We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The "AKA" was just "OK" in my opinion.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of AKA Times Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added AKA Times Square to your Saves list
AKA Times Square
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   123 West 44th Street, Between 6th & Broadway, New York City, NY 10036   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The "AKA" was just "OK" in my opinion.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed from Aug 25 to Sept 1. If you are looking to stay right in the middle of the sewer that is NY/ Times Square then you wont get better that that the AKA. It is literally (Americans love this word)100 meters from Times Square and close to Dwayne Reade (basic groceries), all the top Theatres and the Hop On / Hop Off is also within a 15 minute walk. However the hotel itself seems a bit tired and run. Our room although a good size for NY was grotty with a dirty floor as evidenced by dark black marks on our socks after 5 minutes, dirt stains on the mat, grease and grime in the kitchen caused by previous occupants using the hot plates - I suppose we never felt really clean. One of our windows was stuck open and I had to stuff a towel in the gap to close it off to the outside. The washer / dryer is a huge bonus as you will want to wash your clothes after a day on the streets of NY. The hotel has no bar or lounge area where you can sit and have a quiet drink or coffee at the end of the day and chat with other travellers. Other than one guy called Kevin who was very good most of the staff had that typical NY attitude of "do you mind not bothering me" if we had to ask a question etc. Don't get me wrong if NY is on your bucket list then you must go, but a word of warning, unless you are staying with family / friends then 5 days is plenty to see all the famous must do sites as if you stay any longer (we stayed 7) the noise, the traffic, the construction, the masses of people, the rubbish on the streets, the vomit, the sewerage smells, and the homeless people will wear you down. When we first arrived we would be out daily for 12 hours but by the end of the week we were glad to have the sanctuary of our room (such as it was) to fall back on and our days finished much earlier. In the end we were glad to be moving on to our next stop (Washington). A much better idea is to add a couple of extra days to Boston / Washington if that's the way your going.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    115
    22
    4
    8
See reviews for
116
131
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BC
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We just recently stayed here in a one bedroom apt. It is large for New York standards which was great after a long day in the crowds. The apt is equipped with everything you would need! Best was having the washer and dryer! It is not a large building which made the waits for the elevators minimal and the desk staff available. The location is great only a half a block from Times Square. The street it's on is not busy either. Would definitely return if we ever make our way back to New York :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Our room living room had 3 windows overlooking our street. They shopped for us before we arrived and left our desired snacks in our kitchen and our refrigerator. Our cool bathroom had a washer and dryer (soap was there for the washer). We had two televisions that included HBO.
The bed and couch were very comfortable. The front desk staff were great. They provided us with a subway map and directions. We were close to the six Broadway shows we went to and walked both ways.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Our suite is large with king-size bed in a queen-sized bedroom, but very comfortable. Great amenities, separate study, free wifi, nice and quiet. Lovely thick towels and they seem to only clean the rooms every few days. Housekeeping forgot to vacuum before we checked in and although I asked twice, it took 'till the third day before it was vacuumed. Although we had prepaid, we were recharged at check-in but this was refunded later when the error was discovered.

Room Tip: They all seem the same but not sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is the perfect location - tucked in enough from Broadway so that it is much quieter when you return to the apartment/condo and yet so close to the "action" just down the street at Times Square. A very safe area. Great for our family in summer and we also came for New Year's Eve. We could see the ball drop from our window and be down the street for all the action too. Perfect location for a stay with teenagers. Shopping at Forever 21 is around the corner and open until 2:00 am! We like the ability to stock the fridge a little and not eat out for every meal or just have snacks and beverages on hand. It's a minimalist environment, but clean and much more space than any hotel room you would find that close to Times Square - or maybe anywhere. Nice, courteous staff as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for in a 2 bedroom apartment for 10 nights with our teenage daughter and would recommend this apartment hotel to anyone. The apartment was to be serviced just once while we were here so we paid for an extra service to be done. We loved the fact it had a washer and dryer in the apartment and a full kitchen however the kitchen wasn't used as there are so many great restaurants close by. The staff were also very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This was my first time in New York and celebrated my 55th birthday here with my husband. Location fantastic. Theatres, Time Square and Bryant Park for relaxing all close by. Spacious apartment with kitchen and washing facilities very handy. Next time I would ask for a floor higher up as its pretty noisy early on the weekday mornings (we were on the 3rd floor). Would definitely come back.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AKA Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA Times Square

Address: 123 West 44th Street, Between 6th & Broadway, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 186 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — AKA Times Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AKA balances the style and hospitality of an intimate hotel with the space and comfort of a fully appointed luxury condominium. Recognized for long stay comfort and value, AKA stands for unparalleled metropolitan locations; contemporary design; and exceptional business, fitness, and lifestyle services.AKA Times Square is located in the heart of the theater district, surrounded by the vibrant spirit of New York City's Times Square neighborhood. Just steps from Sixth Avenue's business corridor, ours is a superb location for business travelers as well as visitors seeking the best of Manhattan’s dining, entertainment and nightlife scene. AKA Times Square provides a perfect environment for stays of a week or longer, offering 105 total apartment residences, including spacious studios, one and two bedroom suites and duplex penthouses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your AKA Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka Times Square Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AKA Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.