We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice...perfect location.. polished” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AKA Times Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added AKA Times Square to your Saves list
AKA Times Square
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   123 West 44th Street, Between 6th & Broadway, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Atlanta-GA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice...perfect location.. polished”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Rented 1 bedroom ..if staying in Manhattan for 1 week or more with a toddler.. stay here.. We can wash our clothes.. cook meals. Room was clean and a groovy patio.

PERFECT LOCATION

Just realize this. This is time square. It is busy and crowded 365 days a year 24 hours a day.

Some days can be a little loud.. but this is TIMES SQUARE! Rooms were quiet and insulated enough...
I would definitely stay here again..
Grocery store, Walgreens and everything is near by. Toys R us.. half a block.. no complaints

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    112
    22
    4
    8
See reviews for
114
126
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coolangatta, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed here in April/May 2014 for seven nights for the second time. WE love the room to move we had a one bedroom apartment with a separate kitchen dining room(67 squares which is big in New York). AKA is convenient to Times Square and plenty of good restaurants. Having a gym and a rooftop with hot coffee or tea in the mornings is great. As always we found the staff helpful.
Out is great having a full size refrigerator, washing machine and dryer.

Room Tip: Go for the one bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

we ususally stay in hotels when in nyc but this time - travelling with the whole family of six - instead of booking three rooms in a pricy hotel we opted for a more family friendly alternative and found the aka via google.
the location can not be beaten: close to times square (please be aware that there are mre than one aka in nyc, one is very close to central park for example, we stayed at the aka times square) but not too noisy and relatively relaxing.
check-in was VERY efficient and the receptionists are knowledgable and super nice. they offered help in every possible way and booked tickets for us in no time and were very helpful.
the apartments can be booked with daily housekeeping services or without, the latter option meaning that housekeeping only attens to your room every 3 days which is enough when staying for a week. if anything is dirty or missing just call reception and they will bring you what you need anyway.
one day the air con wasn't working properly but was fixed instantly.
the apartments come with a washer and dryer which are perfect for a longer stay.
we had a one bedroom studio facing the street for two of us and a two bedroom suite for the remaining four family members. the bigger apartment had only one bathroom which is not too expansiive so getting all four of them ready in the morning took a while.
except for the studios all other apartments have windows facing other buildings so they are very dark even during the day.

apart from the missing daylight the bigger apartments are just geeat for a family with a big kitchen area including fridge, toaster, stove, dishwasher and coffee maker.

the gym is not worth mentioning, the aka could definitely improve here.

definitely worth considering when travelling with the family or for a longer stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

husband and I stayed here for 8 nights in May. It was convenient to Bryant Park and the subway. Rooms were large and modern, with everything you need. washing machine, dryer, and of course the kitchen. It saved having to find a breakfast place in the morning and take it easy in the morning! would stay here again if visiting New York city.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Jubail, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in Aka Times Square between 22nd till 26th May 2014 with my family (2 adults and 3 children). And I can describe my stay there as expected and more!! The staff (specially Cynthia) was friendly and helpful. The apartment was clean and furniture was almost new. The proximity of the hotel around Times Square attraction made it perfect fit for people enjoying NYC.
I loved my stay and definitely will stay again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

If you are looking at a longer stay or if you are traveling with large size family, AKA is a great place to consider. Its suites of 1/2 bedroom are perfect places to stay in Times Square. I was on a business trip and stayed here for 4 nights. It was lovely stay and I will definitely stay here when I am back in NYC next.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I stayed here with my mum and siblings in December 2013 for 7 nights in a two bedroom apartment. During this time it was super cold in NY and snowing quite heavily. Having AKA to come home to was the best. it was warm, cosy, modern and lovely. The staff always greeted you morning or night and it smelt like hot apples and cinnamon constantly. The room itself cannot be faulted The beds were comfortable, the heating worked wonderfully and the there were 3 tv's (important for us considering we all like to watch different things!)

The kitchen was also great as after several nights traveling you dont exactly feel like going out, so it's nice to be able to cook for yourself or at least warm something up in the comfort of your own apartment.

The only thing that may bother some people is the lack of window light. All rooms have windows but they are not very big. This wasnt an issue for us but may be for some.

Finally, the location is what really makes it. Don't let the fact that it is situated in times square put you off, its in a quiet theatre lane which is busy enough that you dont feel unsafe but quiet enough that it doesnt affect you in the room. It's a 5 minute walk to bryant park which is also a lovely hang out. Times square, rockefeller, moma, grand central, magnolia, duane reade, 5th and 6th avenue shopping are all within walking distance. In fact, we walked home from central park a couple of times and probably would have walked even further had it not been so cold!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AKA Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA Times Square

Address: 123 West 44th Street, Between 6th & Broadway, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 185 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — AKA Times Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AKA balances the style and hospitality of an intimate hotel with the space and comfort of a fully appointed luxury condominium. Recognized for long stay comfort and value, AKA stands for unparalleled metropolitan locations; contemporary design; and exceptional business, fitness, and lifestyle services.AKA Times Square is located in the heart of the theater district, surrounded by the vibrant spirit of New York City's Times Square neighborhood. Just steps from Sixth Avenue's business corridor, ours is a superb location for business travelers as well as visitors seeking the best of Manhattan’s dining, entertainment and nightlife scene. AKA Times Square provides a perfect environment for stays of a week or longer, offering 105 total apartment residences, including spacious studios, one and two bedroom suites and duplex penthouses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your AKA Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka Times Square Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AKA Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.