We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to trendy upper west side” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Broadway Hotel and Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Broadway Hotel and Hostel to your Saves list
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   230 West 101 Street, (at 101st Street and Broadway), New York City, NY 10025 (Upper West Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #345 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Convenient to trendy upper west side”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

After reading some of the other reviews i cannot see what the complaints are about. This is a hostel/hotel. If you want a hotel room get a private room. Stayed in a few hostels over the years and although this wouldnt be the best you still get what you pay for. The lounge area downstairs is quite attractive and greets you with warmth. The elevator is very slow so apart from checking in and out with gear I recommend using the stairs. The room was fine was sharing a bathroom with a corridor which i didnt mind it was clean and other users took consideration. As for the wifi not working in the rooms you are holiday so enjoy it and get off the internet. Convenient to 103rd st station which has lines 1 and 2 for the subway which is good for the main sites in Manhatten. It is a flat rate of 2.50 for the subway if not travelling far it is better to walk. Hotel can organise shuttles to the airport which for 20 dollars ia good value for money. Enjoyed NYC cannot wait to be back

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivita B, Front Office Manager at Broadway Hotel and Hostel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you much for staying with us. We are thrilled that you have taken advantage of all NYC has to offer. We hope to see you again on your next trip to The Big Apple!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    380
    191
    65
    70
See reviews for
70
239
165
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Nice stay. Stayed in private room with bath. Room was a bit small, but hey you should be out in the city not in your room. Location was great. A few blocks to subway station and a good bagel place right across Broadway. Nice short walk to Central Park.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivita B, Front Office Manager at Broadway Hotel and Hostel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with The Broadway Hotel and Hostel, we are thrilled that you enjoyed our location and local businesses. We hope to see you again on your next trip to NYC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

GOOD
- Very good location (101 St.) - 5 min walk from 96th and 103th St. stations
- Warm welcome every day at reception
- Free wi-fi in lounge area
- Very sociable
- Lots of leaflets for tourists

BAD
- Decor outdated
- Mixed gender rooms
- Bunk beds were old and uncomfortable
- Super thin walls = quite noisy

UGLY
- Painfully slow elevator!

Overall, I would still recommend this hostel/hotel to student budget traveller(s) as I got an excellent price for the quality and location! Wouldn't recommend to a more mature or pernickety crowd.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivita B, Front Office Manager at Broadway Hotel and Hostel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with The Broadway Hotel and Hostel , we are happy that you took advantage our location, informational materials, and were welcomed by our staff.

Our apologies that you were unimpressed by the building interior, we are consistently in the process of renovating both our buildings and the rooms. And, with comments like yours, we are able to pinpoint where we should focus for improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
175 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The room was satisfactory. it has shared bathroom which is fine and the location is great. Extremely near the red line subway. The price is valuable considering that it is in new york city. The common area could have been cleaner though. The internet is only available on the ground floor.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivita B, Front Office Manager at Broadway Hotel and Hostel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for staying with The Broadway Hotel and Hostel. We are happy that you enjoyed your time on the Upper West Side in NYC, and we hope to see you again on your next trip to NY!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Stayed here just for a night. Arrived to find that we had been upgraded (bonus)! Staff were lovely and very helpful with any request we wanted. Ladies at the desk was exceptional. Would stay here again, reasonably priced for NYC, calm location, easy transport and a decent night sleep.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Location is perfect. Rooms are small, but ok. Bathrooms are ok, too, but towels feel very old. For a hostel, this is probably just fine. But for a "hotel," then things could be better. I checked in to a room & got into bed, and immediately saw a cockroach on the bedside table. I killed it and immediately asked to be moved to another room, which the front desk staff quickly arranged (they were also very apologetic). But, needless to say, it was hard to relax in bed after that. And that proved to be understandable, as I once again found a couple of tiny green bugs on the bed in the new room the following night. I was tired, and leaving the next day (and it was already midnight). So, no point in going through the trouble of changing rooms again. Just couldn't sleep much that second night either. These place needs to pay attention to pest control or at least have the rooms fumigated on a regular basis. I guess you get what you pay for! And I'll prefer to pay more next time, so that I can at least have a restful night...

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taranto, Puglia, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I visited NYC for the first time in May but i just didn't want to spend a lot of money! This hostel is exactly what i was looking for. I enjoyed so much my vacation and i would come back in this place without a doubt! I really suggest this hotel to everyone! Nica accomodation in Manhattan, a clean bathroom and low price. That's it. No, i forgot that nice guy i met near the elevator....16 h a day there!!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#266 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,205 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#380 of 464 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 401 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#298 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#389 of 464 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 613 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#214 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,605 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#314 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadway Hotel and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Hotel and Hostel

Address: 230 West 101 Street, (at 101st Street and Broadway), New York City, NY 10025
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#199 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Broadway Hotel and Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Broadway Hotel & Hostel is situated on the trendy Upper West Side. we offer clean, comfortable, and, most importantly, affordable New York City discount hotel rooms. A 15-minute ride from the heart of Times Square! Designed to satisfy even the smallest travel budgets, our chic yet inexpensive hotel provides wonderful value, in a colorful setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Broadway Hotel and Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway Hotel New York City
Broadway Hotel Hostel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broadway Hotel and Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.