We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“22.95 :- 3 course lunch special” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basso56

Basso56
234 West 56 Street, Between 8th Avenue & Broadway, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)
212-265-2610
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 11,597 restaurants in New York City
Price range: $1 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Bendigo, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“22.95 :- 3 course lunch special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We ate here twice at lunch time because there was so much food ( free bruschetta, olives and bread) plus your 3 courses. Service was excellent!! Food was delicious!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    786
    311
    101
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Best in New York”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the best Italian restaurant in New York ! Excellent food, great service and wonderful wines ! What's more ? Cheers !

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“New standard of service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We braved some nasty weather to try this restaurant. We were treated to an outstanding meal. The selections were unique, and everyone in our group of 5 had fabulous meals. Even after the meal out hosts made sure we got home despite the terrible weather. This place really makes you feel welcome and appreciated.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“good food, better service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I picked this restaurant because it fared well in Tripadvisor. I now am going to contribute to that picture, but probably not the way one would expect.

First, the food. We learned that the chef is the owner and that he is from Rome. We had the following items and found all to be good food, well prepared: homemade burrata wrapped with prosciutto and warmed in the oven, seafood risotto, porcini mushroom risotto, grilled salmon, pan roasted duck breast.

Second, the service. Wioletta (9 years in the US from Poland) was our waitress. She understands the purpose of service and the balance a good server must find between unavailability and hovering. In between one finds attentive service. Wioletta was there, all night.

Third, what one would never expect. It was pouring last night. We could not find a taxi, so we walked from 48th and Lex to the restaurant. We arrived soaked. We asked Wioletta if the restaurant could secure a taxi for us. She assurred us that we would have one. When it came time to leave, restaurant manager Alex was unable to secure a taxi for us (still raining). Nevertheless, Alex saw to it that we did not walk back to our hotel. Remarkable anywhere. In New York? Unimaginable. Thank you Alex.

We will return to Basso56.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent restaurant ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Went to Basso 56 on the last evening of our stay in New York. Had previously read good reviews on TA about this restaurant but did not take note of location, however it ended up being round the corner from our hotel. We reserved a table at around 11am the same day and very glad we did as it was very busy at ten time of our 7.30 reservation. From the moment we arrived the staff were attentive and helpful without being over the top. The complimentary bruschetta, olives and bread basket were a nice touch also. We ordered the filet mignon and the special of spaghetti and meatballs, with panna cotta and chocolate cake for dessert. All the dishes were delicious and well presented. We also had a bottle of wine and from the extensive list, which had price ranges to suit every budget. All in all, it was an excellent meal in a nice atmosphere at a great price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basso56 also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Basso56? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basso56, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.