We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Party” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Empire Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Empire Hotel to your Saves list
Empire Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023 (Upper West Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #319 of 463 Hotels in New York City
swansea
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wedding Party”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We have stayed at the Empire on several occassions and thought it would be the perfect hotel to stay in for our Wedding in Central Parc Oct 28th 2012,we had a party of 35 people and we highly recommended this hotel,on arrival none of our rooms were ready,some of our friends were still hanging around in the reception two hours later and still had'nt checked in,when we eventually went to our room the carpet floor was soaking from the air conditioning,our room was far from a bridal suite it was actually the smallest of all the rooms we had booked,several of our quests had to complain about their rooms as some doors werent secure,the list is actually endless and i was very dissapointed as this hotel is not cheap,i will definately consider staying elsewhere this year as i visit every year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, Owner at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear louise j,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback from your October stay at The Empire. We were truly disappointed to learn of your recent experience with us. This is certainly not indicative of the service levels that we pride ourselves on from inconsistent service and delay at arrival.

Please allow me to personally extend my sincere apologies for the inconvenience. I thank you for your patience and understanding. Kindly please contact me at the number below or jrauer@empirehotelnyc.com, as I would welcome the opportunity to regain your trust and confidence in The Empire. I sincerely hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel during your next visit to New York.

Regards,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
(212) 265-7400 ext. 7343
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,072
    1,092
    675
    344
    236
See reviews for
676
1,069
212
631
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (720)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is its location. It is across the road from the Lincoln Centre and within walking distance of Columbus Circus, Central Park and other attractions. There is a Starbucks directly below - which is just as well because the restaurant is very tired and tatty and breakfast is expensive and disappointing. There was also a good choice of restaurants immediately to hand. We loved The Smith. My daughter and I stayed at the Empire the week before Christmas, but it must have been the only hotel in NYC which had not one single Christmas decoration up. What does that say about the hotel and its management? Shame. The room was very small, but adequate. The bathrooom likewise. Liked the L'Occitane amenities though.It was variable as to what we got every day in terms of variety and numbers - the same applied to towels. The hotel was generally a bit tired and could benefit from a refurb. The worst thing about it was the noise of traffic from the road - and we were on the 9th floor. They need double glazing. Would I stay there again? Possibly - for the convenience and value, and to go sight seeing from. Its not a hotel to spend time in.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and facing the Lincoln Centre. That would be the quieter side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We booked into the Empire Hotel with three children and wanted to try and accomodate everybody into one room. Gunita was more than helpful in getting a very reasonably priced upgrade to a larger room with two queen beds and made sure the bedding for the children was all in place. We had a view and really felt like the hotel wanted to go the extra mile. The staff generally were friendly and helpful and the hotel was in a great location for seeing all facets of the New York experience

Room Tip: The rooms with two queen beds is the ideal option for a family, especially in Manhattan where the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear orthodocnz,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay at The Empire. I am delighted you and your family had a great experience with us. Thank you as well for mentioning our Front Desk Agent, Gunita in your comments. I will be sure to share your review with our team. If I can ever be of assistance at The Empire, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at jrauer@empirehotelnyc.com. Thank you for staying with us.

Regards,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

As part of our belated honeymoon, we spent 5 nights at the Empire Hotel during the week before Christmas. We have stayed there once before.

The location is of course very good, a great spot to start exploring the city. We had booked the Superior room as the we remembered the Standard room to be very small. And we were not disappointed. The Superior Room was a good size and we felt very comfortable there.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, especially during one night when my best friend and her boyfriend were in the city for a couple of hours on her overlay to her Christmas vacation. She only had 4 hours in Manhattan before she had to go back to the airport and the staff was very helpful. She was allowed to store their suitcases in our room, the front desk called me in my room when she arrived since she didn't have any American currency on her and I had to go down and pay for her taxi. The front desk also recommended some places in the neighbourhood to go for drinks and a late dinner.

We had an overall pleasant experience and will definitely stay at the Empire again on our next visit to New York!

Room Tip: Standard rooms are pretty small, especially if you have two or more large suitcases. Superior room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear xNikishax,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. I am honored you chose to spend your honeymoon at The Empire and thrilled your enjoyed your stay with us. It is great to hear the service and comfort of our hotel met your expectations. I will be sure to share your comments with our team. Thank you as well for sharing great tips in your review. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Empire the next time your travels bring you to New York.

