We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location not enough” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Empire Hotel

Save Saved
You added Empire Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Empire Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #305 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Location not enough”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Empire is well located but on this second stay once again found service only fair to indifferent and sometimes rude, rooms in need of paint, constant loud irritating lobby music. This will be our last stay here.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    848
    841
    524
    273
    176
See reviews for
517
823
158
490
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (603)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shelburne, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel is an old standby for us... It's in a great location, right next to Lincoln center, and Central Park, and all the subway connections right at Columbus circle. Not to mention a great area for restaurants and movie theaters. Like all NYC hotels the rooms are small. But they are always clean, comfortable, and fun. Some have great views. And the prices at this hotel are usual at the less expensive end especially for a place that can always be depended on to have clean comfortable rooms in such a great location. Truth is, we almost always stay here each time we go to the city because we always know it'll be good.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We just returned from our second time staying at the Empire. Mr Ze was very helpful checking us in quickly and giving us some tips. Although we were in a smaller room that we booked on Priceline this time and didnt have a view it was worth the price for the size room and especially the rooftop bar and the location. So close to Central Park, Lincoln Center and a few minutes walk south to many great restaurants of Hells Kitchen!! We will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

AC didn't work and they wouldn't fix. Asked to be moved rooms and they wouldn't move me. 3 nights in a sweaty bed and I ended up getting very sick because of it. Staff doesn't really care or listen to what you need.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Rooms didn't seem that clean and were somewhat in disrepair and one person at front desk during check in was rather arrogant and condescending. Roof top bar did have a fabulous view and concierge was helpful.


  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Excellent location near great restaurants, culture (Lincoln Center), transportation. Terrific hospitality; was able to check in early after very long flight from Los Angeles. Clean efficient rooms with luxury amenities and free WiFi! Ricky, Front Desk Mgr was terrific. Very competent & friendly.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We love our stay here at Empire Hotel, which we have stayed many times. Amazing location, incredible restaurants and shopping to the North and South of Hotel. Greeted to a friendly and helpful staff. Thank you to Pasquale who was incredibly accommodating and helpful. We would certainly call upon him again for our next visit!! Our room overlooked Lincoln Center and all the activity on the busy streets. Our king deluxe was extremely comfortable and roomy for 2.
We love the decor after all these years.
Location location location!!

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel

Address: 44 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #305 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on our own private corner of West 63rd Street between two legendary New York City landmarks - Lincoln Center and Central Park - this boutique NYC hotel provides luxury accommodations overlooking the Broadway / Columbus Avenue - the gateway to the Upper West Side. Location is essential to the spirit of the Empire Hotel and the interior motif and design is inspired by the earth tones of Central Park and the stately modernism of Lincoln Center. 426 Deluxe guest rooms and suites, WiFi, Pool Deck open seasonally, Ed's Chowder House Restaurant, Rooftop Lounge, Lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Empire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Empire Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.