We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AKA Times Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added AKA Times Square to your Saves list
AKA Times Square
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   123 West 44th Street, Between 6th & Broadway, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Devonport, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed 10 nights here. I have to say when we first arrived at the AKA I was a little disappointed. The room was nothing like the photos showed, we found out later that the photos on the internet weren't actually of this particular hotel, which I think is a little deceiving. Anyway after i got over all that I really grew to love it. The washing machine and dryer are a godsend when you are travelling and there wouldn't be many hotels in New York that have those. The location is just brilliant, literally two minutes walk to Times Square, walking distance to the bus depot the pick up points for the Hop on Hop off busses, 10 to 15 minute walk to Central park. It is just the perfect spot. Even though it's close to Times Square, it was surprisingly fairly quiet. Lots of little restaurants in the street. The staff were lovely and very helpful. The only downside is the rooms aren't serviced everyday, but with the washer and dryer I just washed my own towels everyday. I would definitely stay there again. We've only been home just over a week and really miss it. The bed was hard though.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    112
    22
    4
    8
See reviews for
114
126
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey
Top Contributor
295 reviews 295 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
308 helpful votes 308 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My wife and I were staying at the Sofitel New York also on 44th street.

Last Thursday night my wife was treating me to a show on Broadway - The Lion King.

We were all dressed up and walking towards Times Square on 44th street when suddenly it started to rain heavily.

We took shelter under the AKA hotel canopy and were discussing how we could get to the Minskoff Theatre without getting wet. We didnt want a cab as it was only about two blocks away but the rain was torrential.

I was just about to return to the Sofitel ( a block away) when the AKA doorman came out, gave us an AKA umbrella and sent us on our way. I promised to return the umbrella on returning from the show BUt he insisted on us keeping it.

It was a very generous gesture and got us out of a sticky situation. Other people arrived at the show looking like drowned rats whilst we arrived dry and beaming from such an unselfish gesture.

Thank you mystery doorman.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

A good experience from start to finish. Was going to spend one night at AKA on the way back from Chicago and could not stay there on the way through as they were fully booked. They were very accommodating in storing luggage for 4 nights before arrival. Reception was good and professional. Moved all luggage up into rooms when they were ready and we were out to lunch. the rooms are clean, well appointed and also have a kitchenette. AKA is also situated just off Time Square, so very central.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on the first leg of our honeymoon. We ordered a car to pick us up; this was done via email with the hotel and the service was excellent. On arrival, we were told about the nearest convenience store so went and stocked up. Everything here is 24 hours so whether you need toilet roll or beer, it's available ALL the time. They helped us book a few tours and excursions and pointed us in the direction of the near AT&T so we could get a data plan and use Google Maps when out.

There weren't any towels when we went up to the room but a quick phone call and about 400 fresh fluffy towels arrived within 3 minutes! Champagne and a personalised note in the room congratulating us was a wonderful touch. The appartment was huge, with a study area as well! So many cupboards, appliances, TVs... The only let down was some small spots of mildew in the bathroom but you can see it was as clean as they could get it so thats wasn't bad. Really if that's the worst thing to say about a hotel, you're doing well.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed from Aug 25 to Sept 1. If you are looking to stay right in the middle of the sewer that is NY/ Times Square then you wont get better that that the AKA. It is literally (Americans love this word)100 meters from Times Square and close to Dwayne Reade (basic groceries), all the top Theatres and the Hop On / Hop Off is also within a 15 minute walk. However the hotel itself seems a bit tired and run. Our room although a good size for NY was grotty with a dirty floor as evidenced by dark black marks on our socks after 5 minutes, dirt stains on the mat, grease and grime in the kitchen caused by previous occupants using the hot plates - I suppose we never felt really clean. One of our windows was stuck open and I had to stuff a towel in the gap to close it off to the outside. The washer / dryer is a huge bonus as you will want to wash your clothes after a day on the streets of NY. The hotel has no bar or lounge area where you can sit and have a quiet drink or coffee at the end of the day and chat with other travellers. Other than one guy called Kevin who was very good most of the staff had that typical NY attitude of "do you mind not bothering me" if we had to ask a question etc. Don't get me wrong if NY is on your bucket list then you must go, but a word of warning, unless you are staying with family / friends then 5 days is plenty to see all the famous must do sites as if you stay any longer (we stayed 7) the noise, the traffic, the construction, the masses of people, the rubbish on the streets, the vomit, the sewerage smells, and the homeless people will wear you down. When we first arrived we would be out daily for 12 hours but by the end of the week we were glad to have the sanctuary of our room (such as it was) to fall back on and our days finished much earlier. In the end we were glad to be moving on to our next stop (Washington). A much better idea is to add a couple of extra days to Boston / Washington if that's the way your going.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We just recently stayed here in a one bedroom apt. It is large for New York standards which was great after a long day in the crowds. The apt is equipped with everything you would need! Best was having the washer and dryer! It is not a large building which made the waits for the elevators minimal and the desk staff available. The location is great only a half a block from Times Square. The street it's on is not busy either. Would definitely return if we ever make our way back to New York :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Our room living room had 3 windows overlooking our street. They shopped for us before we arrived and left our desired snacks in our kitchen and our refrigerator. Our cool bathroom had a washer and dryer (soap was there for the washer). We had two televisions that included HBO.
The bed and couch were very comfortable. The front desk staff were great. They provided us with a subway map and directions. We were close to the six Broadway shows we went to and walked both ways.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AKA Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA Times Square

Address: 123 West 44th Street, Between 6th & Broadway, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 185 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — AKA Times Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AKA balances the style and hospitality of an intimate hotel with the space and comfort of a fully appointed luxury condominium. Recognized for long stay comfort and value, AKA stands for unparalleled metropolitan locations; contemporary design; and exceptional business, fitness, and lifestyle services.AKA Times Square is located in the heart of the theater district, surrounded by the vibrant spirit of New York City's Times Square neighborhood. Just steps from Sixth Avenue's business corridor, ours is a superb location for business travelers as well as visitors seeking the best of Manhattan’s dining, entertainment and nightlife scene. AKA Times Square provides a perfect environment for stays of a week or longer, offering 105 total apartment residences, including spacious studios, one and two bedroom suites and duplex penthouses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your AKA Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka Times Square Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AKA Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.