We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   121 West 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
New York Marathon Package
Ranked #164 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This was the second time we stayed here. Its a very nice hotel, I liked the mini fridge in the room and the staff was very helpful. Traveling with my five year old son we like to visit Union Square so I like that the hotel is conveniently located close to subway stops. The only down side is the walls are a little thin and this stay the people in the room next door came and went at all hours of the night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Travelbug8508,

Thank you for posting a review. We appreciate your feedback which will help us improve our services for future travelers. We hope to have another opportunity to better serve you on your return to the Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    526
    117
    33
    22
See reviews for
409
337
107
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed there 3 days and found it wonderful. I had a internet radio and they were able to get it connected quickly. The view was great, room clean and comfortable. Location was fantastic, right off the #1 (red) line at 28th st.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Jacksdad527,

Thank you for posting 5 star review We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed the location of the Hotel and appreciate your feedback to future travelers. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Staying here currently on week two. Staff is absolutely phenomenal - they greet you with a smile every time you return. They are kind and helpful.
Rooms are small but this is NYC. Fridge and microwave in the room are helpful for long stays. Internet can be a bit slow. Wish they had laundry in the building.
Easy access to subways and Penn Station.
Overall this has been a great stay. Would absolutely recommend this hotel just for the great staff.

Room Tip: If noise is an issue, ask for a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Monica J,



Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review about your recent stay. We appreciate your support and are delighted that we met your expectations at the Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I stayed at HGI-Chelsea in June 2014 for 3 nights. It is located blocks away from Times Square and plenty of shopping and restaurant choices. It's in the flower district , so the block is lined with all types of plants/trees, which makes for a pleasant atmosphere, but there was no mistaking it for a NYC street. There was construction going on next door so the surrounding scaffolding makes it feel a bit boxed in. The interior of the hotel is compact, but nice. The room had just enough space for 2 queen beds. The bathroom was in need of cosmetic clean up, ie: peeling paint, minor tile repair. The grab bar in the tub takes up too much space and makes for an uncomfortable shower. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Overall, the location is great and the hotel is clean, so I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Sjbrown01,


Thank you for posting a review. We appreciate the feedback you have given us and want you to know that we are making some enhancements. We appreciate your understanding while we go through this process and look forward to welcoming you again should your travels bring you back to New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This hotel was in a very convenient location in the floral district between two major metro lines within a 2 block radius. We arrived on the Mega Bus from Philadelphia just 1/2 block away. The room was ready well before noon and we were able to check right into the hotel, drop our bags and go. The room was comfortable and clean and a good value for NYC. I would definitely stay there again when I return to the city for my next trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Karen C,


Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review about your stay. We are extremely happy that you had a 5 star experience and look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

After staying at what I thought was an excellent representative of the Garden Inn brand last month (W 35th St.) and in a decent Hampton Inn (Madison Sq. Garden) nearby earlier in the weekend, I had high expectations for this property. I, as at least one other reviewer experienced, had AC noise issues and was eventually moved to a different room. Hotel was initially unreceptive to my desire to switch immediately rather than wait for engineering, etc., as it was already evening and the sole purpose of my stay was restful sleep - I did not have plans to leave and return later. It was only once an engineer came up and called the front desk (apparently my credibility isn't that strong in HVAC and/or customer service matters) that I was ultimately moved. While certainly clean, this property was not as modern/updated as the HGI I stayed with last time, and the rooms were smaller. My arrival reception was generic/blah, with no warm welcome or a "Thank you for being a valued Hilton Honors member" (something many Hilton properties do quite well) but not discourteous by any stretch. In fact, as I try to recollect details... totally unmemorable. Not a bad place by any stretch but on a block (or in this area, blocks) with many similar lodging choices, there's not much, if anything to set the Hilton Garden Inn Manhattan-Chelsea apart from all the other competing "Inns" nearby or any really good reason I can see to pay more to stay here than, say, the place next door or across the street - especially with so many of these brands including breakfast and all-day complimentary hot beverages in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Brett M,



It’s unfortunate to hear that your recent stay with us was not as comfortable as you would have liked it to be. We want nothing more but to provide our guests with the best service possible and a comfortable stay throughout, We appreciate the feedback our guests provide us with, so that we are able to pursue our goal to provide the highest quality service and experience to our guests.. While it is never pleasant to hear of our shortcomings, your comments are instrumental in helping us in our endeavor of achieving total guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This hotel is not in the "hip" part of Chelsea (which is not too far) . It on the border of Chelsea on a relatively quiet street with lots of wholesale flower and plant vendors. It is very close to a subway and close to Grand Central Station. The king room I got was clean, comfortable, cheerful, well lit and on the small side ( but decent size for a single in Manhattan) with all conveniences. The staff was friendly and helpful. They had a breakfast buffet which looked nice for $17.95 which I did not have,but there was a decent deli closeby where you can get a nice breakfast for $6. While this hotel is not luxury if you can get a good rate which I did , it is a very fine place to stay. Two things I wish I knew when I checked in--there are two window separate shades-- one to shield the light the other to darken completely :the bed hardness is adjustable (there is a sign at the desk I missed). I would stay again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Grover33raleigh,



Thanks so much for your kind review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed our location. We are thrilled to hear your wonderful service comments our staff constantly provides great service daily and look forward to sharing your comments with our team, we certainly hope you will choose to stay with us in the future the next time you are in New York City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea

Address: 121 West 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#108 Family Hotel in New York City
#116 Business Hotel in New York City
#149 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in Hilton Garden Inn New York/Chelsea - a modern Madison Square Garden hotel. Perfectly located in the city's Flower and very chic Chelsea district, the hotel is in the heart of it all. Just south of Times Square and convenient to Penn Station, Grand Central Station and all subway lines, this charming Chelsea hotel is central to the wonders of the city. Less than 0.5 miles to Jacob Javits Center Four blocks to Macy's Seven different subway lines within a short walking distance Three blocks to Madison Square Garden. Connect in Business at this Madison Square Garden Hotel. Corporate travelers enjoy an easy walk to many businesses and area corporations: Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Flat Iron Building, Macy’s, Fisher Price, Cisco Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea Hotel New York City
Chelsea Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea
New York City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.