyfriend one night. Disgusting!! As we were sleeping another night, I lifted the pillow up and saw that the sheet underneath my pillow was blood stained. Our bodies itched every night....Ughhh I don't recommend staying here. They are cheap with their towels and the bathrooms are molded and dirty!! You have to share bathrooms with everyone. It cost $80 per night but it is not worth it. All hotels in New York are expensive but it's better to pay more than to pay for this dirty tiny room! They also only have a small tv with only 3 channels. Disapointed and regret staying here. When I got home, I was so happy to be in my warm, clean, comfortable bed! Don't stay there!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!! You are in Jail!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    36
    33
    91
See reviews for
5
30
77
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Don't go there! The beds were the most uncomfortable ones i ever slept in. The sheets were not really clean. The rooms were really small. There were bugs everywhere. The bathrooms were dirty und most of the time you had to wait in line. Homeless people were sitting in front of the hotel...sometimes on the stairs inside. I didn't like it all and my girlfriend said it was really disgusting. I would rather spent a little more money next time!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

It's really bedroom, a room with a small bed, a place to lay your body sleep at night. there are few shared bathroom to have yourself cleaned. You'll get this kind of room if only you order the room with the cheapest rate ever: $45 for 5th floor male dorm. If you only need a place to sleep after a day long enjoying new york city, who cares? You may find another cheap bedroom in the neighborhood as well.

Room Tip: There are better room for the single/double/triple room which laid on 2nd floor with $130 per night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

When I got here, they told me my room was not ready. I have to wait until 2 to check in, after 2 I asked again politely is my room is ready, the man behind the counter started snapping at me and everyone else, After thirty minutes from 2 I finally get my room, but I have to put a 20 dollar deposit for the room I got online???? There's no elevators but stairs. As I was going upstairs I noticed here most of the people are migrating from china and other countries making a living on a very low income. My room looks like a prison cell, the bathrooms you have to share, also there's bug in there, Ladies and gentilmen this is what you get for a room under 50 dollars. Heed my warning. On the plus, there's a desktop and free wifi in the lobby.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The location in Chinatown is great, but it's the only good thing about this hotel. It would be ok if it cost 10$/night, but it doesn't. Look elsewhere.

The rooms are very small, and you can hear anything what your neighbors do. Wifi doesn't work properly. Shared bathrooms are dirty.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillsonburg, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I booked this hotel because it was dirt cheap (for New York) and I thought I could handle anything. Dirty was the key word. The bathrooms were gross, the rooms were gross and the staff was rude and far from even the least bit helpful. The walls and doors looked liked they'd never been wiped down and there was some weird smell that I couldn't quite make out. We stayed a week and I've still got the clothes I took tied up in black garbage bags because I'm afraid of bed bugs. If the staff put just the slightest bit of work into cleaning and tried just a bit to be polite it wouldn't have been bad for the price. Lesson learned.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sun Bright Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Bright Hotel

Address: 140 Hester Street, New York City, NY 10013
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 182 Specialty lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Sun Bright Hotel 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Budget Places, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Expedia and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Sun Bright Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sun Bright

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Bright Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.