We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We booked 45 rooms for our son's wedding- M.L. took phenomenal care of our guests” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Empire Hotel

Save Saved
You added Empire Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Empire Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #296 of 452 hotels in New York City
1 review
“We booked 45 rooms for our son's wedding- M.L. took phenomenal care of our guests”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights and booked rooms for family and friends for our son's April 13th wedding at Lincoln Center. I cannot say enough about the personal care that we received. Everyone was pleased with the accommodations. Michelle recommended salons and a make-up person. She went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear LTD1120,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from The Empire Hotel on Trip Advisor and for choosing our hotel as the place to stay for your family and friends. It was a pleasure and an honor to host them. Thank you as well for mentioning Conference Services Manager, Michelle in your review. We are lucky to have someone on our team committed to providing fantastic service to our groups. Congratulations to you and your family and we wish your son and his wife all the success life has to offer.

Regards,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,606 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    837
    823
    515
    263
    168
See reviews for
504
812
153
481
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston Ma
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I generally stay in mid-town when I go to NY, so it was nice to be somewhere dfferent. The Empire is right on the edge of Central Park, which is beautiful this time of year. Columbus Circle is a fun place to be around as well. The hotel lobby is nice, with a bar right off the lobby. The room was fine and the bed comfortable. The shower was great! Although, the bathrrom overall was small. I would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear emergencygetaway,

Thank you for the detailed review from your most recent stay at The Empire Hotel.. I appreciate the feedback as well as the great pictures in your review. I am sure other travelers will appreciate them as well. I am thrilled you enjoyed the comfort of your room and all of the amenities and outlets of our hotel met your expectations. Our Pool Deck is opening soon and it is the perfect place to enjoy a refreshing cocktail and delicious snack while relaxing in the summer sun. We hope that the Upper West Side and The Empire Hotel is now your place to stay when visiting New York.

Regards,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Just spent 4 nights at this hotel. First impressions very positive with an attractive reception and bar area and very welcoming staff. We were told on check in that we had been upgraded to a king room which was good to hear. The room itself though was quite small but I guess that's probably in line with most city hotels but did make us pleased we'd got the upgrade. Disappointingly though the room was very very dark, overlooking what looked like an apartment block so definitely no view to speak of. However we were there to explore so only really used the hotel as a base.

We didn't eat in the hotel at all so can't comment on the food or service, bar tariff was quite high but again in line with other big cities we have visited (though beware the mini bar prices - ouch!).
We were celebrating our wedding anniversary on the trip and came back to our room one evening to find a complementary bottle of champagne waiting nicely chilled, thank you!

Overall the rooms and bathrooms would benefit from some attention, looking a little tired in areas and on the accommodation alone I would be giving 3 stars however the reception staff were great so bumping up to 4. That said, it's ideally placed for Central Park and jumping onto the subway for uptown or downtown exploring, even walkable to Broadway if you like a good stretch.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We chose the Empire Hotel for its proximity to Lincoln Center. We booked two rooms for our party of four - a king and a double - and when we checked in we were given an upgrade to a second king. This particular "upgrade" was teeny tiny and overlooked HVAC equipment. Considering we weren't there to relax, we didn't make a big deal out of it. But if an upgrade is offered here, or if you have high expectations, you should check out both rooms first! The bathroom could have used some TLC - missing grout and caulk, leaky bathtub, dirty corners and molding. The other king room was much nicer. It was larger and had a great view of Lincoln Center. Overall, a good visit, though. Friendly staff, helpful concierge.

Room Tip: If you are offered an upgrade, check out both rooms before you decide! Get coffee at the Starbucks t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear LoriPete,

Thank you for posting a review from your most recent stay at The Empire Hotel. We take our guests’ feedback seriously and use it to improve the product and service that we offer. It is good to see that you would like to return and overall enjoyed your stay with us. If you should ever need assistance at The Empire, please contact me directly at jrauer@empirehotelnyc.com. We have many different room options with various layouts all designed to meet the needs of our guests. I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future so that you may experience another room category that we offer.

Sincerely,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is a nice hotel by NYC standards and honestly any standards, it has an attractive lobby and even though the hallway are a tad dark they have a pleasant aroma, my room was a decent size with a king bed, I live in NY and have stayed in many hotels there and this is among the finest with many amenities and a great location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear WarrenTraveler,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review from your most recent stay at The Empire Hotel. It is great to see that a Trip Advisor senior contributor such as yourself enjoyed your experience with us. Since you are a New Yorker, we hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you for staying with us and for the positive feedback.

Sincerely,


Regards,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Used to live in NYC and have been trying to find a decent comfortable hotel in a good location for multiple trips. Mariana Mero, a Front of House Manager at The Empire who took care of me while I was there, has helped me make a good choice for the future; I will return.

The Empire Hotel reception staff were attentive, exceedingly good natured and helpful even though when I arrived the hotel was sold out and heaving with a wedding party. My first room was on a low a floor and lacked sufficient closet space and drawers for my 10 day stay. I was moved the next day to a much better room on a higher floor with more daylight. Ok the 60's style décor is out of date but the room was comfortable and clean as was the bathroom. Housekeeping was accommodating in providing additional towels and amenities in a very timely
fashion.

While Ed's Chowder House may look unexciting, the food is excellent for breakfast, lunch and dinner; I ate there a few times and was pleasantly surprised and happily went back.

The biggest negative is the club not run by the hotel but situated on the roof top floor because of the crowd it attracts from 5pm onwards that hang around in the front lobby and outside the street is so tacky that gives a very bad impression about the hotel.

Also, upon arrival on my first evening, I needed a doorman as my driver was unable to leave his car and take my bags into reception but none was at hand nor was a trolley available to put my luggage on. This hotel needs a real doorman there to help hotel guests...not someone who looks like a bouncer or club waiter for the roof club whose primary job is to direct guests to the elevator serving the club.

Would be great if this hotel had a lovely restaurant and bar on the top of the hotel instead of its current club tenant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

It's not the most modern, up to date or fanciest hotel in NYC, but if you are a patron of the arts, fond of Central Park, like good food and some shopping bargains - you can't go wrong staying at The Empire! Convenience and pleasant staff, good food and an iconic nyc bar right there, Lincoln Center, Century21, a block from the subway, 2 blocks from Central Park and affordable and they take pets!! Can't ask for much more!

Room Tip: Interior rooms are quieter but how much time does one spend in a hotel room in NYC?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear discerningtraveler21,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from The Empire Hotel on Trip Advisor. It is great to see that an experienced traveler and senior contributor such as yourself enjoyed your time with us. I see that you loved the location and all the shopping in our area- well we love it too! Thank you for staying with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Empire Hotel. The next time you visit, I hope you have an opportunity to visit our Pool Deck. It is the perfect place to relax after a long day of shopping while enjoying a cocktail overlooking Lincoln Center.


Regards,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel

Address: 44 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #296 of 452 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on our own private corner of West 63rd Street between two legendary New York City landmarks - Lincoln Center and Central Park - this boutique NYC hotel provides luxury accommodations overlooking the Broadway / Columbus Avenue - the gateway to the Upper West Side. Location is essential to the spirit of the Empire Hotel and the interior motif and design is inspired by the earth tones of Central Park and the stately modernism of Lincoln Center. 426 Deluxe guest rooms and suites, WiFi, Pool Deck open seasonally, Ed's Chowder House Restaurant, Rooftop Lounge, Lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Empire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Empire Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.