We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AKA Times Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added AKA Times Square to your Saves list
AKA Times Square
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   123 West 44th Street, Between 6th & Broadway, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Feels like home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

It's the perfect spot in New York City: rooms are spacious and big, clean, low number of rooms... so it's not like a big hotel, crowded all the time. It's a diamond in the middle of Times Square! Just a few steps from Toys R Us in a little quiet street. In a 3-minute walk, you're in Times Square; perfect location for tourists.
I've been to many other hotels in NYC but this one is way better than any other I've seen before because of the size of the rooms and how clean they are. However, last two times I was there, the ladies didn't clean it every day so it feels like you're living in your own modern apartment in the big apple. Therefore, you can buy your own things at the grocery store and put it in the fridge, cook your food... You can also wash your laundry. It really feels like you're at home!
Close to the subway station, stores and restaurants. Just a 15-minute walk to Macys and the Empire State.
I also shopped online and had the stuff delivered to the front desk and the staff were also very caring and aware that stuff might be coming at anytime.
I recommend it for families or a group of friends or for people who stay a little longer (like a week or more). You never wanna leave!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    126
    23
    4
    9
See reviews for
125
138
10
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed for 9 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment. The place really ticked all the boxes.

Great location. Friendly and helpful staff. Great unit, modern, clean, large and well appointed.

We stayed in a room at the back on one of the higher levels. The minus is a view of some walls out the window, but the plus was peace and quiet.

The bathroom is a bit small, but this is really not an issue, given the rest of the apartment.

Room Tip: Our room was up high and at the back, others have mentioned noise, given the proximity to Times Squa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I stayed here with my husband for a week at the start of December. We were over the moon with our choice! The location is ideal 2mins walk from times square and 5mins walk from two of the main tube lines. The space you get is amazing and there have been post on here about it being too dark or the bathroom being too small but we didn't find that a problem. How much time do you spend in a bathroom!?! The complimentary smellies were lovely and handy extra touches like sachet of washing power and washing up sponge. The bed was huge and really comfy and the apartment was nice and warm. All the staff were a delight really friendly and helpfully.
The only minor disappointment was the front of the hotel was covered with scaffolding so we couldnt see out. This wasn't the end of the world though and didn't spoil our stay.
Overall would most definately recommend to anyone and we are hoping to stay there again next year. Totally amazing and worth the little bit extra money that if would cost for a minuscule hotel room. We <3 aka times square!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a one week stay at the AKA Times Square Hotel. We stayed in a studio with an extra office space. About 600 sqft in total which is huge for midtown Manhattan. The room was well appointed and modern. We arrived to apples and bottled water in our room and a note from management, which was nice.

Some awesome things to point out. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful - really the best part. The room has a kitchen, a full fridge, a dishwasher, toaster, pots, pans, knives, glasses, dishes etc. We did not cook but had plenty of snacks in the fridge to make simple sandwiches etc. There is a washer and dryer and one pack of detergent for guests. We did wash some clothes but the dryer did not seem to dry very well. The extra office space was really handy. My husband could work in the early mornings without disturbing me. We also used it as the closet/mud room. The hardwood floors are awesome. I only heard other guests and staff when they were in the halls: no foot steps, televisions, talking otherwise. Plenty of room to walk in circles, which is so much better than a tiny hotel room. The rooms also have the basics including a safe, an iron, an ironing board, shampoo, soap etc. They have great lighting options in the rooms with dimmers. The television was easy to use and received about 60 channels. There is a rain showerhead in the bathroom. We had plenty of towels.

The downsides include a very dark room. I mean really dark. It was sunny and 60 degrees one day but it felt almost like nighttime in the suite. There is still scaffolding on the facade which may block extra light. The lobby is so tiny you could possibly miss it, but the size of the room made up for it.

Housekeeping obviously had cleaned well. Yet, due to the wear and tear it still felt used or dirty or used. For example the chairs at the dining table were very worn and abused. We had one housekeeping visit during our week stay. She initially woke us up at 8:45am; we were on west coast time and were still in bed at the time. We did not have housekeeping any other time, but honestly I prefer it that way. The bathroom was modern and looked nice but just never felt really clean to me. In the shower there was water damaged and the grout was kind of gross in places. It was also small with no counter space whatsoever. In short the bathroom looked nice but did not function really well. They do leave you with some nice extras like one load of dishwashing detergent and a new sponge but no dish soap or paper towels at the sink? It makes no sense. The towels were the fancy Frette brand and were over-washed and stiff.

