We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel near Lincoln Center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Empire Hotel

Save Saved
You added Empire Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Empire Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #286 of 449 hotels in New York City
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Best Hotel near Lincoln Center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Great place. The valet, bellhop, front desk, housekeeper, bartender, restaurant madre d, all made for a really great experience. Our junior suite was really beautiful, most comfortable bedding, convenient tv that angled in all directions off of the wall, the snacks and drinks weren't overly expensive and the system didnt charge you for just picking up an item like some modern amenity trays and refrigerators. The only down side in the room was that the shower was not that much pressure and the half-shower door lets water out. Lobby could use some new fabric on the furniture, glass doors into the lobby are very heavy, rooftop bar smells, has sticky floors, way too crowded, waitress was very rude.

Room Tip: Hotel for NYC was unbelievably inexpensive, get upgraded!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmpireManagement, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear Joefrombrooklyn,

As a fellow "Brooklynite" I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your most recent stay at the Empire Hotel. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and will be sharing your insights with our Executive Team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Empire in the near future.

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,419 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    773
    777
    473
    241
    155
See reviews for
451
753
141
445
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Cool hotel, incredible location across the street from Lincoln Center. Do not get an inside room-it overlooks an airshaft. We were upgraded to a suite by the manager.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmpireManagement, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear SassySandi049,

As the Assistant General Manager, I am so pleased to heary ou enjoyed your most recent stay with us at the Empire Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to NYC.

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, SC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We have stayed here twice. Once when it first opened and this time. The first time was not too bad, cockroaches in the bathroom and a shower that flooded, but we loved the style of the hotel and the location, so we hoped that they had addressed the shower issue in the time between our stays,
They did not and it just got worse. The shower fully floods and there is mold beneath the platform. Towels are replaced based on their laundry facility's whim. We were there for a week and only received full towel service twice and this required a call to housekeeping both times, where we were informed that they simply do not get enough towels to service all of their rooms. We came back to our room one time to find that they had put sanitary covers on our dirty glasses, one still half filled with water. We brought this to the managers attention and he shrugged and asked me what the problem was. It was clear to me that he constantly dealt with complaints of this kind and just did not care anymore. This is not a 4 star hotel... It may look like one, but they are sadly lacking in both service and cleanliness, the 2 most important aspects of a well run hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmpireManagement, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear Melissasrstar,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your most recent stay at the Empire Hotel. As the Assistant General Manager, I am so disappointed to hear of the challenges you experienced with the cleanliness of your restroom and sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you during your stay. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly at the property if you would like to discuss your expereince in greater detail or if I may be of any further assistance moving forward.

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012 via mobile

I come because I used to watch gossip girl. And I now just going to stop watching this soap drama. I don't have any happy memory here. The only positive thing about this hotel is the location.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmpireManagement, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear Boston521,

As the Assistant General Manager of the Empire Hotel, I sincerely appreciate you providing us with your feedback on your most recent stay with us. I apologize that we do not provide slippers however we do have plush Frette robes in all of our rooms. Although there are no coffee makers in the rooms, we have an amazing restaurant, Ed's Chowder House, that offers a full breakfast as well as coffee service each morning. All of our beds are draped in comfortable Frette linens and duvet covers as well as a quilted throw. If you would like to discuss your concerns in greater detail or if I may be of any future assistance please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the Hotel. I look forward to hearing from you and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Empire in the near future

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sag Harbor, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in February for business. Nice lobby with lots of seating so it was easy for business meetings. Plus there is a bar that definitely gets a happy hour crowd. Ate 2 lunches and a breakfast at the restaurant on the 2nd floor which is really nice and bright and sunny. The breakfast buffet was $26 so not cheap but typical for a nice NYC hotel breakfast buffet I guess. Room was small (not the smallest ever in NYC) but totally fine for a couple nights and was nice and modern. Bathroom was nice too. No complaints whatsoever. Free wifi in the lobby but you have to pay to use Internet in your room.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmpireManagement, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear AmityL,

WOW!!! Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your most recent stay at the Empire Hotel. As the Assistant General Manager I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,

JEnnifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Although I had been in this hotel years ago and it was old and funky, the location couldn't have been nicer. When I went back for four nights - it was super modern and super cool. Great staff, right down to the people handling the front doors - and still wonderful location. It is now my hotel of first choice for the Big Apple (subway connections, ease of taxi, airy, top part of town and great for after work walks in any direction!)

Room Tip: If a "view" is important then you need to request it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmpireManagement, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear Gedaliah G,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback on your most recent stay at the Empire Hotel. As the Assistant General Manager of the Hotel, I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Empire the next time your travels bring you to NYC.

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

I stayed at the Empire Hotel for 8 nights during New York Fashion Week and had the best stay I've ever had in a long time. I had stayed at the Hudson Hotel before and had a horrible experience, so I was little apprehensive at first staying at a hotel I had never stayed before, but I was greeted by a very friendly and professional employee named Mariana as I checked-in who immediately put me at ease and made sure I was happy with my room. Everything was perfect (and I don't use that word often); Friendly and helpful staff, great continental breakfast (more food and variety than I was expecting), my room was always clean and fast check-in and check-out.

Room Tip: I was staying for a whole week and didn't care about the view, my concern was to get a room larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel

Address: 44 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #286 of 449 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on our own private corner of West 63rd Street between two legendary New York City landmarks - Lincoln Center and Central Park - this boutique NYC hotel provides luxury accommodations overlooking the Broadway / Columbus Avenue - the gateway to the Upper West Side. Location is essential to the spirit of the Empire Hotel and the interior motif and design is inspired by the earth tones of Central Park and the stately modernism of Lincoln Center. 426 Deluxe guest rooms and suites, WiFi, Pool Deck open seasonally, Ed's Chowder House Restaurant, Rooftop Lounge, Lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com, Jetsetter, Otel and Venere so you can book your Empire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Empire Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.