We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I travel alot for business and try to stay in the Hilton chain when possible. I woudl highly recommend this hotel -” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   121 West 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Parking Package
Ranked #181 of 459 Hotels in New York City
New Jersey
1 review
“I travel alot for business and try to stay in the Hilton chain when possible. I woudl highly recommend this hotel -”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very good location - staff friendly, knowledgable, very welcoming. Its worth it to valet your car as you can walk to so many places as well as the cost for valet is excellent! Room decent size for Manhattan and has a fridge and microwave. Very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thanks so much for the nice review of your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! We are happy to hear our location was convenient for you. We agree that our rooms are nicely comfortable and clean. Our entire staff makes every effort to accommodate our guests and make them feel welcome. Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    549
    126
    38
    26
See reviews for
421
350
112
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Hotel is conveniently located in midtown. Lobby area not expansive but you do get free internet and free bottled water and cookies upon arrival. Beds have been upgraded to comfy beds that you can customize firmness. Rooms have microwave and mini refrigerator (not a minibar), a safe and ironing facilities (board and iron). Room is your standard size compact NYC hotel room - nothing too fancy. Desk and chair also included. This is one of the few hotels in NYC that is still a smoking hotel so they do have smoking rooms. I'm not a smoker but it was all they had when I checked in - big mistake on my part. The manager however was nice enough to complement me with a free breakfast voucher for the next day and they switched my room the following morning. I must comment on the quick elevator service. Some high rise hotels have very slow elevator service but they have 2 elevators which were always available even in the morning rush hours. I'll stay here again. I believe there is a gynm but since I didn't go I can't really verify for certain (check with the hotel).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad you had an overall good experience at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea. We find our location and room amenities to be very convenient for our guests. I apologize a non-smoking room was not available the day you checked in, but I am happy to hear the front desk staff was able to quickly accommodate you the following morning. Thank you so much for staying with us! We hope you will be our guest again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I've stayed in many NYC hotels, and I found this Hilton Garden Inn in Chelsea to be among the nicest. It's an excellent value at under $200 per night. The rooms are quite spacious for a Midtown hotel and very tastefully decorated. The adjustable bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom spacious (with a full tub/shower). Heating cooling system was a bit noisy, but the windows actually open for a breath of fresh air. Overall room quality was very good. Other amenities included an excellent hot breakfast buffet, which you can add to your package at a low cost if booking on the Hilton site and some other websites.

Location is also excellent. Located in the heart of Chelsea on 28th Street just east of 7th Avenue, it's on a quiet street in the Flower District, while still being close to many attractions - Times Square, Empire State Bldg, Bryant Park, Madison Square Garden and much more. It's also ideally located for transit, just a few blocks from three different subway lines and Penn station, allowing easy access to both JFK on the Long Island Railroad and Newark on the New Jersey Transit train.

The staff was exceptional - courteous, helpful and extremely friendly - among the best I have ever encountered in a NYC hotel. This hotel tops my list for future bookings in NYC.

Room Tip: Higher floors have more light and better views - worth the $20 extra in my book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review about your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! We agree that our value is ideal in NYC and our adjustable beds are very comfortable. The entire staff works very hard to exceed the expectations of every guest. Thank you for making us your hotel of choice, and we look forward to seeing you next time you are in New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilderland, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

this hotel is in the Chelsea section of New York City. Very good value; the rooms were good, and the breakfast was tasty.Room was clean and well-equipped. Best of all, however, was the helpfulness of the staff. We had to adjust our reservation, which the staff handled with ease and consideration. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us! Our staff works diligently to bring personal attention to every guest interaction, and we are pleased you received that attention. We agree with you that our breakfast is delicious thanks to our great chefs. Thank you again for your kind words, and we are looking forward to see you during your next visit to New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The location in the Flower District in Mid Town Chelsea is the best. You have the subway yellow line 2 blocks away and the red line one block away. You can walk to Empire State. Macy. Times Square, etc.
I like this hotel because it has good value. Nice staff.
The price ok for NYC.
The AC/Heater is a little noise.
But I have stayed there before and I will stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea and found our close proximity to numerous attractions convenient during your time in New York. We agree that our value is ideal in NYC. Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Spouse and I have stayed here before, and always look forward to returning when we take a spur-of-the-moment mini-vacation in Manhattan. As to the hotel itself: hard-working staff, pleasant and professional. Room, while not large, was more than adequate: clean, quiet, hot water, good drainage, tub for unwinding after long walks, an extensive channel selection on flat-screen television. There is an in-room microwave and fridge, but no safe. The lighting could be a bit brighter. Good breakfast, and as spouse is Hilton Diamond, complementary. Like most Manhattan hotels, this can be pricey at times, but there are occasional bargains to be had.

West 28th is a prime street for the flower district. Not your typical, local, retail florist. Professionals come here to buy for events, but they also sell retail. There are wonderful, beautiful, exotic, and unusual flowers, leaves, plants to be found here, at great prices. I always buy something to take home. But, come early as stores open very, very early (by 5:00 am), and generally close about 2:00 pm.

Room Tip: Join Hilton plan and attain Gold Status, at least, in order to get the complementary breakfast: eggs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review about your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel amenities convenient. Walking through the flower and tree lined streets is a beautiful scene. Some guests have referred to the flower district as the greenest part of the city outside of Central park. Thank you again for your great review, and we hope to see you during your next visit to New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed twice at this hotel. The rooms are good sized especially by Manhattan standards - clean and comfortable. The neighborhood is mixed and contains many restaurants, shops and other hotels. Parking, valet parking and breakfast are available as optional extras. Breakfast is buffet style but with a kitchen that can cook eggs to order. The subway line is just around the corner.
Prices for the rooms vary by season, holiday etc. Our room costs were upto four times as much during the year-end holiday peak! But normal rates are very reasonable.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors have a better view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review about your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel clean and spacious. We agree that our location is ideal. Thank you again for your kind words and advice for our future guests. We are looking forward to see you during your next visit to New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea

Address: 121 West 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#117 Family Hotel in New York City
#128 Business Hotel in New York City
#179 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in Hilton Garden Inn New York/Chelsea - a modern Madison Square Garden hotel. Perfectly located in the city's Flower and very chic Chelsea district, the hotel is in the heart of it all. Just south of Times Square and convenient to Penn Station, Grand Central Station and all subway lines, this charming Chelsea hotel is central to the wonders of the city. Less than 0.5 miles to Jacob Javits Center Four blocks to Macy's Seven different subway lines within a short walking distance Three blocks to Madison Square Garden. Connect in Business at this Madison Square Garden Hotel. Corporate travelers enjoy an easy walk to many businesses and area corporations: Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Flat Iron Building, Macy’s, Fisher Price, Cisco Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea Hotel New York City
Chelsea Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea
New York City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.