Regards,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband had a business trip to New York and I tagged along. We thought that we would stay a few extra days to celebrate our anniversary and went to Manhattan for the weekend. We were not so impressed with this hotel. The staff at the front desk was not friendly, we were checked in by a woman who did not say one word to us after we gave her our name and reservation. She motioned for the credit card, did not mention anything about the hotel, did not say thank you, nothing at all. We didn't even know what room we had until we asked the other person that was at the desk. Our room was on the first floor, the windows were high and what you could see out of them was a bunch of broken cement blocks, an old metal something that resembled a generator. The room was EXTREMELY small. No area to put the suitcases. The room was EXTREMELY loud at night, some motor was running constantly outside. The air conditioner ran really loud and very cold. There was no way to shut it off or turn on the heat. We called twice to have it fixed and no one ever came to our room. You could not walk around the bed on one side. There was no chair or sofa to sit on, so we always had to sit on the bed. ( If you look at the site pictures it seems that there should have been a chair in the room).There was no vanity in the tiny bathroom, so no where to put toiletries. The shower had no door, which is fine except that there were two shower heads--one a hand-held and it was facing out, so that the first time I turned on the shower--it completely got me soaked! My clothes were drenched! Not cool. The door to the bathroom opens out into the side of the bed, so that it doesn't open all the way. When we first got there, we checked the bedding which is something that we always do now because there is some bad housekeeping out there in the hotel world. When we pulled back the mattress pad, we were horrified--the "goose down" pad that contains the pad, was so stained! It had numerous huge brown circle stains on it, hair, and big yellow stains. When we called the front desk to tell them, we were told to just "take it off the bed" I insisted that they come and get it and give us fresh, clean sheets. It took about 1/2 hour and the housekeeper came with new sheets. She didn't understand English well enough to know what we were trying to tell her, so we just handed her the nasty pad and asked her to take it away. We then remade the bed and slept with no pad. We had asked if there was another room available that had a chair and a clean bed, but were told that the hotel was full. For some reason, they do not provide washcloths with the linen. We didn't have a washcloth either day that we were there.The next day we went to the concierge and asked about the best way to get around to the sights we wanted to see, as I had not been to Manhattan, (my husband has for business). He suggested the "yellow taxi" and we paid him there for it. He told us that we could hop on and off whenever we wanted and it ran all day. Well, that's not true. We spent the day sightseeing and for $36 a piece for the ticket, were only able to use the pass twice that day. When we went to get on the bus to take it back to Central Park, the driver told us that we couldn't because they close the streets at Rockefeller Center and he couldn't get through. He said that they always close the streets on Sat. nights because of all of the people. So because it was nice out, we walked back to the Empire. But we found out from the bus driver that if we had bought the tickets from one of them selling them on the street-- for the same price we would have gotten a two-day pass and a free $26 water taxi out to the Statue of Liberty. He said that the hotels will never offer the same deals. I suppose the hotels make more money this way. when we talked to concierge at the hotel after we got back, he said "welcome to New York". Not once did the doorman or anyone else at this hotel ever greet us coming and going or even make eye contact. No one spoke a word. We have traveled all over the world and have never seen hotel staff act like this. Everyone else that we encountered in new York on our stay was very helpful and friendly. One good thing--there is a decent restaurant next door called P.J. Clarkes, very nice and very good food. This hotel is in an excellent area, and so close to everything. You can walk just about anywhere from this hotel, Especially like the location to central Park and the theater, but this is all that this hotel has good to offer.
Granted, we don't spend a lot of time in our hotels when we travel, but the time we did spend here was in no way enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the hotel over Christmas, the staff were very good very quick to help. The room was small but I understand that is the norm for New York. The hole place is a bit on the dark side I think that they go a bit far with the mood lighting. Wifi is a bit if a issue there is free wifi in the lobby or you have to pay for it. But if you are lucky your room will be close to the Lincoln Center and you can pick up there free wifi. The mini bar is well stocked but it is not cheap and there is a shop just out side the hotel so there is no real need to use any thing from the mini bar. There is no tea or coffee in the room but again there is a Starbucks just out side the hotel (and on ever street corner or seems like it). There is a hair dryer and a umbrella in the room. In all it was a good stay in a very good location and I would stay there again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel. We should have learnt from our last stay not to stay here again. Never ever again. If you're hoping to get some (if any) sleep, forget about it. The first time we stayed here we had a room just under their rooftop club, and heard the music, and stomping of feet/dancing most of the night. This time, we asked for a room on a lower level to avoid the noise, however we were kept up all night due to road works - surely this is something that should be disclosed!? Now add hotel staff walking around 24/7 with loud walkie talkies, and you can imagine how little sleep we managed to get. I literally hate this hotel. They should have closed down when Gossip Girl did!

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here, ask for a room that's away from the noise of their rooftop bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Boozool,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at The Empire. As Assistant General Manager, I am disappointed that you did not have a positive experience. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the noise inconvenience. Kindly contact me at jrauer@empirehotelnyc.com or the number below to discuss your experience further. I would like the opportunity to welcome you back so you may experience the service our team strives to provide at The Empire.

Sincerely,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
(212) 265-7400 ext. 7343
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel

Address: 44 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #319 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on our own private corner of West 63rd Street between two legendary New York City landmarks - Lincoln Center and Central Park - this boutique NYC hotel provides luxury accommodations overlooking the Broadway / Columbus Avenue - the gateway to the Upper West Side. Location is essential to the spirit of the Empire Hotel and the interior motif and design is inspired by the earth tones of Central Park and the stately modernism of Lincoln Center. 426 Deluxe guest rooms and suites, WiFi, Pool Deck open seasonally, Ed's Chowder House Restaurant, Rooftop Lounge, Lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Amex, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Empire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Empire Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.