We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good value in the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   121 West 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Parking Package
Ranked #182 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Pretty good value in the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Very good customer service, location is Great for business travelers, only about 3 blocks for the 31st entrance of Penn Station, near Madison Square Garden in the heart of the Flower District. Rooms are the typical city size, beds were comfy and room was clean. The free coffee in the mornings was great, I never got the chance to try their breakfast so cant comment there. Pretty decent stay but not the best option in the city

Room Tip: Get the Highest floor possible to limit the street noise at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Freetoy,
Thanks so much for the very nice review of your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location pleasing. Our staff does a wonderful job assisting guests and offering personal attention. Thank you for making us your hotel of choice, and we look forward to seeing you next time you are in New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    549
    126
    38
    27
See reviews for
421
351
112
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I travel in and out of Penn Station a lot and this hotel is my favorite choice if I can get it for the right price (under 200). It is one of 3 Hiltons within a few blocks of Penn -- (there's another HGI on W.35th St (betw 5th & 6th Ave) and a Hilton "Fashion Center" on W.26th (betw 6&7th)). While the condition of the hotel is a bit worn (though still pretty new), everything always works and is clean, the staff is friendly and very competent and it's really central to several subways that I use. This one is in fresher condition than the 35th St one. The "Fashion Center" Hilton is in the best condition and also has a popular restaurant/night-spot. Hilton Garden Inn's come with a refrigerator and microwave, while Hilton's (including "Fashion Center") just have a mini-bar/vending-machine (which I find irritating). I like being able to keep my own drinks and yogurt or a sandwich in the fridge, and to warm up some soup or other take-out food when I come back and just settle in for the night.
There is a Whole Foods at 7th Ave and 24th St which is a great place to pick up prepared food to bring back to the room if you don't want to eat out or do delivery (or room service).
The prices for this HGI and the other 2 nearby Hiltons vary all over the place -- I've gotten each of them on different occasions for under 100usd when, for the same night, the other two were way over 200. I can only imagine that groups must book well in advance for certain dates, and the hotel which doesn't happen to have big groups booked has excess rooms to fill. Anyway -- all three are great central locations and well run, very safe feeling hotels. Make sure to check the prices of all of them since, on balance, they are equally good choices.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear RCWashington,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location and hotel rooms convenient. We also agree that both our location and hotel amenities in every room are ideal. Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Very nice stay close to Penn station less than 5 minute walk. Good location. Friendly staff. Had complimentary cookies and water in lobby in afternoons for quest gave bottles of water on arrival & departure to my family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Christine M,
Thanks so much for the very nice review of your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! You and every other guest of ours are very important to us. The entire staff works very hard to exceed the expectations of every guest. Thank you for making us your hotel of choice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This hotel was great for our weekend trip to the city. The location is convenient to many places on the West Side. The room was nicely furnished and very clean. The staff was really friendly. If you are parking over the weekend, there are free spots in front of the hotel. The room was a little small though for stays any longer than 2/3 nights, but it was great for the price (anything bigger would be much more expensive). There is construction going on at another building next door which makes it a little unsightly at first, but there was no noise or impact on the room/lobby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Alexandrea C,
Thank you for the wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us! We are so pleased to hear you had a great experience at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea. Our staff does a wonderful job making sure our rooms are very clean and well maintained.Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
126 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I stayed four nights this week, having arrived on the Amtrak train from Arizona. Many years ago I stayed at the Hotel Pennsylvania, but that place seems scary these days, so the Hilton Garden is just a few blocks walk from Penn Station, and it was quite satisfactory. I guess $215 per night is not a bad rate for midtown New York. The facility is nothing unusual or distinctive, but I i could find little fault with the place, other than another elevator would be desirable and the breakfast at $17.95 is overpriced, which I sampled once. The room is a bit small and lacking in decor, but otherwise clean and comfortable. The staff are very nice people who seemed glad to see me. In a slightly grubby but pleasing sort of way, the street lined with flower shops is a plus and the subways are close by and ran quite well. I am a former resident of New Jersey and used to be in New York often, but have not been to the city in ten years, and my visit to the city was a big positive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Eazeliff,
Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review about your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel convenient, clean, and spacious. Our breakfast is much more than what you get at other hotels and the reason that we charge for it. We offer cooked-to-order eggs, omelets, waffles, bacon, sausage, breakfast potatoes, as well as a variety of cereals, pastries, and fruit. Please take advantage of our bed and breakfast rate where breakfast is included with the room rate during your next stay.We also agree that our location is ideal and located on a beautiful street lined with fresh flowers each day. Our staff does a great job of welcoming and offering personal attention to each guest. Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was a great little hotel in the middle of NYC's floral district.
Everyone went out of their way to welcome us and make our brief stay pleasant.
Our room was immaculate and well-appointed, as were the public spaces we used.
The beds were comfortable and the linens fresh and crisp.
The building and rooms are small, but not cramped;and feel larger than they are.
With three adults in our room with (2) queen beds, we were completely comfortable.
Also, loved the neighborhood and hope to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Luvthebigapple,
Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review about your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel clean and spacious. We agree that our rooms are nicely sized in NYC. Our staff works diligently to bring personal attention to every guest interaction, and we are pleased you received that attention. Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea in the near future! Thank you again for your great review, and we hope to see you during your next visit to New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Overall not the best hotel, however for the location in New York and the price we paid from priceline not bad at all! Room was slightly cramped and hallways felt claustrophobic. Beds comfortable enough after a long day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Tja710,
Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay. We take these reviews very seriously,Our entire staff makes every effort to accommodate our guests and make them feel welcome.We also agree that both our location and value are ideal.We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea

Address: 121 West 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#118 Family Hotel in New York City
#131 Business Hotel in New York City
#178 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in Hilton Garden Inn New York/Chelsea - a modern Madison Square Garden hotel. Perfectly located in the city's Flower and very chic Chelsea district, the hotel is in the heart of it all. Just south of Times Square and convenient to Penn Station, Grand Central Station and all subway lines, this charming Chelsea hotel is central to the wonders of the city. Less than 0.5 miles to Jacob Javits Center Four blocks to Macy's Seven different subway lines within a short walking distance Three blocks to Madison Square Garden. Connect in Business at this Madison Square Garden Hotel. Corporate travelers enjoy an easy walk to many businesses and area corporations: Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Flat Iron Building, Macy’s, Fisher Price, Cisco Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea Hotel New York City
Chelsea Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea
New York City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.