We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It made me feel like it happened a week ago” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 9/11 Memorial Museum

9/11 Memorial Museum
180 Greenwich Street, New York, NY 10007, New York City, NY 10006
+1 212-312-8800
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
VIP Tour
$109*
and up
Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of...
Ranked #6 of 633 Attractions in New York City
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The National September 11 Memorial Museum at the World Trade Center bears solemn witness to the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001 and February 26, 1993. The Museum honors the nearly 3,000 victims of these attacks and all those who risked their lives to save others. It further recognizes the thousands who survived and those who acted with extraordinary compassion in the aftermath. Demonstrating the consequences of terrorism on individual lives and its impact on communities at the local, national, and international levels, the Museum attests to the triumph of human dignity over human depravity and affirms an unwavering commitment to the fundamental value of human life.
Medina, Ohio
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“It made me feel like it happened a week ago”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We were in New York, so we felt like we had to go any see this. I was hoping that they would have done a great job with this museum and I feel like they hit a home run! Yes, you can visit the actual outdoor memorial for free, but the museum is just something you HAVE to include in you visit here.

My only small complaint is that the area where most of the artifacts are stored could have had larger tv screens and a lot more room to spread out. That area felt a bit cramped. But, make no mistake, this whole museum is something you have to see!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,957
    929
    251
    52
    19
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not too soon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Like many reviewers, I had mixed feelings about coming here. I wanted to see...but, with just 13 years behind us, it still felt too recent to be "history." I was wrong. It is presented with such dignity and decorum, that it will stay with you for days. I spent more than an hour reading about the victims -- and they became real to me, not just a statistic. It also reminded me how unified we were as a country following the attack. I am not nostalgic for those raw and disorienting days, but I wish we could, once again, all row together.

If you have time to do only one thing in NYC, make it this.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, TX
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A must see for all Americans...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This museum is filled with memorabilia from that tragic day in 2001. The videos take you back to relive your thoughts and feelings as we were attacked by those pathetic excuses for human beings. Please allow plenty of time to read the descriptions on the exhibits. You come away with some sense of the horror that took place on this very spot. Huge beams of steel bent over like toothpicks are on display. We, as Americans, must never forget the heroic sacrifice that so many made, as well as the evil that manifesited itself through those terroristic scumbags.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A beautiful tribute!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Beautifully designed and impressive. Loved to see the names of all those who lost their lives memorialized so respectfully at the water features outside. The museum itself was very crowded but that can't be helped. Easy to get tickets and entry lines moved easily, Volunteers were wonderful and knowledgeable.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Ohio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very well done presentation of a difficult subject”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The museum is all below ground and you can actually view a few the remains of the original construction of the two towers. You really should arrange your tickets ahead of time to save extra time waiting in line. If you have a smartphone, then also download ahead of time the app for the museum and bring along headphones. The part of the museum on the tour with the audio from the app makes the experience even better. You can only take pictures when walking about the tour with the app. Once you enter the enclosed museum which houses the much more personal items then cameras and phones are strictly prohibited. If you knew someone who lost their life or was intimately connected to the disaster, then it could be hard to experience. I applaud the designers for their work presenting this important day in the history of the U.S.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 9/11 Memorial Museum also viewed

 

Been to 9/11 Memorial Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 9/11 Memorial Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.