We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Managers” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Empire Hotel

Save Saved
You added Empire Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Empire Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #284 of 451 hotels in New York City
ohio City, Colorado, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No Managers”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

we stayed here and we thought it would be a great place the location worked for us slightly further from downtown but close to central park. We arrived but our room was not ready it was gone 3 pm check in time when we finally got the key we went up to the room but it was disgusting there was dirt on the sheets we went down to ask for another room but we were told we would have to wait by this time we lost most of the day. We asked for the manager and there was a manager but he never came out the receptionist just kept coming in and out of a door repeating what this manager was saying. at no point did we get an apology finally we we to the second room it was ok. the breakfats is way to expensive for what they offer. and the bellmen well good luck if they help at all with the lugagge NEVER AGAIN

Room Tip: Dont do it there are better hotels with better service and a cheaper price
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maurizio b, General Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Sharonplatt68oh,
Thank you for staying with us and for giving me the opportunity to respond you online.
I want to personally apology if we did not meet your expectation and if you found the service overall unacceptable. We are always trying our best to give the most personalized experience to our customers. Clearly we fail with you.
I would like to know more details about your experience. This will help me and my team to be more proactive and to be sure similar situation will never happen again. Please contact me directly at GM@empirehotelnyc.com
I am surprised about your comment about our breakfast. We serve continental breakfast daily by the pool deck from 8am to 11am. We have a large selection of Bagel with cream cheese or butter, Danish, Muffin, Croissant and Coffee for $3 each. It does not look too expensive to me.
All the best,
Maurizio Bonivento
General Manager
GM@empirehotelnyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,471 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    793
    791
    481
    248
    158
See reviews for
461
764
143
459
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

While in New York for my daughter, I selected the closest hotel - what a great choice! Everyone on the staff went above and beyond to ensure a great stay. I want to thank Don Chatham and Joe Rauer for a great experience. I will definitely choose the Empire hotel for future stays in Manhattan.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at the empire before heading to Boston for a 7 drive holiday to New England. first night we arrived late due to traffic from Newark Airport the room we had was a bit on the small side but ver comfy. However having had a shower it flooded the bedroom. The staff relocated us to an other room with 2 kingbeds and a far bigger bedroom for wich we were glad as we stayed for 5 nights. The staff very accomodating and the usual New Yorker politenes. The room service excellent.

Room Tip: Have Breakfast at the Smiths opposite the hotel its fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Nice location close to the park and very nice interior. Incredibly trendy and although the rooms are fairly small they are well laid out and comfortable. We visited the bar which did great cocktails. I'd say the only downside was the staff were not quite as friendly and welcoming as i'd expect from a 4* Manhattan hotel. They were a little vague and reserved. It's also worth noting it's location on the west side is not too near many "touristy" attractions. This didn't bother us as we quite like being away from the hustle and bustle but it worth noting if you are planning to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Ms. SarahLeanneG,

Thank you for the detailed review from your most recent stay at The Empire Hotel. I pleased to hear that the cleanliness and comfort of your room and our convenient location met your expectations. Even though I feel we have a great team of friendly and engaging people, we can always improve and I appreciate your comments. Thank you for staying with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Empire the next time your travels bring you to New York. The next time you visit, I hope you have an opportunity to visit our Pool Deck. It is the perfect place to enjoy a cocktail overlooking Lincoln Center while relaxing in our plunge pool.

Regards,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
gm@empirehotelnyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, UK
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I stayed here for a long weekend with a friend. It's in a great location off Columbus Circle, across from Lincoln Center, and just to the west of Central Park. Overall, the stay was very nice and the hotel is comfortable. There are no significant negatives, but it just wouldn't rank as better than average.

Entering the hotel, you are greeted by the oh-so-trendy NYC dark lobby. It made me think of that scene at the end from Great Expectations, where you just want to tear down the enormous drapes and let some sunshine in. Coming from the UK, we got in about 1 pm, but had to wait over two hours for our room - and it wasn't even ready at check-in time of 3 pm. And we had to nag the front desk to get a move on. Oh, well, we enjoyed a drink or two on the roof terrace. It's a big area, albeit a small pool... and you will share it with local NYers. (Which made me think of the Sex in the City episode where the girls try to get into a hotel's rooftop deck on a sweltering day... and in that case, only hotel guests are allowed.)

The room wasn't tiny, but it's odd L-shape made it seem small. However, the bathroom was the type of tiny where you have to move out of the way to shut the door. NYC hotels are expensive, but this didn't seem worth it. And $7 for a small bottle of water in the room is a tad dear. Plus the in-room tea and coffee were not free (that's a first in my experience).

One hint: don't get a room on the 11th (top floor). Apparently there is a disco or function room up there. For two nights of our stay, we heard what sounded like furniture being dragged along the floor and music and conversation through our closed window - until about 2-3 a.m. one night.

In sum, great for location, comfortable enough, but look for better value-comfort elsewhere.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the 11th floor - too much noise from the disco above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Visited the Pool Deck & Bar last week. Courteous, prompt and friendly service (especially, a young man named Tyler), not to mention the tasty food, great drinks and the awesome views of Lincoln Center and beyond. We're definitely coming back, and after that experience, we may just book a few nights and stay over as well!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Our first time in New York from Wisconsin. A friend who's son attends Columbia University recommended this hotel. WOW, it was perfect, with a great room and even better staff. It is centrally located at Lincoln Center which made it a convenient walk of Subway ride to Soho, Central Park, Time Square and the 9/11 Memorial. We travel a lot but i have never written a review. THANK YOU Empire Hotel for such a great experience. We are returning with or kids in the fall and would not consider staying anywhere else.
Doug, Wisconsin.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Djorndt,

First and foremost, let me take a second to Thank You for both spending your first trip to New York and your anniversary at The Empire Hotel. It was a pleasure to have you with us. I am sure you did a lot of research before traveling for such a special occasion and I am thrilled your stay was a great one! I will be sure to share your review with our staff. They love to hear positive feedback from our guests. . If you ever need a contact at The Empire, do not hesitate to reach me directly at gm@empirehotelnyc.com. Thank you for staying with us and I look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in New York.

Sincerely,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel

Address: 44 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #284 of 451 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on our own private corner of West 63rd Street between two legendary New York City landmarks - Lincoln Center and Central Park - this boutique NYC hotel provides luxury accommodations overlooking the Broadway / Columbus Avenue - the gateway to the Upper West Side. Location is essential to the spirit of the Empire Hotel and the interior motif and design is inspired by the earth tones of Central Park and the stately modernism of Lincoln Center. 426 Deluxe guest rooms and suites, WiFi, Pool Deck open seasonally, Ed's Chowder House Restaurant, Rooftop Lounge, Lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Empire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Empire Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.