We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AKA Times Square

Save Saved
You added AKA Times Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
AKA Times Square
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   123 West 44th Street, Between 6th & Broadway, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Al Jubail, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in Aka Times Square between 22nd till 26th May 2014 with my family (2 adults and 3 children). And I can describe my stay there as expected and more!! The staff (specially Cynthia) was friendly and helpful. The apartment was clean and furniture was almost new. The proximity of the hotel around Times Square attraction made it perfect fit for people enjoying NYC.
I loved my stay and definitely will stay again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    108
    22
    4
    8
See reviews for
112
119
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

If you are looking at a longer stay or if you are traveling with large size family, AKA is a great place to consider. Its suites of 1/2 bedroom are perfect places to stay in Times Square. I was on a business trip and stayed here for 4 nights. It was lovely stay and I will definitely stay here when I am back in NYC next.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I stayed here with my mum and siblings in December 2013 for 7 nights in a two bedroom apartment. During this time it was super cold in NY and snowing quite heavily. Having AKA to come home to was the best. it was warm, cosy, modern and lovely. The staff always greeted you morning or night and it smelt like hot apples and cinnamon constantly. The room itself cannot be faulted The beds were comfortable, the heating worked wonderfully and the there were 3 tv's (important for us considering we all like to watch different things!)

The kitchen was also great as after several nights traveling you dont exactly feel like going out, so it's nice to be able to cook for yourself or at least warm something up in the comfort of your own apartment.

The only thing that may bother some people is the lack of window light. All rooms have windows but they are not very big. This wasnt an issue for us but may be for some.

Finally, the location is what really makes it. Don't let the fact that it is situated in times square put you off, its in a quiet theatre lane which is busy enough that you dont feel unsafe but quiet enough that it doesnt affect you in the room. It's a 5 minute walk to bryant park which is also a lovely hang out. Times square, rockefeller, moma, grand central, magnolia, duane reade, 5th and 6th avenue shopping are all within walking distance. In fact, we walked home from central park a couple of times and probably would have walked even further had it not been so cold!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed here in April 2014 and were a party of 4. My husband, 11 month old baby, my mother and myself. We were all impressed by its convenient location to theatres and Times Square. We enjoyed seeing a few musicals and shows and were able to walk out of the doors and locate theatres very easily. Very close to 42 nd St Subway to get around too.
As NYC accommodation can be expensive we intended to stay in a one bedroom apartment with myself, husband and baby in the bedroom and my mum on a pull out lounge. We were very glad that there was a pull out sleeper in den/study that provided extra privacy for my mother. The kitchen and was well equipped and even a washer and dryer to do some laundry was great.
We stayed on level 8 and it was fairly quiet except for a few evenings when there was some work being carried out on the street.
When we arrived the doormen was very attentive and the concierge too. In our room, there was music playing and a welcome note. We had requested a baby cot and that too was set up in our room. We had preordered a welcome pack of food, drink and snacks as this was waiting for us. These little things were lovely after an afternoon of driving back (then returning the car) from a side trip to the Hamptons.
As we travelled in April, the thermostat in the room was set to warm so it was, at times too hot in our room. As it was effecting our sleep, we had to let concierge know. After returning home, a portable air conditioner was put into our room and enabled us to get a good rest.
Overall we had a great holiday and the location and attentiveness of the hotel and its staff added to this experience. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Hotel was not ready at check in time. Even though hotel staff were apologetic but it did not help me especially when I was travelling with a child. I stayed in one BR apartment. Rooms are small and very poorly designed. Bedroom is very small. Bathroom is very small with no shelf to keep things. Poorly lit rooms. It did not seem worth the price. I definitely would not stay here again. I would consider suites in hotels that could be available for similar price.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, Usa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Had a one bedroom apartment which was very modern, clean and sizeable. The front office staff were friendly and helpful. Would thoroughly recommend this accommodation to anyone visitng NY particularly for an extended stay. We stayed for 7 nights. Very conveniently located

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

This Hotel is not too bad,our room had a small kitchen and laundry but it is very dark and cold feeling. The staff are very pleasant the rooms are very small and the whole apartment is badly designed. We visit NYC a bit and feel that the Hotel will not be my first choice when next in NYC.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AKA Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA Times Square

Address: 123 West 44th Street, Between 6th & Broadway, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 184 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — AKA Times Square 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AKA balances the style and hospitality of an intimate hotel with the space and comfort of a fully appointed luxury condominium. Recognized for long stay comfort and value, AKA stands for unparalleled metropolitan locations; contemporary design; and exceptional business, fitness, and lifestyle services.AKA Times Square is located in the heart of the theater district, surrounded by the vibrant spirit of New York City's Times Square neighborhood. Just steps from Sixth Avenue's business corridor, ours is a superb location for business travelers as well as visitors seeking the best of Manhattan’s dining, entertainment and nightlife scene. AKA Times Square provides a perfect environment for stays of a week or longer, offering 105 total apartment residences, including spacious studios, one and two bedroom suites and duplex penthouses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your AKA Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka Times Square Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AKA Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.