We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Dinner the best in NYC!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basso56

Basso56
234 West 56 Street, Between 8th Avenue & Broadway, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)
+1 212-265-2610
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 11,181 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown
west palm beach
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Outstanding Dinner the best in NYC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We celebrated getting married in NYC and my sister's 70th Birthday.
The service and food was wonderful! We started out with grilled calamari which was delicious,
and plenty for the 3 of us. Then the main dishes arrived the pasta was perfect! The Veal awesome!
and of course dessert! A Must is the Crepes filled with warm chocolate YUM!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    935
    368
    115
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great gluten free pasta.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

The service was attentive, the gluten free pasta delicious. We were seeking options that were gluten free and were very impressed. Would definitely visit again when in NYC.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding service with attention to detail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

All the reviewers were in agreement about the food which is terrific . The most outstanding feature of this restaurant is the service from first greeting from the manager Alex, to the server Alexandra ( Sasha) , to the chef owner Paulo. Our server was very attentive to our needs as she would constantly observe our table from a safe distance to make sure everything was OK. The was no drop the food and run. The host Alex was wiping off the menus as they were returned to the front , pouring wine when the glasses were low and generally well attentive to what was going on in the restaurant. We loved this place so much that we dined there two nights in a row. They also offer gluten free options and pay special attention to allergies. Great reasonable wine selections as well.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“By chance,, big surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Just arrived in NYC, searched in trpadvisior for a nice italian restaurant and we ended in this very small but excellent restaurant. Without any need for reservation we had an excellent italian meal (even better than many meals that we have had in italy). Try the dish of the day and have a nice glass of good wine and you won't be disappointed. For a dinner of two expect a $120 USD bill but you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Convenient, tasty, and good value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My girlfriend and I were around Columbus Circle and wanted a nice lunch and found this restaurant via TA. Niether the reviews or the restaurant let us down. There was a very tasty menu that was very good value... Some traditional Italian dishes and also something a little different available too. I would definitely go back if in the area and fancying a little taste if Italy! The service was fantastic, very friendly and informative staff.

But! Be aware of which side of the street you need to be on (south) there is another restaurant on the north side that is very similar and could be easily confused... We went to the wrong one first!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basso56 also viewed

 

Been to Basso56? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basso56, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.