We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, clean room & bath, tiny elevators, great happy hour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea to your Saves list
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 West 26th Street, New York City, NY 10001 (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #292 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good location, clean room & bath, tiny elevators, great happy hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is a pleasant stroll from Penn station. Great location on West 26th, between 6th and 7th avenues. Banks, restaurants, pharmacies, subway stations, etc., are all within a two block radius. There is essentially no lobby, the two elevators are minuscule and full of people at the obvious hours, so plan ahead because you are unlikely to catch a ride on the first or second elevator stopping at your floor.

The room was tiny, with barely enough space to get around the two (smaller than double) beds. The bathroom was tinier still, and the exhaust fan was so loud I couldn't hear myself think. On the plus side, the bedroom window opened! And during happy hour the wine and appetizers are very inexpensive by NYC standards.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    355
    180
    49
    38
See reviews for
226
190
73
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Hotels in NYC are, in general, very expensive -- and what you get for that price is usually not very much at all. This is a good exception.

This is a nice Mid-town hotel in a central location. The hotel itself is designed and decorated in typical Holiday Inn fashion. Meaning, it was welcoming, clean and comfortable. Rooms are small, but sufficient. I had a King room with city view, which was nice - and surprisingly quiet. Bed was comfortable, work desk was adequate, flat screen TV was nice. Bathroom was tiny, but sufficient and clean. Bath and Body Works toiletries are always nice. This hotel has free WiFi, which is a nice bonus. The lobby was tiny and the elevators are a bit slow, but that's NYC, so nothing unusual. Staff was friendly and helpful. I believe there was a restaurant for some meal options, but didn't try it. I'm also not sure how close it is to the subway, as I walked to the location of my business meeting.

All in all, this is a nice Midtown hotel, so I will try to stay here again the next time I'm in town for work or leisure.

Room Tip: You have to pay more for a city view, but if it's what you want, go for it. Rooms not facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Perfect location in NY - great value and central - able to walk to most places.

Only thing was corridors smell of smoke and the rooms are small - but to be honest they are clean and comfortable!

Breakfast was nice but restaurant was busy so I couldn't get in one day - although well worth it on the days I did.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Great location for people seeking the less crowded parts of the city (tourist wise). Rooms are really small but have everything you will need. Tiny bathroom. Front desk people are not nice at all. Elevator wait times can sometime be long. Overall a good choice if you get a rate below 200$. I would be back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Me and a friend went to New York from Sweden and we stayed at Holiday Inn Manhattan which turned out to be a great hotel. The room was small but very clean and comfortable beds. We stayed at the 18th floor and had a view of Empire State Building AND Chrystler Building.
The hotel was about 10 minutes walk from Times Square but on a somewhat smaller street without crazy traffic which you get on the bigger ones.
The very best thing about the hotel was the staff who were super helpful.
If... no I mean when I go to New York again I'll stay at the same hotel and I've recomended friends who are going to New York to stay there as well.
I can't think about one thing to complain about.

Greetings from a happy Swede!

Room Tip: If I remember it correctly we stayed in room 1802.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The hotel is half way between 6th and 7th Ave and the street can look a little dark at night but we never had any issues. We were in NY over Easter and the place was hectic so staying in mid town away from the crowds was a welcome relief.

As others mentioned the rooms are not that big and two of us were fine but not sure how four people would go. Beds were comfy, coffee maker in the room and plenty of cable channels on the TV. We had no issues with the Wifi reception from the 25th floor. But they seem to change the password periodically and had to ring down to get the new one.
Happy hour very night in the bar with cheap drinks and food.

There is a metro station a couple blocks away, 5 minute walk and Penn station is less than 10 minutes away. Plenty of food options nearby – restaurants and food vans.
Everything you expect of a Holiday Inn and a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Just a few blocks from metro station, in the very center of Manhattan. Nice and clean rooms, very friendly and helpful staff. Wi-fi didn't work well in room (on the 8th floor), I had to use wi-fi in reception.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea

Address: 125 West 26th Street, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#209 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on the cusp of trendy Chelsea and the picturesque Flatiron District Enjoy comfort at the newly renovated Holiday Inn Manhattan 6th-Ave Chelsea. Located in the heart of the Chelsea neighborhood, we are close enough to the action of the Big Apple, yet secluded enough to enjoy a quiet night's sleep. Attractions such as Times Square, Empire State Building, Flatiron Building, Chelsea Market, Herald Square and Macy's, Madison Square Garden, Broadway, and the Fashion Institute of Technology are within reach. Whatever your reason for coming to New York City, let us provide an experience you will never forget. Families and Corporate travelers alike will feel at home in our newly renovated lobby and restaurant space. Hotel amenities include a full-service restaurant and lounge, Prime Cafe, a 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Want to stay in? Take advantage of our convenient room service. Feeling adventurous? Our on-site concierge is happy to secure sightseeing tour tickets, Broadway theatre tickets, shopping coupons and discounts, and even helicopter tours! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nyc - Manhattan 6th Avenue Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.