We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Times Square South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Times Square South to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Times Square South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   305 W 39th St, (39th St and 8th Ave), New York City, NY 10018 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #223 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Posen
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Perfect location, but could be a little bit better. The rooms are very small, but it is all about the location. I spent at this hotel 3 great nights and really enjoyed it.
Breakfast was not appropriate. There was a school trip while we stayed at the hotel so there was almost nothing to eat, heh ;)
maybe will stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timessquare_gm, General Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square South, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest!

Thank you so much for your feedback! I will look into the shortage with breakfast as I have never had any issues with being short; we keep plenty of breakfast supplies on property!!! Do come back and stay again; we promise a great experience!!

Kind regards,

The Comfort Inn Times Square South Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    259
    106
    42
    24
See reviews for
185
156
40
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I went to the city with a co-worker and we split the price of the hotel while we were in town for a convention. For a Saturday night, we both paid $67 which is great considering the location is near Broadway, Times Sq, and a few convention spots. The hotel is easy walking distance from Port Authority and there are some convenient places nearby - an Irish Pub restaurant, a pharmacy, etc. I would recommend this for a brief stay as the rooms are small, the hotel needs a little improvement (it's a well used hotel, so expect some stains, or missing caulking in the bath, etc). We had no problems with bed bugs, noise, internet, etc. I think it's perfect for someone who needs a bed and a bath and wants to explore the city all day! I would return if I needed to.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timessquare_gm, General Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square South, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest!!

We appreciate your feeback!! Our staff prides themselves in making the guest a happy guest!! Every manager and staff member wants to make sure you come back and stay again at your home away from home!

See you again soon we hope!

Kind regards,

The Comfort Inn Times Square South Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florianopolis, Sc
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I stayed in Comfort Inn for nine nice nights and I highly recommend for a good stay.
Breakfast is delicious with fruits, yogurt, cereal, wafles, juice and coffee. Beside of fact the breakfast room is small, Vilma is so nice and she is always doing the arrangements for all guests feel as in their home. Shivanna, Willie and all front desk staff are very nice persons indeed. Robert is another very kind person. Thanks for all those special people!
Location could not be better! If you like to stay close to everything this is the right place: close to Port Authority bus station and subway, Penn station is ten minutes walk, all theatre are near, twenty minutes walk to the Central Park.
When I will go back to NY, I am sure... I will stay in Comfort Inn again! Congratulations!
Ivone, Florianopolis, SC, Brazil

Room Tip: Breakfast room is small... then go earlier as you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timessquare_gm, General Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square South, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Ms. Floranopolis!

It was delightful having you as our guest; we are so happy that you enjoyed yourself! I am so proud of my team; they are true champions of guest service; each one of them is unique and warm hearted in their own way! Ii thank you for recognizing that and we hope that you do come back and visit us soon! We will be waiting for you in our "Comfort Inn Times Square South" fashion!!

Kind regards,

Stephanie_G,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed overnight for NYU Parent's weekend. Clean, quiet, staff very helpful and sincere, especially that nice concierge girl. Not the Ritz by any mean, but if you are there to see the city and not sit in a overpriced hotel this is it. Close to bus, train station and major subway lines. Rooms are a bit small but comfy. They will keep your luggage before or after checkin/out, very helpful. Felt safe and clean.

Room Tip: Call for better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CITS_Manager, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square South, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Greetings,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for choosing as your destination of choice. We are devoted to serve you and to make your stay special with wonderful memories. We are so glad that your enjoyed our charming location and we hope to welcome you back and make your stay even more relaxing and pleasurable.

