We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't even know it was there” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Max Brenner, Chocolate by the Bald Man

Max Brenner, Chocolate by the Bald Man
841 Broadway, Ste 302, New York City, NY 10003-4704 (Greenwich Village)
646-467-8800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Max Brenner, Chocolate by the Bald Man is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #171 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Bakery, Dessert, Ice Cream, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Greenwich Village
Cross street: Between 13th and 14th Streets
Transit: L, N, R, Q, W, 4, 5 & 6 trains to 14th Street/Union Square.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Didn't even know it was there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We happen to stumble across Max Brenner while walking down Broadway to go see The Blue Man Group. We were hungry and hot (it was about 95 out), saw the menu and walked in. Having not heard of the restaurant before we were surprised that it was a chocolate themed restaurant.

The sweet smell of chocolate greets you right away as you walk through the door. We wanted lunch so we asked for a table. They accept reservations but we had none. Even on a busy Saturday afternoon, they seated us anyway, right away.

The menu offers breakfast all day as well as other lunch and dinner items. They also offer a "sweet menu", that has concoctions such as chocolate pizza and things like that. We had regular food. The burger was very good as was the Margarita Panini ordered by my daughter.

We were a little ruched for time so desert was out of the question. However, we came back after the show for a couple of shakes. Wow. The choice is large and very creative. I don't remember which we had but both of us were really happy with our choices.

The service was very friendly but lunch was a little slow in coming. I figured that it was a busy Saturday afternoon and was to be somewhat expected. That and the fact that we had no reservations, kept me calm about the wait. Regardless our server was very apologetic.

Max Brenner was a nice surprise. We will go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    482
    287
    104
    28
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“OMG! Died and gone to chocolate heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

If you've never been to a "Bald Man," you've got to go! Not only are the sweets divine, but the entrees as equally as good. Be sure to check out the fish tacos. There are even lots of options for kids. If you go, be sure to get a milkshake in one of their cool glasses that you can purchase from their gift shop when you leave. The banana split waffle is INCREDIBLE!!! My 6YO daughter absolutely adored the mac & cheese and the vanilla popcicle that comes with three dipping options. SOOOOOOO good! Ideally located just south of Union Square. Nearby street parking easy to find.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“The Bald Man is a Winner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

With a brief wait--and the offer to text us, when our table was ready, as we wandered the neighborhood, excellent service and a non-chocolate selection that was more than adequate, I heartily enjoyed the Bald Man's Emporium!
I understand that the line is usually a mad house with a l-o-n-g wait but we went at an odd hour so it was not that crowded. The multi-level ambiance is deliberately frenetic to appeal to the multi-tasking usually-young, overstimulated crowd. This adds to the fun, however.
Needless to say, they attract a lot of tourists but they probably get a lot of NYU students, as well.
Of course, you can't go without having some of their deserts or main course sweets, which people main line. I had a great time there. It is certainly a venue that should be on your short list.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, New York
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Incredible, unique, and so trendy:)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We made a reservation at open table for brunch on a Sunday around 10(great time before the rush). We ordered the chocolate pancakes, chocolate crepes with carmelized bananas and peanut butter, and a waffle. Wow! Every morsel was so delicious we did not want it to end. The restaurant is in the union square area which was perfect! This is a must try restaurant with kids, friends, or a date. There was not one thing that was not fantastic! Is it a little pricey? Some things... Yes. but overall worth the flavor, experience, and ambiance. My suggestion would be to get two things a share...too many great choices.
Reservations are encouraged for sure. You will not be disappointed. This is my fifth time when we visit the city and we get the same experience every time. Enjoy this mouthwatering delight!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Can't stop thinking about this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I love the way the food is served here. Presentation is awesome...like the kids burger comes with a paint brush for ketchup. Definitely recommend the mac & cheese it's amazing...also the chocolate marshmallow pizza with hazelnut. My daughter & her friend 9yrs old loved the ice cream bars that you dip in chocolate....Definitely make a reservation and don't miss it !!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Max Brenner, Chocolate by the Bald Man also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
 

Been to Max Brenner, Chocolate by the Bald Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Max Brenner, Chocolate by the Bald Man, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.