We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea to your Saves list
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 West 26th Street, New York City, NY 10001 (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #293 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Philadelphia suburb
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great staff, nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed 2 nights. Arrived about 1:30 PM but room wasn't ready but check in wasn't until 3 PM. Left and returned at 3:30 PM and it still wasn't ready until 4 PM even though we were Priority Club members; however, they did compensate with free drink coupons which wasn't any good to us as we are not drinkers. Front desk staff was very helpful and repeatedly called housekeeping. After that was a extremely nice visit. Staff was helpful. Concierge was awesome, full of help and personality, nice person. Rooms are a little small, but for NYC not that small so still a good deal. Even though first hours were a rough start, this Holiday Inn staff excels at customer service, best Holiday Inn staff ever!

Room Tip: Rooms on street side could keep light sleepers awake due to car horns, etc. but that's NYC! If i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    368
    182
    49
    40
See reviews for
233
195
75
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed one night before having to catch a flight to JFK. Note: it's a little bit of a hike to Penn station with luggage if you're thinking of using airtrain. I checked in very late, around 2am and the agent was by helpful reconfirmed my room type and assisted me with a late check out as a priority club member. The lobby is somewhat small but such is the case in Manhattan, where space is at a premium.
There are two elevators and they are quick to get around. I stayed on the 19th floor and had a view of the city. The beds are comfortable but is not very big, I didn't spend much time in the room but it fit my needs. He tv worked great and so did the AC/heater. The shower was adequate but the sink somewhat small.
The receptionist in the morning was able to hold my bags before my super shuttle arrived to take me to the airport. There is a lovely outdoor seating area, which I'm sure is nice to sit at in warm weather and for smokers yearlong.
Will definitely stay again for a short stay. Location is great.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Daughter could not make trip due to medical condition. I had to cancel early afternoon because she was unable to travel per doctor. Management denied refund because they felt I waited too long in their opinion to cancel. So they got my full amount for the night and then sold the night to some other individual. If I knew I was going to be treated with such disrespect I would of been a no show and prevented them from getting additional money from another customer...double dipping...so much for compassion when someone is ill. Since this is individual owned Corporate wants nothing to do with you and keeps referring you back to the hotel. I have now cancelled my rewards with this hotel chain and will give my business to someone deserving. Stay at your own risk...BEWARE

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W, General Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Good morning - All flexible reservations may be cancelled up until 6PM the day prior to arrival. Your particular reservation was cancelled around 1PM on the day of arrival. As discussed in our private emails, I am still waiting for some documentation to justify this cancellation. As you were unable to provide it, the charge stands. Please feel free to email me directly at gm@hi-nyc.com to continue our private conversation. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Our family of 4 visited NYC in December. We were so excited to see NY decorated for the holidays. The hotel was clean and festively decorated. We stayed in a 2 queen bed room. The room was a bit small, but we honestly did not spend a lot of time in the room. The bathroom was very nice and modern. We could see the Empire State Building from our window. The hotel was in a good location for us and we walked everywhere that weekend. The parking garage is a block or two away, but like I said, we walked everywhere, so we didn't need our vehicle until we checked out Sunday. We had breakfast in the hotel restaurant and the restaurant staff were friendly and pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Rooms on the small side but comfortable and clean, good location and staff excellent, very friendly and helpful. Good atmosphere in the bar (unlike may lobby bars) and good restaurant also plenty of local deli's, restaurants and bars around the hotel. They also welcome smokers, two of their 25+ floors are allocated for smokers, a rarity in the city. Would have no problem recommending this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus Ontario
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The hotel meets the expectations set by other reviews. While rooms are regular small NYC format the beds are very comfortable. Staff were very helpful and the Restaurant had great egg sandwiches for breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

My Wife and I stayed here during our first visit to New York City. We were not disappointed in our selection.

The property is beautiful, the staff excellent. Mabel was fantastic, When we arrived she greeted us warmly and gave us detailed directions to all the popular spots in the city as well as a detailed map.

This hotel is excellent and it is close to everything. The rooms were nice size and everything well appointed. The price was excellent as well.

Being from Atlanta, Georgia we did not know what to expect. Let me tell you, Everything was great! The hotel, the locations, the subway and all the people. Everyone was very friendly! (Just goes to show, You cant believe all the negativity others tell you or what you see on TV).

This was a fantastic experience for us! When visiting, Make sure you stay at this Holiday Inn! You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea

Address: 125 West 26th Street, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#193 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on the cusp of trendy Chelsea and the picturesque Flatiron District Enjoy comfort at the newly renovated Holiday Inn Manhattan 6th-Ave Chelsea. Located in the heart of the Chelsea neighborhood, we are close enough to the action of the Big Apple, yet secluded enough to enjoy a quiet night's sleep. Attractions such as Times Square, Empire State Building, Flatiron Building, Chelsea Market, Herald Square and Macy's, Madison Square Garden, Broadway, and the Fashion Institute of Technology are within reach. Whatever your reason for coming to New York City, let us provide an experience you will never forget. Families and Corporate travelers alike will feel at home in our newly renovated lobby and restaurant space. Hotel amenities include a full-service restaurant and lounge, Prime Cafe, a 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Want to stay in? Take advantage of our convenient room service. Feeling adventurous? Our on-site concierge is happy to secure sightseeing tour tickets, Broadway theatre tickets, shopping coupons and discounts, and even helicopter tours! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nyc - Manhattan 6th Avenue Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.