We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like really living in New York” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AKA Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added AKA Times Square to your Saves list
AKA Times Square
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   123 West 44th Street, Between 6th & Broadway, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Feels like really living in New York”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Best location ever, kind staff, loads of space, warm and functional. I could live here, could not have asked for more... Except I would equip the Apartment with those little essentials that make life easier such as washing liquid or a nice duvet instead of blankets. Overall fabulous.

Room Tip: Ask for atom on the back and a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    131
    24
    4
    10
See reviews for
132
143
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

While I am not a big fan of the Time Square area, I needed to stay close to meeting locations, so AKA Times Square was an excellent choice. Here are the key points:
* Location a block from Times Square
*Adjacent to a very nice French brasserie (convenient for breakfast)
* Units are modern and offer everything a leisure of business traveler would need (mine had a study, separate living/didning area, two level penthouse suite)
* one thing that may be an issue with NYC hotels in teh winter is heat - this residency had great heating system mainiating even temperature troughout both floors)
* Internet is available, however in some of teh rooms the connection seemed to be slower
*being a residency, AKA Times Square has a very relaxed feel and fast in/out access (especially if you are in a hurry for a meeting)
* my room was quiet given the higher floor

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

our family of 5 stayed at the AKA in January - the location was superb, the apartment clean & spacious, but most importantly the staff were great. Warm & friendly & very caring - our daughter became ill & the staff were extremely caring & concerned.

the business centre was a real bonus as well as the freshly brewed coffee & fruit that was available daily.

we would certainly recommend the AKA as a really warm, friendly home away from home!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Centrally located near Times Square so within easy access of most of NYC. Large bedroom with well equipped kitchen, small functional bathroom and a spare room with not much more than a chair and light. For those staying longer there is also in room washer/drier. Hotel also has a small business centre and small gym. Staff were all very friendly. Only issue is the overnight noise from garbage collectors, and the old style key lock was a surprise. In summary, if you do not need room service then why not opt for more space?

Room Tip: Get room not facing main road if that it possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We came to NY for only 5 days, wanted to check it out hoping it would be great since the pictures looked good and the reviews weren't too bad. Plus it had a washer/dryer and we are coming to NY in Sept for 2 weeks. Well we got there and the bathroom floor was very dirty, looked like the floor had not been washed since at least the last people there. Also I took off my shoes after walking around in the kitchen and bedroom my socks were full of hair and dirt! Just gross, I mean who wants to pay $350 per night for that. Also the linens were awful. Bed sheets were poor, I think they could do better since they are charging enough per night. The heater is another story, very loud and the room was cool when we got back so we would turn it on, was very noisy. Then we found out that it's an extra $25 for maid service!

Anyway, I recommend Hotel Meila over this hotel any day!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a business trip. I loved the location and the room. I can not wait to come back with my family. I really like the fact that they do not clean your room each day and that I have a kitchen. I would surely stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed for 1 week in December.
Pros
Smack in downtown Times Square, with Broadway theatres at your doorstep!
Convenient to subway.
Spacious studio with a separate den/study which was suitable for our adult daughter who had her own room.
Fantastic kitchen if you are into buying produce and cooking or even getting t/a food and bringing it back to eat which we did from Chelsea markets
Efficient heating as it was cold outside but we were nice and toasty in the apartment.
Great having your own washing machine and dryer.
Free coffee and tea from lounge and wi-fi all throughout with PCs and printer available in lounge.
wonderful staff
Cons
Noisy, noisy, noisy as our studio/bedroom was on 3rd floor and faced the street. Our daughter's den area was at the back and she slept fine.
Bathroom is a bit tired and pillows definitely need to be upgraded!
Unlike a hotel, apartment was only serviced once a week in the rate.

Room Tip: If you don't want to woken up every night by the garbage collectors, request apartment not facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to AKA Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA Times Square

Address: 123 West 44th Street, Between 6th & Broadway, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 185 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — AKA Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AKA balances the style and hospitality of an intimate hotel with the space and comfort of a fully appointed luxury condominium. Recognized for long stay comfort and value, AKA stands for unparalleled metropolitan locations; contemporary design; and exceptional business, fitness, and lifestyle services.AKA Times Square is located in the heart of the theater district, surrounded by the vibrant spirit of New York City's Times Square neighborhood. Just steps from Sixth Avenue's business corridor, ours is a superb location for business travelers as well as visitors seeking the best of Manhattan’s dining, entertainment and nightlife scene. AKA Times Square provides a perfect environment for stays of a week or longer, offering 105 total apartment residences, including spacious studios, one and two bedroom suites and duplex penthouses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your AKA Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka Times Square Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AKA Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.