We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lafayette House

Save Saved
You added Lafayette House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lafayette House
38 East 4th Street, New York City, NY 10003 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #197 of 449 hotels in New York City
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
“Everything we needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We booked last minute on a Friday, and the staff quickly gave us the key and prepared the room, the French King Suite. We needed somewhere clean and quiet, and the Lafayette House was both. The original windows had another interior window installed overtop, so the room was quiet (the windows could still be opened). The bathroom was vintage, but clean and charming. The gas fireplace was a nice touch. We were concerned that smoking is allowed in the rooms, but a staff member said that an ionizer is used in all the rooms. We were surprised to smell no evidence of cigarette smoke. Linens were nice.There is a great bar and grill next door and fun Irish pub two doors down, so we thought the location was great. All in all, less expensive for our family for a place with lots of character.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    17
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
25
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Nice town house with antique furnished rooms, beds are comfortable. The kitchenette (cutlery, plates etc. are provided) with a well stocked bar is a nice plus.
Service is friendly, yet minimal: hello & goodbye; someone on-site from 8 am to 10 pm. The area itself isn't too quiet, mainly due to ongoing construction work. There is no bar nor restaurant attached to it, however, B next door serves good food (can be ordered in the rooms as well) and plenty of other venues are close by. Get a room with balcony or private terrace to unwind on or to invite some friends over. Price is on the upper side considering the services provided, thus the average price/value rating - But hey, it's NY and you get a way more individual experience than with similar priced hotels.
Would have been nice to learn more about the story of the house, but the guest folder doesn't give away anything - Anyway, we'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had read about the hotel in the New Yorker as a "must stay". It was significantly less expensive than the other "must stay" rooms that were between $500-$800 per night. Our room was $350. We stayed in room #4. A very large room with a little kitchenette and a private porch. It was like staying in your aged Aunt's home (Well, if you were a Rockefeller!) Antique furniture, chandaliers and mirrors....

The room is very large and incredibly charming. The bed is comfortable and the staff are helpful and responsive. The amenities are upscale and generous. Hotel is in the Bowery - a great location near lots of cool restaurants.

All that said - it is not updated. The bathroom is quite old with a plastic shower curtain sticking to you....a sluggish drain in the tub...nowhere to put your stuff to get ready - a very old fashioned sink and the small mirror is high above the rather dimly lit sink. The porch - while an incredibly rare and lovely NY feature has very uncomfortable chairs. And...you better be in shape if you have luggage! There are very steep stairs to get in and even steeper to the second floor.

So if you are up for a little quirky ...and want romantic or different - this might be the perfect place! If you are looking for modern and luxurious - perhaps not....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I found this place from a friends recommendation in desperation as the hotel I previously booked had a broken air conditioner (it was 97f out). I called last minute and they had two rooms to pick from. I needed four nights so this was welcome news. As I walked up to the front door I had to second guess myself as it looked just like a normal SoHo brownstone. It is perfect. The best thing is not having to deal with a front desk- just helpful staff that magically appears from under the stairs - the incredible privacy and amazing comfort of being surrounded by early century antiques. The restaurant next door (right next door) serves comfort food (to your room if you wish) and of course just steps away are so many other great places. Wonderful location. Wi-Fi was fast. Room was cool intemp. Very clean. I can't wait to try another room. Maybe in the winter so I can use a fireplace.... Keep in mind that this is a little expensive and for the same price you could stay in a very nice hotel with all the usual services (bar, front desk, concierge etc)

Room Tip: I stayed in the basement- had my own lovely patio. It was great for late night glasses of wine- woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed in room #10 at the top of 2 very steep staircases. It was the heat wave of all heat waves and the room simply would not cool down. Also, the water in the bath sink had no pressure at all. As the room would not cool with the standard unit, they brought a fan and we still sweated through the night. Forget getting cool in the shower as the bathroom got no air at all. I complained about that fact that I was spending $325 for each of 3 nites and they moved us down to room #1 with a private courtyard for our last 2 nights. Very lovely. They were very accommodating and brought us complimentary waters, a oscillating fan and extra pillows. All my requests were immediately attended to. That said, the bathroom needs some work. Old, very poor lighting and the tub wouldn't drain during our last morning's showers. (nothing worse then standing in 4 "of water while you shower). Would I stay there again? Maybe. I see the room we were upgraded to was $450 or so. No way would I spend that. $325 tops. We went over to see the sister property "The Bowery Hotel" and saw a standard Queen for about the same price. Much brighter, great bathroom and of course, hotel services. The Layfayette House was very cool if you can get the courtyard. We had wine and cheese with our family and some friends and sat out there a long time. Very private, quiet and very New York. Great location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

This property is a real find if, like me, you've had enough of corporate mid-town hotels.
You just have a room and a key - no concierge / bar / restaurant etc. so it's more like staying in someone's house (although you can order room service from the bar next door).
The decor is quirky and quaint - shabby chic meets Victoriana - the bathroom is particularly unusual with a old claw footed tub and brass taps.
We stayed in December and were grateful for the fire that you can light as you wish (gas with flames, not real wood!) - it really adds ambiance to an already spacious room.
The usual amenities and mini bar are on offer, with a few thoughtful extras like maps.
The location is great as well - easy walking distance into Soho and of course the lovely Bowery just around the corner for drinks.
This place is edgy and cool and beats more traditional hotels hands down.

Only criticisms would be that the TV was very old and it took us a long time to get any channels on it at all and also the iPod dock / alarm clock didn't work - but technology didn't really seem appropriate in our old-school room anyway!

Room Tip: We booked the garden room which is in the basement and has a little private terrace with chair and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

I love this property, as it's really well located close to bowery/east village and all of the restaurants and bars that come with the neighbourhood. The rooms are a lot larger than almost anything else I've seen in the city, and it's got a laid-back feel.
The mini bar is very cool and well stocked, without being too overpriced, and the design has real character.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lafayette House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lafayette House

Address: 38 East 4th Street, New York City, NY 10003
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , NoHo
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#177 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lafayette House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafayette House Hotel New York City
Lafayette Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lafayette House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.