We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All show, less substance” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Empire Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Empire Hotel to your Saves list
Empire Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023 (Upper West Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #342 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Hove, UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“All show, less substance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I stayed here for a long weekend with a friend. It's in a great location off Columbus Circle, across from Lincoln Center, and just to the west of Central Park. Overall, the stay was very nice and the hotel is comfortable. There are no significant negatives, but it just wouldn't rank as better than average.

Entering the hotel, you are greeted by the oh-so-trendy NYC dark lobby. It made me think of that scene at the end from Great Expectations, where you just want to tear down the enormous drapes and let some sunshine in. Coming from the UK, we got in about 1 pm, but had to wait over two hours for our room - and it wasn't even ready at check-in time of 3 pm. And we had to nag the front desk to get a move on. Oh, well, we enjoyed a drink or two on the roof terrace. It's a big area, albeit a small pool... and you will share it with local NYers. (Which made me think of the Sex in the City episode where the girls try to get into a hotel's rooftop deck on a sweltering day... and in that case, only hotel guests are allowed.)

The room wasn't tiny, but it's odd L-shape made it seem small. However, the bathroom was the type of tiny where you have to move out of the way to shut the door. NYC hotels are expensive, but this didn't seem worth it. And $7 for a small bottle of water in the room is a tad dear. Plus the in-room tea and coffee were not free (that's a first in my experience).

One hint: don't get a room on the 11th (top floor). Apparently there is a disco or function room up there. For two nights of our stay, we heard what sounded like furniture being dragged along the floor and music and conversation through our closed window - until about 2-3 a.m. one night.

In sum, great for location, comfortable enough, but look for better value-comfort elsewhere.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the 11th floor - too much noise from the disco above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doctorj42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Visited the Pool Deck & Bar last week. Courteous, prompt and friendly service (especially, a young man named Tyler), not to mention the tasty food, great drinks and the awesome views of Lincoln Center and beyond. We're definitely coming back, and after that experience, we may just book a few nights and stay over as well!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SLaurence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Our first time in New York from Wisconsin. A friend who's son attends Columbia University recommended this hotel. WOW, it was perfect, with a great room and even better staff. It is centrally located at Lincoln Center which made it a convenient walk of Subway ride to Soho, Central Park, Time Square and the 9/11 Memorial. We travel a lot but i have never written a review. THANK YOU Empire Hotel for such a great experience. We are returning with or kids in the fall and would not consider staying anywhere else.
Doug, Wisconsin.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Djorndt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Djorndt,

First and foremost, let me take a second to Thank You for both spending your first trip to New York and your anniversary at The Empire Hotel. It was a pleasure to have you with us. I am sure you did a lot of research before traveling for such a special occasion and I am thrilled your stay was a great one! I will be sure to share your review with our staff. They love to hear positive feedback from our guests. . If you ever need a contact at The Empire, do not hesitate to reach me directly at gm@empirehotelnyc.com. Thank you for staying with us and I look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in New York.

Sincerely,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

All the services were great!! Atmosphere was awesome! Yuri, and the front desk staff were always great!! Andrea, in the lobby bar was terrific, she was very helpful and informative, with a great disposition! Terrific location, made for a nice trip!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Tony K,

Thank you for posting a review from your most recent stay at The Empire Hotel. It’s awesome to see that our Front Desk, Concierge and Lobby Bar staff made the difference! I hope that you do have a chance to come back soon and visit our Pool Deck. It has amazing views and we offer some great seasonal food and beverage options. Thank you for staying with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Empire Hotel.

Regards,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
gm@empirehotelnyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I had a wonderful weekend with my mom at the Empire Hotel! Besides the cool and trendy atmosphere, the staff blew my mind. I've never been anywhere where they were so accommodating! Lorena at the front desk first helped us out and was so sweet and helpful! We were supposed to check in at 3pm and she got us in right at 10am no problem- talk about the best thing ever after a six hour flight and all you want is a relaxing hot shower! The rooms were beautiful, clean and had very cozy beds! Gabriel, the Food and Beverage Manager was quite the gem too! He took time to sit with my mom and I and get to know us which was really sweet! He bought us a coconut mojito which I also highly recommend trying- very tasty! Do yourself a favor and stay here, you'll be so happy you did! Besides the great rooms, service and prime location you'll also find great shopping and restaurants! Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Empire Hotel. It has a convenient location to Central Park and a wide range of other activities. However, I never give a 5 star rating to any lodging facility that charges for internet access. They charge both for in your room internet service or for in the lobby area service. You can get free internet service up on the pool deck; however, be warned to get to the pool patio you need to ride the elevator to the 11th floor and then climb two full flights of stairs. Bathroom sink design is cute but creates limited space between the bottom of the faucet and the sink. Design flaw also with the shower, downward spout but no closing door and regularly splashes water onto the floor of the bathroom (and we only received a floor mat once out of the three days we were there), Clean room, probably bigger than typical NYC hotel room. Would definitely come back again at the inexpensive (for NYC) rate I obtained.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StarVoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear StarVoyage,

Thank you for posting a review from your recent stay at The Empire Hotel on Trip Advisor. It's great that a Trip Advisor Senior Contributor (such as yourself) had a positive experience at our hotel. Although we do charge for internet access in our rooms, please note it is always complimentary in the lobby, Lobby Bar and mezzanine areas of the hotel. Perhaps the next time you visit, you will have an opportunity to enjoy the Pool Deck. It is now open for the Summer and is the perfect place to catch some rays and enjoy a refreshing cocktail!

Regards,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
gm@empirehotelnyc.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Had a great time. Staff was good, location was excellent, room was nice and clean. What else can I ask for? (I was surprised that a coffee cost money but I hear that all hotels these days, charge.) :(

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Harry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#368 of 466 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 3,895 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#142 of 466 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,396 reviews
Midtown
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
#282 of 466 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 8,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#305 of 466 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 8,171 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#227 of 466 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,987 reviews
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#252 of 466 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel

Address: 44 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #342 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on our own private corner of West 63rd Street between two legendary New York City landmarks - Lincoln Center and Central Park - this boutique NYC hotel provides luxury accommodations overlooking the Broadway / Columbus Avenue - the gateway to the Upper West Side. Location is essential to the spirit of the Empire Hotel and the interior motif and design is inspired by the earth tones of Central Park and the stately modernism of Lincoln Center. 426 Deluxe guest rooms and suites, WiFi, Pool Deck open seasonally, Ed's Chowder House Restaurant, Rooftop Lounge, Lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Regatta Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Empire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing