We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“doesn't live up to boutique image on website” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Broadway Hotel and Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Broadway Hotel and Hostel to your Saves list
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   230 West 101 Street, (at 101st Street and Broadway), New York City, NY 10025 (Upper West Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #332 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“doesn't live up to boutique image on website”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2008

I stayed at the broadway Hotel n Hostel on a recent trip to New York with friends. we chose this place cos we wanted a hostel to save money, but this one stood out from the rest as it looked like it would be just that little bit more comfortable, with more ammenities due to the fact it was also a hotel.

Bearing in mind we planned to stay in a hostel, it had everything we needed, but wasn't worth the extra money we'd paid expecting a more up market hostel, as it had nothing to back that up. The lobby area is lovely, really modernly presented, but as soon as you go up the stairs to your room, the carpet seems to run out as soon as you turn the corner from reception, and the great presentation of reception, is no more. this would be fine if it wasn't for the fact that the website makes the hostel appear to be more than it actually is.

Our dorm was an 8 bed, and was pleasent enough, very basic which is what you'd expect from a hostel, but not what you'd expect from what the website shows!!! on our floor there were 3 bathrooms, between about 7/8 rooms (i'm not sure if they were all 8 bed though) which can be a hassle in the mornings with everyone trying to shower. also each bathroom is a shower, toilet and basin, there are no seperate toilets, which when everyone's showerring can me crossing your legs. we had the added problem on our floor that one of the bathrooms didn't have a lock, luckilly i have good friends though, so we'd read a magazine in the corridor while th others showered to avoid having to wait for one of the 2 working bathrooms.

the only other downside would be that the staff aren't particularly helpful, they just didn;t seem that switched on. The doorman was lovely, but the actual reception staff were a little useless, they alwys said they's help with whatever you asked, but never seemed to deliver. from the moment we arrived we were asking for extra blamkets as the room got a little cold at night, they were always in the wash and would be brought to us in 10 minutes. the first 10 minutes lasted 3 days, we finally managed to get our extra blankets on our last night!!!

all in all, i wouldn't say don't stay here, but i would say, don't go with the high expectations you may get from the fancy website.

  • Liked — the diner one block down was great for breakfast
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    363
    161
    61
    66
See reviews for
62
217
155
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2008

Don't be fooled by either the website or the lobby, it is just a facade (though obviously undergoing renovations, so it might get better in the future). Booked a private room for two nights (so my experience may differ from those who book dorms)
I will pass on the cockroach (there was only one in the bathroom, I was expecting worse), the staff being unfriendly, with the very long wait to get checked-in (or to check out), the antique elevator, the creaking bed, the lack of quietness, and half of the TV channels either having a poor reception or being in spanish, I was not expecting anything much anyways.
But what made the stay so terrible is that when we came back the second evening, the room was a little too cleaned: All our belongings had disappeared! They were not stolen, but apparently housekeeping thought we paid (cash and in advance, of course) only for one night, so all our clean and dirty laundry were put, along with toiletry items, in a single bag in a "Lost & Found" room. All our food (including special allergen-free food) had been discarded.
After long negotiations with Property Management on the checkout morning, we managed to get a financial compensation to make up for the hassle, but I won't try it again any time soon.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Having to pay cash for a private room, while a Credit Card was needed for reservation in the first place...
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BwayManagement, Manager at Broadway Hotel and Hostel, responded to this review, October 30, 2008
We apologize that your stay here with us was not as enjoyable that it could have been.

Our housekeeping staff takes great pride in doing everything possible to service our guests and providing them with a clean, comfortable stay.

As you stated, there was some confusion with housekeeping in regards to your check out date. They followed procedure and cleaned your room as if you were due to check out. We did what we could to compensate you for your inconvenience and we apologized for that.

We are making continuously effort to always upgrade our facilities. To say we are a just a facade...is unfair and not true.

We do hope that you will return in the future so that I can ensure that your stay here at the Broadway will be a better one.


~Jeremy~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2008

I stayed in the four people dorm 7 nights, checking in was really quick. The lobby was looking good, it was safe, I didn't loose anything. It gives you the opportunity to meet people since there are a lot of young people staying there. The room was very small though and the flooring was all torn out. The restrooms were clean, and the room were also clean. They did the beds every day. It was with easy access to downtown. A lot of places where to eat in the area. Facing Broadway street, great location. Security man who opens the door for you each time you enter or go out. The rooms are mixed between man and women which might be a problem.

