We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Max Brenner, Chocolate by the Bald Man

Max Brenner, Chocolate by the Bald Man
841 Broadway, Ste 302, New York City, NY 10003-4704 (Greenwich Village)
646-467-8800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Max Brenner, Chocolate by the Bald Man is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #84 of 11,599 restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Bakery, Dessert, Ice Cream, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Greenwich Village
Cross street: Between 13th and 14th Streets
Transit: L, N, R, Q, W, 4, 5 & 6 trains to 14th Street/Union Square.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Was recommended by a couple of friends who live in new york to come here for dessert as it was my best friends birthday. We got seated pretty quickly considering the amount of people waiting for a table. Their dessert choices are really unique! I had the popsicle thing to dip in chocolate, chocolate mini balls and nuts i think? It was great! My friend ordered a panini and the fries that came with it was awesome. Our server was really upbeat and fun.

All in all, good place and worth the visit!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    405
    231
    87
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Sweet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I enjoyed everything! From drinks to appetizer, dinner and desserts...... Just delectable! This is a tourist spot but still so worth it for locals. Friendly NYC staff (for all of you out there who thought that didn't exist) you must try this place even if its for drinks and desserts!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston SC
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Pricey but so indulgent!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stopped in for dessert, and wow. The peanut butter & banana crepe is out of this world. It is pricey, but if you like over the top desserts, this is the place for you!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Grrrreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I had pizza (quite big) and was very good in a Italian kind of way( thin pie and not a lot of cheese).
For desert (or main course according to their philosophy)
A large cookie... Very good (melted chocolate filling)...
Worth every penny and calories...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Eat somewhere else”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

There are so many places to eat in NY, this one we squeezed in and were disappointed. I think there's a lot of hype for not much result. We had spinach dip, the chips were stale and nothing special about the dip...I could have made it at home. Then we had the chocolate fondue. The heating element went off twice and we decided it didn't do very much anyway. The chocolate was fine...we had milk and dark. The items to dip it in we're a disappointment especially the stale brownie (at least I think it was a brownie). Kids will think this is a fun stop...slightly Willy Wonkaish

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Max Brenner, Chocolate by the Bald Man also viewed

 

Been to Max Brenner, Chocolate by the Bald Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Max Brenner, Chocolate by the Bald Man, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.