We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous food and lovely atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basso56

Basso56
234 West 56 Street, Between 8th Avenue & Broadway, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)
+1 212-265-2610
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 11,776 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $1 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food and lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My husband and I dined here on our last night in NYC. We arrived a little early and stumbled across barbasso across the road and had a cocktail before going on to dinner. I assume that the bar was also run by the same people as the cocktail list at Basso56 is the same as at bar basso.

We decided on just ordering a main (me the seafood risotto and my husband the pasta with sausage meat and broccoli.) A plate of yummy bruschetta was also brought out with compliments which was very tasty.) My risotto was full of seafood and was very tasty. My husband loved his pasta and said that he could have eaten more (i'm going to have a go at trying to recreate it!)

The restaurant is smallish but the service was very attentive and we really enjoyed our meal. I would recommend this (and bar basso) to anyone wanting a nice Italian meal in NYC.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    881
    349
    109
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Love Basso56 and the service was perfect. My husband and I both enjoyed our meal here. We had the fried artichoke and zuchinni appetizer and it was really good. I had a seafood risotto special that was perfect. My husband had veal marsala and he really liked it. We had so much food that we couldn't order dessert but they brought us complimentary lemoncello which was a great way to end our meal.

The restaurant is small but typical of midtown restaurants in size. Tables are close but it is part of the atmosphere when dining in NYC and we love it. The service we received was top notch!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Had to wait 15 min more after reserved time, gave us a round of complimentary drinks for the waiting. That is client attention and service. Food was excellent. Scalops appetizer was a whole dinner and tasty. Had lobster involtino, superb. Did not want dessert because of too much food, they brough a complimentary panna cota anyhow, very nice. Rest. is a little bid small with small table, service was perfect. All staff were happy and is contagious. Will be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Service and Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This charming Italian restaurant is such a treat. By far the best service I have ever experienced in Manhattan. Daily specials are truly special...seasonal and always fresh. The wine list is fantastic. this is a place that goes out of its way to give you memorable dining pleasure.
Please enjoy this lovely setting and great service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Small and noisy...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

...but the food is spectacular. One of our new favorites in our travels and only second to falafel in Paris. The restaurant is small and sometimes a tight fit. Service is exceptional, value is pretty good. Will go there again (several more times I suspect).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basso56 also viewed

New York City, NY
 

Been to Basso56? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basso56, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.