We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UNBELIEVABLE...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 West 26th Street, New York City, NY 10001 (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #295 of 451 hotels in New York City
Pepperell, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“UNBELIEVABLE...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Let me start by saying it wasn't all bad..Pilar at the front door is the sweetest person you will meet. The staff in the restaurant are also extremely nice. We even had some great housekeepers but from there it's all down hill!! Elevators take you on average 5-15 min to get on and when you say something you get the run around about time delay. NOT the case, it is house keeping holding it up as it's their only way to get up and down. You press the button for your floor and it passes you by like 5 or 6 times...Also I believe the staff M-TH are a whole lot nicer than what you deal with on Friday. Just my opinion of course. Also be aware if you try to take the stairs it DOES NOT get you to the lobby...you have to go outside and around. Yup so if you are not dressed properly you are in trouble. Never have I had such a horrible experience trying to get to the lobby.
Food in the restaurant is very good, but beware of the different rules as far as their "Happy Hour" goes or you won't be happy when you get your tab. It is only in certain seats..yes you read that right..you have to be within the walls of the lounge. If you eat on patio or in what they consider dinning area you are charged FULL price. I have never heard of such a thing?
The room was adequate, nothing to big but very typical for NYC..and it was clean and quiet.
Now my service stars for for the fact that they didn't seem to care about the concerns of the elevator..they just blew me off!! Not good customer service at all there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W, General Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Hi Mark C - Thank you for providing us with your feedback regarding your recent stay. I would ask that you kindly email me directly at gm@hi-nyc.com so that I may personally look into the issues you listed here.

Our restaurant, Prime Cafe, does not base the happy hour pricing on where you sit. I am unsure where this misunderstanding came from.

While it is true we have two elevators servicing the entire building, we do have weight sensors on them. When they have reached capacity, they go straight to the lobby to unload. The elevator then goes back up in the order it was called. I apologize for this, but it is actually an efficient way of unloading and reloading the elevator cars.

Again, please email me at gm@hi-nyc.com so that I can fully understand the issues during your stay.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    304
    158
    46
    35
See reviews for
197
163
70
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

This hotel provides a great value in a great location. Service is excellent, and the staff is VERY friendly. You can tell they enjoy working there, always smiling :)

There were a couple of downsides to this hotel. The rooms were small (We, my wife, daughter and I ) were always on top of each other - and I kept referring to it as cozy. But it is Manhattan and you get what you pay for. Plus, you don't go to NYC to hang around in a hotel room.

The hotel also had some noise issues; partly from guests and partly from street noise. Again, it is Manhattan...

Overall I would recommend this hotel for a weekend jaunt into the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W, General Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Hi Ed M - Thank you for sharing your experience with the world! Our Team really does enjoy working here, and we are glad you recognized that. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Yes rooms and bathrooms are small (but it's New York so that's really no issue) and the lifts can be very slow - that's ok we just took the stairs a couple of times. The real issue for me was that I just couldn't get a good night's sleep in this hotel. The pillows were tiny and both beds in our room were noisy (creaking metal every time you moved), it just didn't make for a good night's sleep after spending all day out and about. Location is great but there are other Holiday Inns nearby where I've slept a lot better. Might have just been an unlucky experience but I'd be trying to stay somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: Try for a lower floor in case you need to use the stairs when lift is slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W, General Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Hi ll72 - Thank you for your candid feedback. We are thrilled you enjoyed our great location! We apologize, however, about your lack of comfortable sleep. If you have a chance, please email me directly at gm@hi-nyc.com so that I may personally inspect the room you stayed in. Your experience is certainly not typical of our Holiday Inn, and hope you choose to give us another chance in the future.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Pleasantly surprised with this hotel. The room of 2 double beds was a good enough size for our family of 4 even with 2 teenagers. The breakfast was really good especially the pancake maker which we all loved using many times and the cinnamon buns were amazing.
The bonus was the location, just round the corner from the Empire State Building even if we didn't get a view of it - supposedly no family rooms do. We were also minutes away from Macy's and other shops but a lot of tacky tourist ones nearby, but it felt great walking about fifth avenue. Plenty of restaurants nearby and an Irish bar across the road although we didn't go but we did hear it on the Friday night till late.
We were also in walking distance to Times Square 20/30 mins - and felt fine walking back at night.
Very little to fault with this hotel - felt like we got good value for money.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limburgerhof, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

My daughter (18 years) and I spent the last week-end in Holiday Inn 6th avenue. It was our first time in NY. The hotel offered us a pleasant stay. The receipt was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are modern and cleanly. The bathroom was equipped with big comfort. There is a good binding to the underground. The hotel lies centrally.
We come again very much with pleasure!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Great location because it was close enough to everything but far enough to not be in the middle of the hustle and bustle. I went with my 3 kids and stayed comfortably. yes...the elevators were slow and the bathroom was super small and showing some wear...but overall we enjoyed our stay . There were no safes in the rooms and the front desk had no boxes left to keep our passports but otherwise that ..we had no issues. I would recommend you go to the computer/business room in the basement and take advantage of all the coupons on the wall...( that was a hidden secret that saved us close to 20% on every tour we planned to take. I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in December, 2013. The staff was very nice and helpful,. The room was small but clean and fine for our needs. The location is great. It is close to many great restaurants and subway stops. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea

Address: 125 West 26th Street, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#219 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel in Midtown Manhattan boasts state of the art new facilities. Enjoy comfort at the Holiday Inn Manhattan 6th Avenue in midtown Manhattan. This hotel is convenient to the JFK and LaGuardia airports and the attractions of NYC. Families looking for lodging in Manhattan are sure to enjoy staying at this New York City hotel, located on 26th Street with close proximity to many local attractions. Some of these attractions include Penn Station, the Statue of Liberty, Madison Square Garden, the Empire State Building, Times Square, Broadway, Herald Square, FIT, NYU, and Central Park. Corporate travelers are impressed by the convenience of our Manhattan accommodations. Situated in the business hub of New York City, our hotel is within walking distance of numerous large companies such as Motorola, Siemens, Metlife, IBM, Bank of America, Deloitte, JP Morgan Chase, Viacom, Verizon, Pfizer and Merrill Lynch. We are also close to Julliard, NYU and the Fashion Institute of Technology. In addition, our hotel offers a Business Center with fax, copying, printing and computer services, so you can stay in touch while you're on the road. Hotel amenities include a full-service restaurant and lounge, the Prime Cafe. While lodging at our midtown Manhattan hotel, you can keep up your daily routine by taking advantage of the 24-hour Fitness Center, or you can relax in the lounge and watch a game. Book your NYC hotel reservations now and save. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nyc - Manhattan 6th Avenue Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.