We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the space you need for the weekend!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   121 West 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001 (Chelsea)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #227 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mantua, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Just the space you need for the weekend!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This was a great hotel for the price that we paid for our girl's night out. The room was very small but then again we only needed it for the necessities: showering, changing clothes to go back out, and sleeping. Honestly...you are in NY. You should be out enjoying the city, not sitting in your room. Even on a rainy day. The street is a neighborhood like street with many floral/greenery businesses. Short walk from Penn Station and close to many coffee access points. (VERY IMPORTANT!) The only down side is that the concierge had no clue about the local restaurants, nor was he able to make any contribution as to what other things we could do for fun. Good thing we had Smartphones with the "places" app. :-) Front desk staff and greeter were fabulous. Great stay for the price that we paid. Signing off...Back in a Mantua Minute.

Room Tip: Unless you are traveling as a couple, I would recommend getting 2 double beds. If you are traveling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review about your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We also agree that our location is ideal and located on a beautiful street lined with seasonal fresh flowers each day. I apologize the concierge was not helpful. We will be sure to address this issue. I am happy to hear the other staff members were accommodating and friendly. Thank you again for your kind words, and we hope to see you during your next visit to New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    586
    143
    44
    33
See reviews for
445
373
120
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

If your ok with small everything than you'll be ok with this hotel. Budget feel. Very small rooms. Not a great street.
It's not up to full Hilton standards.
Feels like a backpackers hostel Well maybe a bit better.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear pgblack,

Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your thoughts about our hotel. However, we feel that our hotel has a lot to offer including nice size rooms bigger than most hotels in New York City and we are also close to all shopping and entertainment.
The Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea also offers a great restaurant for our guests to enjoy a delicious cook to order breakfast and bar to relax in the evenings.

We are a Hilton Hotel and we provide all the Hilton amenities for our brand the Hilton Garden Inn.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and hope you think of us on your next visit to our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I booked this hotel because the rate was good (for NYC) and it was close to Madison Square Garden/Penn Station. My stay was short, having arrived at 3am due to a flight delay (only stayed one night), but check-in went smoothly as a Hilton Honors member. The front desk staff at check-in and check-out were all very friendly and helpful.

The room was small, but clean. Bathroom appeared to have been renovated fairly recently. There were some scratches on the wall, and the carpeting was worn in some places, but nothing that affected the cleanliness or quality of the stay.

I will say, though, that their sleep-number style beds are not very comfortable; however, if you are used to that type of mattress, then it might appeal to you. As others have also said, the heating/air conditioning units are quite loud. If you are a light sleeper, you may want to consider another hotel.

It's a good location for food, transportation, sightseeing, etc. Once the construction around the hotel is finished, that will help with outside noise and curb appeal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Tracy S.,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location ideal. Sorry to hear that the bed was uncomfortable. We usually receive compliments on our number bed.

Thank you again for your review, and we hope to see you during your next visit to New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
otgwk
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Took my teenage daughter here for Christmas visit. For NYC it is good. Clean and comfortable. You have to expect small rooms. The front desk was very friendly and gave us bottled water as Hilton Honors members even though I booked with Travelocity. I booked this because it was close to Penn Station. We were able to walk easily with our roller bags from Penn Station to hotel. The location was good, but if price is comparable I would stay at the Hilton Garden Inn at Times Square.

Room Tip: The elevator is slow. We were on the 4th floor which worked for us. Not too high, so we could take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear otgwk,

Thank you for taking time out and writing a review about our hotel. Our staff works hard on a daily basis to give our guests 110%. I’m glad to see we did not disappoint. We also do agree that we are close distance to Penn Station, Macy’s, Madison Square Park, Times Square, Grand Central just to name a few.