Best wishes,

Susana McCoon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed in Comfort Inn in September for 2 nights and I highly recommend this place for an affordable stay. It was more of a do it yourself kind of hotel which we were fine with. People who are writing bad reviews should realize that for this price it is very difficult to get a hotel in NY, and that too literally 5 minutes from Times Square. Also, please note this hotel is not for ppl who are very picky...for example when we first checked in, the safe in our room was not working...many ppl would write a horrible review based on this; however, it took them 5 minutes to change our room!
Location - PERFECT! 5 minutes from Times Square and also 2 streets away from the Port Auhtoirty Bus Terminal (we took the bus from NJ so this was very convenient).
We had requested a room on a higher floor and the hotel staff was very accomodating and gave us a room on the 10th floor. We had no trouble with noise. The room itself was very small; however, we were ok with this as we were only in our room to sleep and were out for all the day.
Rooms - The rooms were clean and so were the bathroom (the 2 things that I do not compromise on).
Free breakfast - again I would say that ppl who are picky would write a bad review; however, pls answer this...which hotel in NYC would give a free continental breakfast? the breakfast was cereal, apples and yogurt, along with tea or coffee. It was in a cramped room and was a self-serve breakfast. However, considering the price of the room and the location of the property, I wasnt hoping for more.
Staff - was very helpful and accomodating. When we checked out, we asked them if we could leave our luggage with them to which they agreed without a second thought. This gave us an extra day in NYC.
All in all, a perfect hotel if you are looking to stay within a certain budget near Times Square. This was the cheapest hotel I could find at such a great location. However, dont stay here if you are extremely picky about room size!!!

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timessquare_gm, General Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square South, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest!

Thank you for your review!! Our staff tries to make every guest a happy and loyal one!! We do offer a wonderdul clean product and all of our rooms are clean and spotless. The breakfast is a big hit with all of our guests!! Hopefully you were able to try the hot waffles? We even offer a flavored variety.

Come back again soon!

The Comfort Inn Times Square South Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I'll state the obvious - this is a small hotel - the front is about the size of a sub shop. Even the pillows were smaller than regular size (although that could have been an optical illusion as the rooms are small.)
However, the price can't be beat and the location is great. The rooms were clean, and well kept. No real complaint. If you are looking for a romantic weekend I would skip it - nothing fancy here. And if you are with kids, I might try a bigger hotel - the lobby is even small and there is no place for the kids to stretch and the room would get a little claustrophobic if you spend too much time there.
However, if two people are looking for a CLEAN, reasonably price hotel in a good location - if you are the person who gets to the hotel late and just want a clean place to rest until the morning this is the where I would stay. The beds were comfortable and the staff was attentive.
I will likely stay here again if I am doing a night or two - save the money and stay here and spend more on a theater ticket or dinner. And there is parking garage directly across the street so dropping off and picking up was was a breeze.

Room Tip: don't stay on the first floor (street level) or basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timessquare_gm, General Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square South, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest:

We are happy that you enjoyed the accomodations although in your estimation small!! Our guests love to take advantage of the great location and I encourage you to come back an visit us during the holidays when the city comes to life.

Kind regards,


Stephanie, Genreal Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york new york
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

when i went to check in at 7:30pm willie at the front desk was so rude i asked him a question and he looked at me like i was crazy. i took a shower and the water went every where on floor when i called the front desk willie said he knows about it and will send some towels up an hour later i got the towels...but other than at the the hotel is nice and breakfest was ok btw the little ref in room 202 does not work i left my baby milk in their and it was hot and nasty.Willie if you dont like your job please leave beacuse people from around the world check inn to your hotel every day and would like to be greeted more nicely thank u.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timessquare_gm, General Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square South, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest:

My apologies for the experience you had staying with us.Rest assured, all your concerns have been addressed and I do hope that you give us a chance to turn your impression around. It is not typical for our hotel to get a negative comment regarding an employee as the other reviews will attest to.
I will call you directly in hopes of inviting you back to stay with us again.

Kind regards,

Stephanie,General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Times Square South

Address: 305 W 39th St, (39th St and 8th Ave), New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#191 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#223 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Times Square South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free WiFi and hot breakfast. Comfort Inn Times Square South is conveniently situated in the heart of Manhattan. Our ideal location allows you to easily reach hundreds of area businesses and attractions. The Broadway Theater District, Times Square, Madison Square Garden arena, the Empire State Building and the Rockefeller Center are all within walking distance from this New York, NY hotel.Each of our 100 percent non-smoking guest rooms feature modern decor and upscale amenities, like flat-panel, televisions, pillow-top mattresses, coffee makers, spacious work desks, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Times Square South Hotel New York City
Times Square Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn New York City
New York City Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Times Square South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.