We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms, lousy houskeeping service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea to your Saves list
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 West 26th Street, New York City, NY 10001 (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #292 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Small rooms, lousy houskeeping service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

The sheets on the bed had black dustballs and when changed the new sheets had stains already on them, the blankets we requested were ripped in the edges, The front desk agent on the overnight seemed to fake. The Houseman "Ralph" flirtatious attempts seemed rude and unwanted. overall I rather not stay there again.

Room Tip: choose a room in another Hotel please
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W, General Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Hi Tu A - Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am truly sorry to hear about your experience, and would love to get more information from you. Please email me at gm@hi-nyc.com so that I may investigate a bit further. As you can see from our other reviews, your experience is not typical of the great experiences we seek to create for our guests.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    353
    180
    49
    38
See reviews for
224
190
73
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, New Jersey
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Awesome stay at this location, staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The complimentary buffet breakfast was adequate and the hotel was centrally located. The room was clean and bed was very soft and it was a surprisingly quiet stay.

Room Tip: Get the IHG rewards for free perks like late checkout and maybe even a free upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W, General Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Hi Tristan S - Thank you so much for sharing your experience with the world! Our Team will be thrilled to hear that you noticed how friendly and helpful they were. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Friendly staff, restaurant and bar on site, decent-sized room, good internet, no complaints at all. It's not a terribly classy place, but that's fine. Excellent for an event at Helen Mills, just a few doors down. Lots nearby. Close to Penn Station.

Room Tip: As always in New York, avoid street-facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is well located on the edge of Chelsea with access to several Subway lines within a couple of blocks. All the major attractions are either walkable or accessed on the subway.

The rooms are not huge but are what you might expect in any large city centre hotel in New York. They are modern and well equipped with comfortable bed, tv, desk and chair. I was upgraded to a room with a city view which was nice but probably not worth paying for.

All the staff were very pleasant and helpful.

I didn't dine in the cafe attached to the hotel but walked a couple of blocks to where there are lots of cafés, diners and restaurants. Around 23rd street between 7th and 8th is a good place to start.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Good hotel, and freindly staff.
Was here wirh my family visiting from Denmark.
Stayed here for 9 days. At check inn there was a small confusion as we got 2 rooms with 2 beds, we ordered one
With 2 and one with king size. As they didn't have king size on arrival day, how ever got i next morning.
Let me say the rooms are not big but we managed.
We dinned i the resturant and the chef were doing a good job. Lot of the food i home made from from ground, and are
Taste full. There are plenty.
Next the location are perfect for accesing most of what we had plenned to see.
Again great crew.
We would like to come back ;-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
worc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I could not say enough about our recent one night stay at this Holiday Inn! I was in town with my mother and father to attend the Rachel Ray show. The staff were so unbelievably helpful from the door man to the front desk clerk! The rooms were clean and the food was great! Yes the rooms are small but that's expected in the big city! The concierge was so helpful and really went above and beyond to help us with all our needs. It is in a great location with so many places in walking distance. I told everyone I couldn't wait to get home and write this review. It is a great place with great people who made our night in the big city wonderful! Gram-paw Ed and the crazy ladies from Massachusetts just wanted to say thank you again!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W, General Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Hi angie78Worc - Thank you so much for your kind words! Our Team remembers you, and we're thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again the next time you're in the Chelsea neighborhood!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CENTREVILLE
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

for ny rooms, it is kinda small, but bigger than most. could fit in the bathroom and around the roommany channels for the tv. guess it was direct tv. BIG POINT. WINDOWS that OPEN. alwwyas love fresh air. room was clean. only bad thing is 2 elevators and a tall hotel. takes a little for the elevator. to get a soft drink, you have to go to the adjoining bar for a 2 dollar can of soda. I guess they have breakfast there, but was not there for that. Staff seemed very helpful, even when i checked in after 11.PS, if you use priceline, call the hotel later to make sure its not a smoking room pricline defaults to that. The good thing was my smoking room did not reek, and i could open the window without hitting furniture.. i would stay again . good quiet safe area. even outdoor tables outside to enjoy

Room Tip: buy your drinks from a store. 2 dollars for a can soda is steep
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea

Address: 125 West 26th Street, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#208 Business Hotel in New York City
#246 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on the cusp of trendy Chelsea and the picturesque Flatiron District Enjoy comfort at the newly renovated Holiday Inn Manhattan 6th-Ave Chelsea. Located in the heart of the Chelsea neighborhood, we are close enough to the action of the Big Apple, yet secluded enough to enjoy a quiet night's sleep. Attractions such as Times Square, Empire State Building, Flatiron Building, Chelsea Market, Herald Square and Macy's, Madison Square Garden, Broadway, and the Fashion Institute of Technology are within reach. Whatever your reason for coming to New York City, let us provide an experience you will never forget. Families and Corporate travelers alike will feel at home in our newly renovated lobby and restaurant space. Hotel amenities include a full-service restaurant and lounge, Prime Cafe, a 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Want to stay in? Take advantage of our convenient room service. Feeling adventurous? Our on-site concierge is happy to secure sightseeing tour tickets, Broadway theatre tickets, shopping coupons and discounts, and even helicopter tours! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nyc - Manhattan 6th Avenue Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.