We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It dirty! Bathroom floor and tub was dirty & bed room floor was filfy!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of AKA Times Square

Save Saved
You added AKA Times Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
AKA Times Square
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   123 West 44th Street, Between 6th & Broadway, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“It dirty! Bathroom floor and tub was dirty & bed room floor was filfy!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We came to NY for only 5 days, wanted to check it out hoping it would be great since the pictures looked good and the reviews weren't too bad. Plus it had a washer/dryer and we are coming to NY in Sept for 2 weeks. Well we got there and the bathroom floor was very dirty, looked like the floor had not been washed since at least the last people there. Also I took off my shoes after walking around in the kitchen and bedroom my socks were full of hair and dirt! Just gross, I mean who wants to pay $350 per night for that. Also the linens were awful. Bed sheets were poor, I think they could do better since they are charging enough per night. The heater is another story, very loud and the room was cool when we got back so we would turn it on, was very noisy. Then we found out that it's an extra $25 for maid service!

Anyway, I recommend Hotel Meila over this hotel any day!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    181
    107
    22
    4
    8
See reviews for
112
117
6
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a business trip. I loved the location and the room. I can not wait to come back with my family. I really like the fact that they do not clean your room each day and that I have a kitchen. I would surely stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed for 1 week in December.
Pros
Smack in downtown Times Square, with Broadway theatres at your doorstep!
Convenient to subway.
Spacious studio with a separate den/study which was suitable for our adult daughter who had her own room.
Fantastic kitchen if you are into buying produce and cooking or even getting t/a food and bringing it back to eat which we did from Chelsea markets
Efficient heating as it was cold outside but we were nice and toasty in the apartment.
Great having your own washing machine and dryer.
Free coffee and tea from lounge and wi-fi all throughout with PCs and printer available in lounge.
wonderful staff
Cons
Noisy, noisy, noisy as our studio/bedroom was on 3rd floor and faced the street. Our daughter's den area was at the back and she slept fine.
Bathroom is a bit tired and pillows definitely need to be upgraded!
Unlike a hotel, apartment was only serviced once a week in the rate.

Room Tip: If you don't want to woken up every night by the garbage collectors, request apartment not facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This was my 4th time in New York and 1st time staying at the AKA Hotel - which delivered on all levels.

Perfectly located next to Times Square (44th St), the AKA is a small hotel offering apartment style accommodation.

From the second my girlfriend and I arrived we were very impressed as all the staff were extremely warm, friendly and helpful. The apartment itself (studio w study) was also very impressive - modern, large and well laid out. The extra study provided us with enough space to keep all our luggage, freeing up the rest of the apartment. The bathroom was enormous and included a washer and dryer. The main area had a very comfortable queen sized bed, a small dining table and chairs, cable TV and a modern kitchen. The hotel also has complimentary coffee, internet and a small gym.

Overall, it was a great place to crash after a busy day or night. It was well positioned, well kept, well priced and employed good staff. I will definitely be recommending the AKA to family and friends.

Room Tip: The higher the better, but we weren't disturbed by noise (lvl 6)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

It's the perfect spot in New York City: rooms are spacious and big, clean, low number of rooms... so it's not like a big hotel, crowded all the time. It's a diamond in the middle of Times Square! Just a few steps from Toys R Us in a little quiet street. In a 3-minute walk, you're in Times Square; perfect location for tourists.
I've been to many other hotels in NYC but this one is way better than any other I've seen before because of the size of the rooms and how clean they are. However, last two times I was there, the ladies didn't clean it every day so it feels like you're living in your own modern apartment in the big apple. Therefore, you can buy your own things at the grocery store and put it in the fridge, cook your food... You can also wash your laundry. It really feels like you're at home!
Close to the subway station, stores and restaurants. Just a 15-minute walk to Macys and the Empire State.
I also shopped online and had the stuff delivered to the front desk and the staff were also very caring and aware that stuff might be coming at anytime.
I recommend it for families or a group of friends or for people who stay a little longer (like a week or more). You never wanna leave!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed for 9 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment. The place really ticked all the boxes.

Great location. Friendly and helpful staff. Great unit, modern, clean, large and well appointed.

We stayed in a room at the back on one of the higher levels. The minus is a view of some walls out the window, but the plus was peace and quiet.

The bathroom is a bit small, but this is really not an issue, given the rest of the apartment.

Room Tip: Our room was up high and at the back, others have mentioned noise, given the proximity to Times Squa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I stayed here with my husband for a week at the start of December. We were over the moon with our choice! The location is ideal 2mins walk from times square and 5mins walk from two of the main tube lines. The space you get is amazing and there have been post on here about it being too dark or the bathroom being too small but we didn't find that a problem. How much time do you spend in a bathroom!?! The complimentary smellies were lovely and handy extra touches like sachet of washing power and washing up sponge. The bed was huge and really comfy and the apartment was nice and warm. All the staff were a delight really friendly and helpfully.
The only minor disappointment was the front of the hotel was covered with scaffolding so we couldnt see out. This wasn't the end of the world though and didn't spoil our stay.
Overall would most definately recommend to anyone and we are hoping to stay there again next year. Totally amazing and worth the little bit extra money that if would cost for a minuscule hotel room. We <3 aka times square!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AKA Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA Times Square

Address: 123 West 44th Street, Between 6th & Broadway, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 184 Specialty lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — AKA Times Square 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AKA balances the style and hospitality of an intimate hotel with the space and comfort of a fully appointed luxury condominium. Recognized for long stay comfort and value, AKA stands for unparalleled metropolitan locations; contemporary design; and exceptional business, fitness, and lifestyle services.AKA Times Square is located in the heart of the theater district, surrounded by the vibrant spirit of New York City's Times Square neighborhood. Just steps from Sixth Avenue's business corridor, ours is a superb location for business travelers as well as visitors seeking the best of Manhattan’s dining, entertainment and nightlife scene. AKA Times Square provides a perfect environment for stays of a week or longer, offering 105 total apartment residences, including spacious studios, one and two bedroom suites and duplex penthouses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your AKA Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka Times Square Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AKA Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.