If your travels take you back to New York City, we hope you think of us.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Really appreciated the staff at HGI Chelsea. They were more helpful and friendly than typically encountered in hotels. Natasha and Johnmarie at the front desk, as well as the the breakfast kitchen staff, were particularly great! Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review about your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff works diligently to bring personal attention to every guest interaction, and we are pleased you received that attention. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to the breakfast staff, Natasha, and Johnmarie. Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

There were multiple dissatisfactions at this hotel. I kept seeing signs that said "satisfaction guaranteed", but even after telling them, I am not satisfied. First of all, the location leaves a little bit to be desired, which I partially knew going in. But, all around the hotel is construction and it's kind of dirty. Second, on the first morning we realized we only had 3 towels and there were 4 of us, so I sent my 22 yr old daughter down to get another towel. The person at the desk was very impatient with her and told her someone would bring towels, which they did. Then, the next morning, we had only 3 towels AGAIN. When the guy brought up two towels, we hid one away for the next morning. Night 3, the heating/cooling system came on in the middle of the night sounding like a thrashing machine. So, we turned it off. It was much too loud to sleep with on. Next morning I went to the desk to share this information, along with a few other concerns. The same gal was at the desk that my daughter had dealt with a few days earlier. Everything I said was almost immediately reasoned away. She did apologize, but was shocked to find out it was her that was not pleasant to my daughter. "Who was here at the desk?", she asked, acting as if it couldn't have been her..... Then she tried to explain why the heating system would make some sounds. I had to be on the edge of rude to make her understand IT SOUNDED LIKE A THRASHING MACHINE!!!!!! Lastly, the wifi at this hotel is nearly non-existent. TERRIBLE!! The female concierge who was working on Friday, December 28 was very helpful and friendly and for the most part, the restaurant ladies and cooks were attentive and professional. We walked up and down the stairs when going to and from and several times mentioned to the gentlemen working the lobby that the suitcases behind the door were almost blocking the door. Firehazard??? I will not stay at this hotel again. It was a decent price for this time of year and included breakfast, but the service, location and amenities will keep me from going back. And their guarantee of satisfaction is just lip service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Kelly S.,

Thank you for sharing feedback on your holiday stay at our hotel. We appreciate you bringing your experience to us and we are sorry to hear you were disappointed in your stay. We strive to make every guest feel valued and welcome. The rude service you received from our front desk is not the way our staff is coached and trained to do so. We will use your comments in our ongoing training as we strive to provide the best guest service possible. We know how important the little things are such as a smile crossing the lobby or anticipating your linen needs and we will work harder to meet and exceed all of our guests expectations. We hope you will visit us again and experience the elevated level of service and amenities you deserve, this way you can see that what you encountered was the exception and not the norm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The HGI at 28th St is the best place to stay when in NYC. The price is reasonable and the location is just superb. It is close to everything, subways, path trains, Macy's and within walking to Time Square and to many shows there. The staff is friendly and the rooms are very clean. The apple cider during the holidays is great after a walk in the cold evening. I just love their breakfast. A cooked to order of anything you wanted, eggs, waffles, french toast, etc. The wait staff is alert and will get you whatever you need. A great place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor is best if there is any left when you check in. It gives you a better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found both our location and value ideal. We agree with you that our breakfast is delicious thanks to our great chefs. Thank you again for your great review, and we hope to see you during your next visit to New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea

Address: 121 West 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#144 Family Hotel in New York City
#192 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#194 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea - a modern Madison Square Garden hotel. Perfectly located in the city's Flower and very chic Chelsea district, the hotel is in the heart of it all. Just south of Times Square and convenient to Penn Station, Grand Central Station and all subway lines, this charming Chelsea hotel is central to the wonders of the city. Less than 0.5 miles to Jacob Javits Center Four blocks to Macy's Seven different subway lines within a short walking distance Three blocks to Madison Square Garden. Connect in Business at this Madison Square Garden Hotel. Corporate travelers enjoy an easy walk to many businesses and area corporations: Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Flat Iron Building, Macy's, Fisher Price, Cisco Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea Hotel New York City
Chelsea Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea
New York City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.