We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bistro Citron” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Citron

Bistro Citron
473 Columbus Ave, New York City, NY 10024 (Manhattan)
(212) 400-9401
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro Citron is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,210 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: West 83rd Street
Transit: 1 at 79th Street and Broadway B & C at 81st Street and Central Park West.
Whitefish, Montana, Usa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bistro Citron”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

What a pleasant surprise. We felt like we were locals to the westside neighborhood. Enjoyed French Onion soup and a Caesar salad. I would return to try their hamburgers.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    41
    8
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Worth a visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Had a very nice, if expensive meal here.

I had a New York strip with veg and the wife had sea bass, some very nice wine, we shared a cheese plate AND shared a dessert plus had dessert wine and coffee so no wonder it topped $200 with the tip.

It was very busy and this was a mid week night.

Staff who served us were South American, very knowledgeable so thankfully no snooty rude Parisian waiters here!

Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A Touch of France”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

A group of us had dinner here on a rainy, Sunday night. The food we ordered was delicious. Each person ordered something different from the menu: duck, mussels, and fish. Fish was cooked perfectly, mussels were flavored with a wonderful sauce, and the duck was cooked to order and tasted wonderful. The atmosphere here is cozy, french. It's a lovely spot to dine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio City, Ohio
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great brunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stopped for brunch before going to American Museum of Natural History, and they had a very good menu! They open at noon on Saturday. Great selection and reasonable prices for the city. Comfortable seating and friendly wait staff. The Burgers were delicious and the omelets looked great. Four of us all commented how nice a spot this was and really good food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Place to Dine After the Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This restaurant is moderately priced ($60 pp with a drink and appetizer) and serves well-prepared traditional French cuisine. The atmosphere is casual, inviting, and warm. During my visit I had the Citron salad, Duck, escargots, and a blueberry tarte for dessert. My wife had mussels. The salad $12 was enough for two and had a good variety of vegetables. The duck also was a good sized proportion and the sauce was a raspberry. The blueberry tart was also well made. The service was attentive and professional. Overall, I highly recommend Bistro Citron for anyone looking for a very good casual French meal on the Upper West Side (82nd St)

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Citron also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Bistro Citron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Citron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.