  • Liked — The lobby
  • Disliked — The room was small and narrow for a four beds dorm
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jervis Bay, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2008

We stayed in a 6 bunk share room for the first night and a private ensuite for the following 9 nights.
I didn't like the share room, as there is no luggage storage in the room, and if you dont have locks on your bags, then you better hope there is nothing valuable in them! The share bathrooms were clean enough considering how many people were using them!
The private ensuite was great and at US$100 a night, you can't really complain!! It was clean, the sheets and towels changed daily, had fully functioning AC and TV. No issues.
The only things I didn't like were the slow lift, MUCH faster, though a pain as we were on level 4, to take the stairs!
Reception. Check in was slow and a painful process. The girl there must have been training, but was just so unnapproachable! Luckily there was a guy there who seemed to be the manager who took over and looked after our booking.
All in all, I thought it was in a great location, was safe and clean.

  • Liked — Clean, close to subway, good food close
  • Disliked — elevator, slow check in
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2008

While the hostel is not as flash as it appears in the website photos, it is a pretty nice place for price. I found it to be very clean and the rooms were roomy enough, freshly painted, A/C, basin, mirror. There were 4 clean bathrooms on our floor, just don't plan to shower (or pee!) at peak times. The lounge/kitchen is a great place to meet other travellers and you are allowed to bring alcohol in, with plasma screens showing movies. Bank of computers with internet at a decent speed/price. The elevator is sooo slow, take the stairs. Lots of shops, restaurants, cafes, laudromat etc close by and seemed like a decent neighboorhood. Short stroll to the subway station, longer walk to Central Park. My only criticism is that the rooms are all co-ed. It was fine most of the time, because I was travelling in a mixed group, but one girl had booked separately and was put in a mixed dorm - a little intimidating for a young female traveller. I'm going back to New York and am staying at a different hostel purely because of this reason, if I was not travelling alone or they introduced single-sex dorms, I would definately go back.

  • Liked — Clean (for a hostel)
  • Disliked — No single-sex dorms
  • Stayed August 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2008

the lobby looks very nice but the rooms of the hostel look very different. i thought it's a very nice hostel until we heard some strange noise at night. we had mice in our room and so we asked for a different room. we immediatly got one - that was great - but in the other room we had also mice !! we were so tired, that we just closed the hole where they seemed to come out and at the next morning we had to change room because it was overbooked.
so it was very exhausting at this hostel : (
the good things were the elevator, free wlan and every day some nice movies at the tv-room and on weekends with popcorn : )
the bathrooms and the position of the hostel were okay too.
although there were some good things at this hostel i wouldn't recommend it because the fact of the mice overweight everything. it's a great pity : (

  • Liked — elevator, price, tv-room, wlan, location
  • Disliked — rooms (mice), pictures of the hostel rooms at the homepage look different than they really are
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BwayManagement, Manager at Broadway Hotel and Hostel, responded to this review, August 28, 2008
We do apologize for any inconvenience that you experienced during your stay in regards to mice. Our housekeeping staff works very hard in trying to keep the hostel as clean as possible. They provide guest with service daily and the linens for the beds are cleaned and changed daily as well.

However, some things may be beyond our control. We are in New York City, a city where mice can be a problem for most buildings...even the famous ones. That is why our hotel policy is for our guest not to bring any type of food into the rooms.

We are continuously working daily to upgrade the property so that we can provide our guest with the most enjoyable stay possible.

Best Regards,

Jeremy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

Stayed at this hostel for a week. There was 4 of us so we had our own room. We had no trouble checking in and the lift was working but was quite small so two of u took the stairs. The room was quite small and we had just enough room to fit our suitcases in and move about. It had a sink and a mirror in that was handy. We were on the 3rd floor and our room was directly outside the bathroom. This was blocked and overflowed on severeal occasions and was not nice as the carpet outside our room would always be wet! We never left the room without shoes on.

However saying this the location is good and directly outside a subway station, and there is a great diner to eat in only a few mins down from the hostel.

The staff were friendly and nice to us too. I just think they need to sort the bathrooms out and it would have been better.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Broadway Hotel and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Hotel and Hostel

Address: 230 West 101 Street, (at 101st Street and Broadway), New York City, NY 10025
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#185 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Broadway Hotel and Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Broadway Hotel & Hostel is situated on the trendy Upper West Side. we offer clean, comfortable, and, most importantly, affordable New York City discount hotel rooms. A 15-minute ride from the heart of Times Square! Designed to satisfy even the smallest travel budgets, our chic yet inexpensive hotel provides wonderful value, in a colorful setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Broadway Hotel and Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway Hotel New York City
Broadway Hotel Hostel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broadway Hotel and Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.