We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appauling, rude staff real let down” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Empire Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Empire Hotel to your Saves list
Empire Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023 (Upper West Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #343 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Montana City, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Appauling, rude staff real let down”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Good location in a nice neighbourhood. That's pretty much it. The rooms were average musty mold in the bathroom. The housekeeping service was what made it absolutely appalling. We were woken up early 8 or 9am (on a Sunday morning i think its all a blur what with the noise of the rooftop also till late into the night) by the housekeeping staff banging on our door everyday. Mind you, the day of check out so why was it necessary to make up the room??? Once again at 11.15am, someone banged on our door asking us what time we were leaving. Hello.. isn't check out time at 12pm?????? The smiles stopped at the front door. when we made requests with the front desk agent for towels it took forever. Im sure we had the same linen on our bed as the same mark was on the sheet for 4 days even when we requested for it to be changed no apology no help with luggage the agent said I should take it to the bellman so he could store them for me. Thanks for the assistance NOT. We will never stay at this location again SHAME we asked for some to contact us even on check out we asked if we could speak with someone she went to check and after a long while waiting was told he was busy and could not come out an apology would have been nice.

Room Tip: dont touch anything in the room the bottled water was a joke so expensive go to the duane reed aroun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear colin p,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review from your most recent stay at The Empire Hotel. I am disappointed and concerned to hear of your negative experience. It is certainly not indicative of the service our staff strives to provide our guests. I have shared your comments with our team and we will address accordingly. Thank you for your patience and understanding. Please contact me directly at gm@empirehotelnyc.com if you would like to discuss your experience or if you need any assistance. I hope we have an opportunity to regain your confidence and trust in The Empire Hotel.

Sincerely,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We regularly stay at the Empire from Long Island. 5 minute walk to Central Park and excellent restaurants right across the street with Bar Boulud, Boulud Sud, Fiorello Italian, The Smith. Shun Lee, Picholine, Atlantic Grille & on & on. Our favorite constant quick stop is BOULUD Epicerie for great salads, sandwiches, croissants, delish gelatos, and amazing pastries. The Rooftop Bar is fantastic! Empire is our go to hotel when we are in town for any shows especially the ballet at Lincoln Ctr. Quick walk to Bergdorf Goodman is bonus, FAO Scwarz, Century 21.....etc. If you want to maximize your time in this hood , then Empire is for you.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DItasNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Had an absolute blast at the Empire Hotel this weekend. Great location - with a great pool bar! Managers Aaron and Michael were exceptionally awesome - and their entire bar staff helped create a lively and fun atmosphere. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who visits NYC. The room was clean and ready right when I checked in... I will definitely return to the Empire!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Mike V,

Thank you for the great comments in your review on Trip Advisor. It’s awesome to see that you had a “blast” on the Pool Deck and Aaron and Michael were able to create a great experience. I will be sure to share your review with our Pool Deck and Housekeeping team. We hope to see you soon before the summer ends.

Regards,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
gm@empirehotelnyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio City, Colorado, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

we stayed here and we thought it would be a great place the location worked for us slightly further from downtown but close to central park. We arrived but our room was not ready it was gone 3 pm check in time when we finally got the key we went up to the room but it was disgusting there was dirt on the sheets we went down to ask for another room but we were told we would have to wait by this time we lost most of the day. We asked for the manager and there was a manager but he never came out the receptionist just kept coming in and out of a door repeating what this manager was saying. at no point did we get an apology finally we we to the second room it was ok. the breakfats is way to expensive for what they offer. and the bellmen well good luck if they help at all with the lugagge NEVER AGAIN

Room Tip: Dont do it there are better hotels with better service and a cheaper price
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharonplatt68oh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maurizio b, General Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Sharonplatt68oh,
Thank you for staying with us and for giving me the opportunity to respond you online.
I want to personally apology if we did not meet your expectation and if you found the service overall unacceptable. We are always trying our best to give the most personalized experience to our customers. Clearly we fail with you.
I would like to know more details about your experience. This will help me and my team to be more proactive and to be sure similar situation will never happen again. Please contact me directly at GM@empirehotelnyc.com
I am surprised about your comment about our breakfast. We serve continental breakfast daily by the pool deck from 8am to 11am. We have a large selection of Bagel with cream cheese or butter, Danish, Muffin, Croissant and Coffee for $3 each. It does not look too expensive to me.
All the best,
Maurizio Bonivento
General Manager
GM@empirehotelnyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

While in New York for my daughter, I selected the closest hotel - what a great choice! Everyone on the staff went above and beyond to ensure a great stay. I want to thank Don Chatham and Joe Rauer for a great experience. I will definitely choose the Empire hotel for future stays in Manhattan.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kipster6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at the empire before heading to Boston for a 7 drive holiday to New England. first night we arrived late due to traffic from Newark Airport the room we had was a bit on the small side but ver comfy. However having had a shower it flooded the bedroom. The staff relocated us to an other room with 2 kingbeds and a far bigger bedroom for wich we were glad as we stayed for 5 nights. The staff very accomodating and the usual New Yorker politenes. The room service excellent.

Room Tip: Have Breakfast at the Smiths opposite the hotel its fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank werner47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Nice location close to the park and very nice interior. Incredibly trendy and although the rooms are fairly small they are well laid out and comfortable. We visited the bar which did great cocktails. I'd say the only downside was the staff were not quite as friendly and welcoming as i'd expect from a 4* Manhattan hotel. They were a little vague and reserved. It's also worth noting it's location on the west side is not too near many "touristy" attractions. This didn't bother us as we quite like being away from the hustle and bustle but it worth noting if you are planning to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahLeanneG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Ms. SarahLeanneG,

Thank you for the detailed review from your most recent stay at The Empire Hotel. I pleased to hear that the cleanliness and comfort of your room and our convenient location met your expectations. Even though I feel we have a great team of friendly and engaging people, we can always improve and I appreciate your comments. Thank you for staying with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Empire the next time your travels bring you to New York. The next time you visit, I hope you have an opportunity to visit our Pool Deck. It is the perfect place to enjoy a cocktail overlooking Lincoln Center while relaxing in our plunge pool.

Regards,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
gm@empirehotelnyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#366 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 3,879 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#140 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,369 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#83 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#255 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,370 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#276 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,667 reviews
Midtown
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
#283 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 8,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel

Address: 44 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #343 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on our own private corner of West 63rd Street between two legendary New York City landmarks - Lincoln Center and Central Park - this boutique NYC hotel provides luxury accommodations overlooking the Broadway / Columbus Avenue - the gateway to the Upper West Side. Location is essential to the spirit of the Empire Hotel and the interior motif and design is inspired by the earth tones of Central Park and the stately modernism of Lincoln Center. 426 Deluxe guest rooms and suites, WiFi, Pool Deck open seasonally, Ed's Chowder House Restaurant, Rooftop Lounge, Lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Regatta Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Empire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing