We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay at HGI Chelsea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   121 West 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001 (Chelsea)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #226 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rockville, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Stay at HGI Chelsea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Just back from two enjoyable days in New York, City where we stayed at the HGI Chelsea. Great location, near 5th Ave., Penn Station, and the High Line--great for strolling and people watching. The room was comfy, the hotel ambiance quiet and efficient. The staff could not have been friendlier and more accommodating. We especially want to mention our pleasant interactions with front desk agent Johnmary, and Manager Terry Chin. The porters were friendly and the concierge was helpful, directing us to destinations we wanted to visit. We will definitely stay at the hotel on future visits to NYC.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review about your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location and hotel amenities convenient and comfortable. Our entire staff makes every effort to accommodate our guests and make them feel welcome. I will be sure to pass along your compliements to Johnmarie and Terry. They are wonderful assets to our team. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    587
    143
    44
    33
See reviews for
446
373
120
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I have stayed here once before, and really enjoyed my visit. I returned in January 2013 for business, and stayed one night. Again, this hotel shines in the service department.

You aren't going to be blown away by the street that it is on (surrounded by operating flower shops and Asian food stores), although you are only a few blocks from all the sites you want to visit. The hotel itself doesn't have a grand lobby or fancy world-famous restaurant attached. You aren't going to be able to do backflips or run laps in your room, and you won't have a four-star spa to visit. However...

You ARE going to be blown away by the welcoming staff and great customer service. Every single person working at this hotel has the same friendly demeanor, and offer great, quick results. They work to do everything to make your stay perfect, and if something goes wrong, they are apologetic and quick to correct it. Amazing.

You will also love being able to walk half a block to the Number 1 subway (7th street local). This line connects to just about every other line, so make sure you get your MTA card! You are also not too far from a PATH train line.

You will like the nicely priced rooms (especially for Manhattan standards) and clean surroundings. I sleep very well in this hotel, and have never had issues with construction noise, although admittedly I do wake up extremely early when I travel on business.

You will have plenty to eat! The attached restaurant is GREAT for breakfast, and has a fair price. I like being able to just come down to the lobby to eat before heading out for the day. They have hot and cold options, so there are lots of different ways to get ready to face the day. The bar is also a nice place to have a drink if you're playing it low-key. They also had Hot apple cider in the lobby!

All in all, I will continue to stay here when I visit New York, and suggest it to anyone else traveling to the city. My only reservation in recommending this hotel is that it might become so popular that I can't get a room when I want to stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us! Our staff works diligently to bring personal attention to every guest interaction and making sure everything is spotless. We are happy to hear our location was convenient for your many adventures as well. It is nice that we are so close to major attractions, but yet our guests are able to escape large crowds and a lot of noise. Thank you again for your kind words, and we are looking forward to seeing you during your next visit to New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Beautiful hotel, in a nice location. Lots of reviews regarding the overall feel of the hotel, no need to say more.

My huge problem with this hotel comes from their ludicrous billing procedure, and appalling customer service (once you've left the hotel!). My 5 night stay came to $1560. Imagine my shock when I checked my bank balance, only to see over $3600 had left my account! The reason? Well, it seems that this particular hotel has not got the hang of returning pre-authorised transactions, (used as security when you check in), before they actually bill you at check out - meaning that the poor unsuspecting guest is left with a huge hole in their bank balance until the money eventually finds its way back to your account. Worse still if your not from the USA.

Whats more frustrating, is that I've always assumed the Hilton to be a beacon of good customer service. I mean, you're paying for it? This is where this particular hotel now proudly sits ranked bottom of every hotel I've stayed in.

When I first got home and saw my balance...of course the first reaction is "oh its mistake somewhere, I'll ring the bank" The bank told me why my balance was so low, and suggested i contact the hotel as they could still cancel the pre-authorised transactions and the money would be back in my account in no time. What did the hotel say? "No, we haven't charged you twice, the error must be with your bank" It was not the fault of my bank.... In the end, there must have been twenty emails to the hotel, calls to customer service and many to the bank. In the end it took 19 days for my £1200 to get back to me, and left me without cash over Christmas. I even got the phone number of the department at the bank that Terry Chin, the hotel manager, needed to ring. But he couldn't be bothered. They have yet to even acknowledge that the transactions took place, let alone an apology or compensating me for the extra cost and inconvenience they caused. I had to investigate the whole thing myself, as at first you assume the hotel are telling the truth....when I got to the bottom of what really happened, and what the Hilton could do to ensure this doesn't happen to anyone else, I emailed again. Terry Chin's response? complete silence!

I would recommend Hilton and Garden Inns to anybody.....just stay well clear of this one unless you have a good relationship with your bank manager.

Room Tip: City view rooms on the high floors are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Shaun C.,


Please accept our sincere apology for the incident. As with all of our guest, we do call the bank and help in anyway we can. Not sure what happened. We understand your frustration and assure you, we have shared your experience with our team in an effort to help prevent similar issues in the future. If I may be of any additional assistance or if you would like to discuss the incident further, please feel free to contact me directly.

Regards,

Silvio Zinnanti
Assistant General Manager
212-564-2181
silvio.zinnanti@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I was very satisfied and the staff was wonderful, especially the breakfast servers. The breakfast package is well worth the extra $20 paid for the room for 4 people. There was construction noise outside very early which is not the hotels fault. When we checked in there were a lot of airport delays that morning so people did not check out on time, which caused us not to be able to check in at 3:00pm. We had a lot of luggage and had to leave it with the front desk. The hotel is very clean and convenient to Herald Square, Penn Station and all subways. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location convenient and breakfast ideal. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to the team memebers who work in the morning! . I apologize the room was not immediately available at check in, but I hope the front desk staff was able to quickly accommodate you. Thank you for making us your hotel of choice, and we look forward to seeing you next time you are in New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Every single staff member I interacted with, bellman, front desk, security, servers, etc. were friendly, helpful and welcoming. The location is half block to 7th Street subway local and easy walking distance to 34th street where you can get almost any subway line. Walking distance to Penn Station, Madison Square Garden, Macy's, Fashion District and many, many bars, coffee shops and places to eat. Rooms are smaller than typical Hilton Garden Inns, but as I would expect for a NYC hotel and are very well laid out. Despite a sign explaining how to use TV, it still took me a good 10 minutes to figure out! Free wifi if you are Hilton HHonors Gold or Diamond or an AT&T customer. Wifi is slow and disconnects often. Only two elevators for 24 floors (and no freight so housekeeping uses too), but not too awful. Rooms can be a little noisey from both outside and neighboring rooms, but not bad. Breakfast buffet is very nice, I got for free at HHonors Diamond perk, not sure I would pay $18 for it. Lowest price Hilton-family property in Manhatten for the dates of my stay; less than Hampton Inn and much nicer. Absolutely would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our team members friendly and our location convenient. We also agree that both our location and value are ideal. I apologize you were faced with elevator checkout "rush hour." Unfortunately, we have a limited number of elevators due to the size of our hotel. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We arrived at the hotel early Sunday morning (23 December 2012) -the porters were extremely helpful and welcoming and took our bags as soon as we got off the shuttle.
We could not check in as we were very early, but our bags were kept safely in the hotel.
Terry Chin the manager is extremely efficient and very friendly - because it was our honeymoon, he had arranged for flowers in our room and even gave us a complimentary breakfast.
The room is quaint and has all the amenities one would need ie, hairdryer, iron with a mini ironing board - the coffee station, fridge and microwave is definitely a plus for a New York hotel.
The pantry at reception had a variety of food and snacks.
The housekeepers always did an excellent job with cleaning our rooms and the heating in the room was just right.
The breakfast is nice but with the rand / dollar exchange, it was a tad bit expensive for us - but there is a nice selection of cereals, fruit, yogurt, danishes and the chef makes lovely omlettes.
Walking distance to Macy's, Times Square, Penn Station, Madision Square Garden and other attractions.Close to subways.
All in all - this is New York and one does not go there to stay indoors - this hotel provided everything we needed for a relaxed stay.
Thanks to Terry and the team

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Congratulations on your recent marriage, and thank you for allowing us the opportunity to accommodate you during your honeymoon! Terry and the entire staff do a fantastic job of welcoming and taking good care of our guests. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to everyone. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location and hotel room amenities convenient. Thank you again for your kind words, and we hope to see you during your next visit to New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantua, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This was a great hotel for the price that we paid for our girl's night out. The room was very small but then again we only needed it for the necessities: showering, changing clothes to go back out, and sleeping. Honestly...you are in NY. You should be out enjoying the city, not sitting in your room. Even on a rainy day. The street is a neighborhood like street with many floral/greenery businesses. Short walk from Penn Station and close to many coffee access points. (VERY IMPORTANT!) The only down side is that the concierge had no clue about the local restaurants, nor was he able to make any contribution as to what other things we could do for fun. Good thing we had Smartphones with the "places" app. :-) Front desk staff and greeter were fabulous. Great stay for the price that we paid. Signing off...Back in a Mantua Minute.

Room Tip: Unless you are traveling as a couple, I would recommend getting 2 double beds. If you are traveling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review about your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We also agree that our location is ideal and located on a beautiful street lined with seasonal fresh flowers each day. I apologize the concierge was not helpful. We will be sure to address this issue. I am happy to hear the other staff members were accommodating and friendly. Thank you again for your kind words, and we hope to see you during your next visit to New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea

Address: 121 West 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#144 Family Hotel in New York City
#193 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#194 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea - a modern Madison Square Garden hotel. Perfectly located in the city's Flower and very chic Chelsea district, the hotel is in the heart of it all. Just south of Times Square and convenient to Penn Station, Grand Central Station and all subway lines, this charming Chelsea hotel is central to the wonders of the city. Less than 0.5 miles to Jacob Javits Center Four blocks to Macy's Seven different subway lines within a short walking distance Three blocks to Madison Square Garden. Connect in Business at this Madison Square Garden Hotel. Corporate travelers enjoy an easy walk to many businesses and area corporations: Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Flat Iron Building, Macy's, Fisher Price, Cisco Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea Hotel New York City
Chelsea Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea
New York City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.