We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laughably Bad. Fraud is really the word.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Soho Loft

The Soho Loft
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Soho Loft to your Saves list
The Soho Loft
199 Lafayette Street, New York City, NY 10013 (SoHo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #418 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Laughably Bad. Fraud is really the word.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

My sister and her husband rented it for his 60th birthday and wanted to put up friends and family. In fairness, the location is awesome. No doubt about that. That's the only nice thing I can say.

Some of the problems- The bathrooms were not all functioning. There was no table, the main bedroom bed was broken. the majority of the rooms are tiny cubicles off a main hall with sliding glass doors. The effect is very "prison". The "caretaker" lives in a room that is really PART OF THE APARTMENT. She was perfectly nice, but we were sharing the bathroom with her. The apartment is not as large as advertised. Directly downstairs is a dance studio, and on the weekend they had a salsa dance party that was pretty cute, but kept us up until 4am. we made the best of it, and there were awesome things about the neighborhood, but the place is a scam.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    0
    2
    11
See reviews for
5
7
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Ill
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

I stayed at the Soho Loft with 8 of my friends for an engagement party. My stay here was absolutely amazing. Each of my friends and I slept comfortably at night and were able to Party at night! Everything was clean and renovated and I felt right at home. I would highly recommend this space for any type of event!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AussieAl21
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2009

We stayed at The Soho Loft about a month ago and had a wonderful time! I was traveling with 10 friends and it was between this or a 3 star hotel we found in midtown so we decided to change it up a bit. The loft is in the most amazing part of Manhattan! If you are not familiar with Soho it is the prime location, great food, fashion, nightlife and easy to get everywhere. I would def suggest staying here if you are coming to Manhattan with a group of friends!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

For those of us who know New York City it is quite hard to find a quality place to stay that is in a great location, without spending a fortune! I came across The Soho Loft and booked it for a few of my friends who were coming in from out of town. The loft was extremely affordable, in the best part of the city and really a true New York Experience!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

The worst accommodations I have ever seen. The bedrooms were closets without windows. Incredibly hot and noisy. I slept on a towel rather than in the bed. Bathrooms were in very poor shape. Common area was not even close to as pictured! Little furniture and lots of dirty dishes. This was just BAD BAD BAD!! Never again. I am still shuddering when I think about it. DIRTY! Run down! Poorly appointed! Nothing good to say. Police station across the street was a noise factory. I just cannot believe how bad it all was.

  • Liked — Not one thing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2008

Please note that I have not stayed here yet. My experience is based on the pre stay experience I had with this company. My stay was supposed to be Oct 5-11 2008 I booked this Loft because 1st- was in Soho, 2nd the pictures looked good, 3rd the price was good, 4- I was contacted immediately. I never should have done it. They require you prepay on a credit card and sign a "lease." I should have known better by the tone of the emails. Unprofessional, Lacking in tact or intelligently written. The terms of the contract are short. Basically (but vaguely) It says cancelation policy is within outside of 6 weeks prior to the stay a refund of 75% will be given back if re-rented. I didn't think we'd cancel. Well, after reading all of the horrible reviews on Trip Advisor and other sites - I canceled. I immediately emailed the 2 people I dealt with told them about the reviews. One review stated that they actually book private partys in the "commom" space and they can go all night. The guests aren't allowed to be in that space during the party. As well it said, the party guests use the same bathrooms as the overnight guests. Plus, the rooms do not lock. One reviewer even said the day he arrived his bed had been used and sheets were not changed. Gross! This was not the mature, private, clean and comfortable arrangement I wanted. In my cancelation letter I mentioned and asked if there would be parties booked. I recieved confirmation that there could be a party booked. I was contacted not by the original people who took care of me( we'll call them kevin/sales and James/rental agreeme\nt)But by the Director of the Loft. After some correspondence, the Director, we'll call him Leroy, stated that he might have a private apt. I was very much interested in it and wanted details. It would be easier to just change locations instead of cancel. He didn/t get back to me. I had to be the one to initiate all communication each and ever time. Plus it took 3 or 4 emails to get him to answer. He finally, after a week said he found a place. I wanted details. After 3 days, still no details. He kept sending one sentence emails like "don't worry" etc etc. After 4 emails and 3 days of asking, I finally emailed and stated that I wanted the address and details of the place by end of day. He emailed back and said" don't worrry, call me at lunchtime tomorrow" I did what he said - he answered the phone and put me off.. again. He said he was busy and to call him around closing time. I agreed. However after all of the correspondence, unprofessional behavior, abrupt and strange emails, I decided to cancel. His response?: "No problem" I had since sent 2 emails asking the status of my refund. No reply. I have a feeling even if they did re-rent my space - I may not see my money. Very very shady. by the way, this location was found through VacationRentals.com which in itself does not have a good reputation according to reviews. Do yourself a favor, stay at a well known reputable hotel. It's worth it. As of now, I have booked a hotel for the week and will have to shell out another 2000K. The Soho Loft cost 299 per night plus tax.. ugh.

  • Liked — n/a
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
az
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2008

Beware. The property manager (who lives with you in the space) will change any agreement at anytime. We were promised breakfast every morning which she decided not to do. We were promised that we could leave our bags in the space after check out time because most of our group was leaving in the evening. She decided that would not work for her. We were promised housekeeping, which NEVER occured. She disabled out internet half way throught the stay...Unfortunately, we paid in full, in advance. And she could change the key lock at anytime and lock us out of our space.
Though the space wasn't exactly what was portrayed in the images posted, the space worked just fine for us. It was the horrible woman that runs the loft made us unhappy with the experience.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#6 of 468 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
SoHo
NOMO SOHO Hotel
NOMO SOHO Hotel
#280 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 150 reviews
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#11 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
The James New York
The James New York
#145 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 995 reviews
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#165 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,962 reviews
SoHo
Solita Soho Hotel
Solita Soho Hotel
#299 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Soho Loft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Soho Loft

Address: 199 Lafayette Street, New York City, NY 10013
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #418 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Soho Loft reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Soho Loft Hotel New York City
Soho Loft New York City
Soho Loft Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Soho Loft, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.