We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A LITTLE BIT OF ISTANBUL IN NEW YORK” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sip Sak

Sip Sak
928 2nd Ave, Frnt A, New York City, NY 10022-7835 (Midtown)
212-583-1900
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,490 of 11,186 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A LITTLE BIT OF ISTANBUL IN NEW YORK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Istanbul is a great favourite and it is where I first sampled Turkish food. I happened on this restaurant quite by chance when staying at the nearby One UN Hotel. The staff were very helpful in explaining the dishes. The service was fine and not overbearing while the cuisine was very tasty. It was quiet but there was a good atmosphere and all-in-all it was a very pleasant evening. I rounded-off with apple tea, which was a great favourite during my visits to Istanbul.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    22
    7
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Turkish Delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The food is quite good here, but the service is very iffy. You never know what you are going to get that way. I have been there and they have told us that something which was on the specials board were never served there. However, the food is quite good if you can overlook the service.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield MA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Delicious and good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We really enjoyed our meal here. Delightful server, extremely tender octopus appetizer, delicious shrimp casserole and osso buco, tasty almond pudding. Good value. Fairly busy but noise level low enough to allow for good conversation.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

This is a very nice dinner spot. Service and wait staff is awesome. Food is good and never disappoints. Menu is varied for all tastes. Live the vibe!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
748 reviews 748 reviews
350 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 211 cities Reviews in 211 cities
508 helpful votes 508 helpful votes
“Best grilled bass in Manhattan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Love the grilled bass and the Mediterranean appetizers, hate the wine list :(
Service is somewhat reluctant, even when the place is not that busy. I've watched this place evolve from fast food to a restaurant, both in appearances and food offerings and I think they've come a long way from their humble beginnings (both in servings and prices). Owner Orhan is very friendly and makes friends easily with everybody. I do believe he should make an effort to get some better wines, not necessarily Turkish

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sip Sak also viewed

 

Been to Sip Sak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sip Sak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.