We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location and good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   121 West 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001 (Chelsea)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #230 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Birkeroed, Denmark
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice location and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed a family of 4. We had a room with two Queen beds. The room was nice. Not very big but fine since you dont want to spend your time i NY in a hotelroom. The street is nice and quiet and fælles with flowershops wich is very nice. No noise at Night. It is perfectly location in the middle of Manhattan and there is a subway very near. Nice with a refrigerator in the room. The staff is very nice, polite and helpfull, and there is a very nice little fitnessroom. You can take a coffee or tea to go when you leave in the morning, and when you comeback in the afternoon or evening there is nice water and a snack. We will defenately stay again when we hopefully return to New York.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Lisa Erichsen,

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review about your recent stay. We appreciate your support and are delighted that we met your expectations at the Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    596
    150
    45
    33
See reviews for
455
377
120
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I reserved a room here on Hotel Tonight, but when I arrived with a bicycle, I was told I was not allowed with a bike in the room. No where on the site was there anything about a policy of no bikes in their rooms. I had stayed at this hotel a number of times previously, one time bringing a bicycle, and was never told of this hotel policy before. They would not refund my money even though they would not allow me to stay with my bicycle. I asked about storing my bicycle in the bellman's room, but they would not allow it. They offered me the ability to store my bicycle at a garage across the street, but this was not satisfactory as my bicycle is quite expensive (I'm embarrassed to say how much), and I was worried about it being stolen. I called Hotel Tonight customer service, but they could not help as the hotel has the final say in the matter. I ended up finding a great hotel nearby (Courtyard by Marriott, Times Square West) who allowed me to bring my bike with me to my room.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear David12211,

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea. Unfortunately, due to limited space and fire safety concerns, bicycles are not permitted in the hotel. We apologize if this created a bit of a chaos for you. We are dedicated to ensuring your satisfaction, and welcome you to contact our offices directly if we may be of any additional assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This was the second time we stayed here. Its a very nice hotel, I liked the mini fridge in the room and the staff was very helpful. Traveling with my five year old son we like to visit Union Square so I like that the hotel is conveniently located close to subway stops. The only down side is the walls are a little thin and this stay the people in the room next door came and went at all hours of the night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Travelbug8508,

Thank you for posting a review. We appreciate your feedback which will help us improve our services for future travelers. We hope to have another opportunity to better serve you on your return to the Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, NY
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed there 3 days and found it wonderful. I had a internet radio and they were able to get it connected quickly. The view was great, room clean and comfortable. Location was fantastic, right off the #1 (red) line at 28th st.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Jacksdad527,

Thank you for posting 5 star review We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed the location of the Hotel and appreciate your feedback to future travelers. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Staying here currently on week two. Staff is absolutely phenomenal - they greet you with a smile every time you return. They are kind and helpful.
Rooms are small but this is NYC. Fridge and microwave in the room are helpful for long stays. Internet can be a bit slow. Wish they had laundry in the building.
Easy access to subways and Penn Station.
Overall this has been a great stay. Would absolutely recommend this hotel just for the great staff.

Room Tip: If noise is an issue, ask for a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Monica J,



Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review about your recent stay. We appreciate your support and are delighted that we met your expectations at the Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I stayed at HGI-Chelsea in June 2014 for 3 nights. It is located blocks away from Times Square and plenty of shopping and restaurant choices. It's in the flower district , so the block is lined with all types of plants/trees, which makes for a pleasant atmosphere, but there was no mistaking it for a NYC street. There was construction going on next door so the surrounding scaffolding makes it feel a bit boxed in. The interior of the hotel is compact, but nice. The room had just enough space for 2 queen beds. The bathroom was in need of cosmetic clean up, ie: peeling paint, minor tile repair. The grab bar in the tub takes up too much space and makes for an uncomfortable shower. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Overall, the location is great and the hotel is clean, so I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Sjbrown01,


Thank you for posting a review. We appreciate the feedback you have given us and want you to know that we are making some enhancements. We appreciate your understanding while we go through this process and look forward to welcoming you again should your travels bring you back to New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This hotel was in a very convenient location in the floral district between two major metro lines within a 2 block radius. We arrived on the Mega Bus from Philadelphia just 1/2 block away. The room was ready well before noon and we were able to check right into the hotel, drop our bags and go. The room was comfortable and clean and a good value for NYC. I would definitely stay there again when I return to the city for my next trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Karen C,


Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review about your stay. We are extremely happy that you had a 5 star experience and look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea

Address: 121 West 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#151 Family Hotel in New York City
#183 Business Hotel in New York City
#187 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea - a modern Madison Square Garden hotel. Perfectly located in the city's Flower and very chic Chelsea district, the hotel is in the heart of it all. Just south of Times Square and convenient to Penn Station, Grand Central Station and all subway lines, this charming Chelsea hotel is central to the wonders of the city. Less than 0.5 miles to Jacob Javits Center Four blocks to Macy's Seven different subway lines within a short walking distance Three blocks to Madison Square Garden. Connect in Business at this Madison Square Garden Hotel. Corporate travelers enjoy an easy walk to many businesses and area corporations: Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Flat Iron Building, Macy's, Fisher Price, Cisco Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea Hotel New York City
Chelsea Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea
New York City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.