We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic all around!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sutton Residence

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sutton Residence
Save
You added The Sutton Residence to your Saves list
Lexington Avenue and 47th Street, New York City, NY (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 95 New York City B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic all around!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Bruce was there to welcome us when we arrived, and from the moment we walked in the door, we felt like we were at home. The location was great, the place was clean, and the host was wonderful. The Sutton was full when we were there, but we rarely saw anyone else, and never had to wait for the bathroom (you share a bathroom with one other room).

Our room was simple, just a bed, a closet, and a nightstand, but it was more than enough room for two people, three suitcases, and a lot of shopping bags! There were four towels in our room, and extra blankets and pillows in the closet if needed.

The kitchen and living room were inviting and comfortable, but we were out and about all day and didn't ever take advantage of the facilities.

The location is great, walking distance to a lot of attractions, and convenient to the subway station. It is noisy, being that it is in the heart of NYC, so if you are a light sleeper, bring earplugs!

I will return to the Sutton Residence, and I will recommend it to anyone going to NYC.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    35
    5
    0
    4
See reviews for
5
34
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great second stay. Ive already recommended it to numerous friends who have also loved it! Bruce is extremely helpful in answering any questions and giving advice. The location is superb and the area in general is very safe and welcoming. The amazing prices make it possible to come to this great city again and again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This place is great for people going to NYC to discover the city.
If you are a "common" tourist you do not expect to spend manyhours in your hotel, you will be out and just want a nice place to come back and rest, if that is your case this place is a good option.
LOCATION IS AMAZING and the reason I returned to this place, and I'm glad I did since I was there during a severe heat wave and the place allowed us to come back even twice a day to take a break and refresh ourselves.
Times Sq is like 5 blocks away, same than Grand Central terminal.
My reason to the 4 points is during the first days Bruce was not in the place, and everything was kind of dirty and not so well organized, once he was back the place was back on track.
The other reason is the bathroom for the back rooms, faucet is still broken but this time was harder to get a nice temperature of the water, either we were burning or freezing, so it always took some time to find the right spot for the temperature. Since is broken faucet worked in the opposite direction indicated by the sticker, so it was difficult and sometimes when available we just tried to used the other bathroom.
Rooms are small but this is NYC and eveything is crowded in here!
Overall I would return to this place because Bruce is great, LOCATION IS AWESOME which allows you to take advantage of your time better and the price is great given the fact you are in Manhattan! for this price I bet you can only get something at the bronx or queens.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are smaller but quieter. Rooms in the fron of the building are a bit larger but n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Sutton. All the rooms are small, but very clean and well maintained. Our bed was soft and cozy. Nice wall to wall carpet throughout the building. Bruce the owner is very friendly and helpful. The location was in the heart of the city, and the price was right for our needs. My wife and I highly recommend the Sutton and we plan to return on our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The Sutton Residence is the perfect place to stay. Located in the heart of Manhattan you have all the most famous attractions within a walkin distance, and for the others the subway stop is 5 minutes.

The place is very cheap for ney york prices but it's very comfortable. There is a common living room and kitchen for everyone to use with fridge, microwave, Tv, internet.
Bruce, the owner is very kind and helpful, he is always ready to give you suggestions and advices.

We were there for 3 days and really enjoyed our stay. We also had a problem with our trip and we could count on Bruce's help!
If travelling again to NY we will definitely come back here.
We have to say we felt like home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buna, Tx
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The sutton residence was a perfect fit for my recent trip to the city. The location and price were exactly what I was looking for! The manager Bruce was helpful and accommodating but never intrusive. I highly recommend that you consider the sutton residence. It is actually an apartment with 5 available rooms for rent. There are 3 bathrooms to share. The place was clean and comfortable. I will admit the beds were a little hard and the bar downstairs was a little noisy but those things would not deter me from choosing it again. Thank you Bruce for helping to make my trip to the city amazing!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The Residence is in fact a large apartment with kitchen, living room, 3 bathrooms and six bedrooms. It is located over a barbershop and a small café/bar on 47th Street (corner Lexington) very close to Grand Central Station. There are plenty of parking lots around, the cheapest ones being on 46th St. between 1st & 2nd Ave. Expect to pay around $35/24hr in that area unless you have a discount coupon (available on the internet).

Reservations were made through internet. Confirmation came back quickly within 24 hrs. A week before the date of arrival, our room was reconfirmed. Note that payment must be in cash only. Upon arrival, we were greeted very nicely by Bruce. He showed us to our air-conditioned and very clean room and let us settle in. Located at the front of the building, the room itself contained only a comfortable double bed and a night table with four thick towels on it. No television or any other amenities. A chair would however have been useful. The bathroom right near door had a large shower.

Later, Bruce gave us the keys (front and bedroom doors) and explained the set-up. We had access to the kitchen (fridge, stove, microwave) and living room, and could use the t.v., phone (local calls) and computer. Note that there is no room service (make your own bed).

We slept well considering that we were in the center of Manhattan. Traffic was very reasonable in the evening and did not overly disturb us. Earplugs are still a good precaution as there is a small bar underneath and one can hear the music and the people talking loudly sometimes. The use of the kitchen was a godsend since food can be expensive in Manhattan. Overall, the place is comfortable, reasonably priced and extremely well-situated near restaurants, buses, etc. Really a good value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sutton Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sutton Residence

Address: Lexington Avenue and 47th Street, New York City, NY
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Sutton Residence Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sutton Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.