The location was great for my husband due to its proximity to his many midtown business meetings. We live in a city and I am used to street noise and crowds but OMG - I really dislike times square, It's kind of my personal version of hell. The hotel is half a block from Times Square which is horrifying, but I got over it and dealt with it for a week. Having been to Manhattan numerous times, pretty much any other neighborhood would have been more fun for me but it is close to so many subway lines I could escape the insanity within minutes. There are limited options for dining nearby, unless you love overpriced or chain restaurants. Also there are limited options for grocery shopping. We initially took a trip to the Columbus Circle Whole Foods to get some snacks for our stay.

Overall the AKA Times square was a well appointed place to stay for our needs during this trip but If we were in NYC for fun I would stay elsewhere. For extended business this is a great option in midtown.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed as a family of seven and got two 2-bedroom apartments. Each bedroom had a huge super king bed and was very spacious. Decor was nice and modern. Very clean, spacious apartments with beautiful Orchids and Molton Brown toiletries

Service was superb. On arrival, we had a complimentary letter and fruits from the manager. Staff were also very friendly, willing to help and always said hello. Wifi was complimentary and worked really well.

Business centre in hotel- superb facilities with complimentary hot drinks- wide variety of teas and coffee

Considering how close to times square this aparthotel is, it is remarkably quiet and good for a lie in. Perfect location!

Would stay here again and again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We travelled to NYC from Sydney, Australia with our 4 month old baby. This was the perfect place to stay. Staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our weeks' stay and were able to book event tickets for us, such as broadway shows and basketball games. The apartment was such a good size, and the kitchenette with microwave was so useful with the baby. We made use of the gym which isn't huge but offers enough equipment to do a one hour workout.

Being located in the middle of Times Square was a bonus. We were so close to a huge selection of restaurants, shops and broadway shows. We were a 10min walk from Madison Square Garden and we were a 10min cab ride from Central Park & 5th Avenue etc. It was a little noisy but I think you get that anywhere in New York.

This was our 2nd visit to NYC and we were so happy to have found such an awesome hotel. The first time, our hotel (not the AKA) offered the same amount of space but was very out-dated and not somewhere I would be comfortable taking a baby. AKA Times Square was modern, clean and perfectly located.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I am sure that many people who review hotels on this website say that it is how a hotel deals with a problem that is most important and AKA dealt with a problem perfectly. There was a mix-up with an airport transfer that I had tried to book through AKA. When I called the hotel to say that the driver had not arrived, they apologised and sent one who was there quite promptly, all things (like NYC traffic) considered. We were not charged for this transfer and were also given our welcome groceries for free. I don't think the error could have been managed any better.

The hotel itself is in a very convenient location. You can walk to the theatre, the subway etc. I would probably not choose to stay in this location again, only because of personal preference for a less touristy feel next time. However, for a first visit to NYC, it is ideal.

We had a one bedroom suite. The apartment was an excellent size and was very well equipped, in terms of utensils in the kitchen. The bedroom was at the back and was very quiet because it was away from the street. However, there was no natural light which had advantages, such as being able to sleep in but also made getting over jet-lag a bit more difficult. The suite was very clean, modern and tastefully decorated. It was great having a full kitchen and a washer and dryer.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to a freind and I would consider it agian or maybe try one of the chain's other NYC locations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AKA Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA Times Square

Address: 123 West 44th Street, Between 6th & Broadway, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 185 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — AKA Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AKA balances the style and hospitality of an intimate hotel with the space and comfort of a fully appointed luxury condominium. Recognized for long stay comfort and value, AKA stands for unparalleled metropolitan locations; contemporary design; and exceptional business, fitness, and lifestyle services.AKA Times Square is located in the heart of the theater district, surrounded by the vibrant spirit of New York City's Times Square neighborhood. Just steps from Sixth Avenue's business corridor, ours is a superb location for business travelers as well as visitors seeking the best of Manhattan’s dining, entertainment and nightlife scene. AKA Times Square provides a perfect environment for stays of a week or longer, offering 105 total apartment residences, including spacious studios, one and two bedroom suites and duplex penthouses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your AKA Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka Times Square Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AKA Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.