We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deception” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   121 West 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Parking Package
Ranked #181 of 458 Hotels in New York City
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Deception”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The price is too high comparing to the quality of the room! People at front desk are so rude! Everything in this hotel is poor quality!!
Terrible terrible terrible terrible
I will never come back!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Myriam D,

Please accept our sincere apologies for your disappointing experience with us. We don't like to hear of any guest not being satisfied with their stay and we appreciate your input on the value and quality of our accommodations and amenities. We welcome you to contact us directly if you have any additional comments or suggestions or if you would like to discuss your stay further. We hope to have another chance to show you the level of hospitality you deserve should you visit the area again in the future.

Thank you,


Silvio Zinnanti
Assistant General Manager
212-564-2181
silvio.zinnanti@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    547
    125
    38
    26
See reviews for
420
350
112
222
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Have just returned from here after a five nights stay. The hotel staff are very friendly and very helpful. Great location close to the Empire state building,macys and Madison square gardens. Rooms cleaned everyday to a high standard. Really enjoyed our stay here and if/when we return for our next trip to new york we would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us! We are so pleased to hear you had a great experience at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea. Our staff does a wonderful job making sure our rooms are very clean and well maintained. We agree with you that our location is ideal. Thank you again for your great review, and we hope to see you during your next visit to New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for five nights just before Thanksgiving with friends. The hotel is in a great location, a few blocks from the Macy's and the Empire State. There are also subway stations close by and a couple of friendly bars on the junction with 7th Avenue. The rooms were a decent size and cleaned every day. We didn't spend a great deal of time in the hotel, as you don't go to NYC to sit in the hotel room, we tended to be out early and back late, but at all times we found the staff to be friendly, from the doorman to the manager who we bumped into in the lift. Overall I thought it was a great base for a busy trip to New York. Would certainly stay there again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review about your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel spotless and location convenient. Our entire staff makes every effort to accommodate our guests and make them feel welcome. Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Hotel staff at front desk was very helpful and nice. Natasha and her co worker made everything right from check in till check out. Hats off to those women. Area is pretty functional to catch a cab or the subway around the corner, and also not to far from madison and 25th where eately is. and then right down the road is various shopping to Paragon Sports and other nice shops. A well placed convenient hotel by Hilton.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us! Our staff works diligently to bring personal attention to every guest interaction, and we are pleased you received that attention. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to Natasha. We are happy to hear our location was convenient for your many adventures as well. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you during your next visit to New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed at this hotel over the Thanksgiving holiday. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I especially want to give kudos to the bell staff they were always smiling and greeted us everytime we left or arrived at the hotel. Even after we checked out they held our bags until we were picked up for the airport. The rooms were small but very clean and we used the fridge and microwave in the room. The hotel is close to the subway and many restaurants. My only disappointment was that breakfast was not included with our room, it has always been included in other Hilton Garden Inn's we have stayed at. I would definately stay here again on my next visit to NYC. :-)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad you had a great experience at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea. We find our location and room amenities to be very convenient for our guests. Our employees do a great job of welcoming and taking good care of our guests as well. I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed that our breakfast was not complimentary. The Hilton Garden Inn brand does not include breakfast unless a bed and breakfast package is booked.We offer a delicious full, cooked-to-order breakfast which is a step above other hotels' free breakfast offerings. Thus, we charge for it. Please take advantage of our bed and breakfast rate where breakfast is included with the room rate during your next stay. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you during your next visit to New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Just spent four nights at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea. Excellent stay. Convenient location, quiet, almost new, and amply sized rooms with microwave and refrigerator. Breakfast restaurant and small bar on site. Fitness room as well. On our third day we returned to the hotel around 4:30 pm tired and chilly only to find our room had not been cleaned. However, what was an inconvenience was quickly addressed by management and charming staff. A four rather than a five due to concern over construction on the street including a new building next to the hotel. Ask for a room at the back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location and hotel rooms convenient. We also agree that both our location and hotel amenities in every room are ideal. I apologize you were inconvenienced that your room wasn't cleaned when you returned in the afternoon. When it is very busy at the hotel, the housekeeping staff will sometimes works past 5:30 to ensure every guest room is thoroughly cleaned. I'm happy to hear the staff quickly addressed the situation for you. Thank you again for your kind words, and we hope to see you during your next visit to New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Had a great stay HGI Chelsea recently. This is a nice hotel for the price. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The rooms are standard HGI rooms. Of course they are quite small which is normal for NYC. Subway in very close which is very nice. No complaints overall!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review about your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location and value ideal. The entire staff works very hard to exceed the expectations of every guest. Thank you again for your kind words, and we hope to see you during your next visit to New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea

Address: 121 West 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#118 Family Hotel in New York City
#129 Business Hotel in New York City
#176 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in Hilton Garden Inn New York/Chelsea - a modern Madison Square Garden hotel. Perfectly located in the city's Flower and very chic Chelsea district, the hotel is in the heart of it all. Just south of Times Square and convenient to Penn Station, Grand Central Station and all subway lines, this charming Chelsea hotel is central to the wonders of the city. Less than 0.5 miles to Jacob Javits Center Four blocks to Macy's Seven different subway lines within a short walking distance Three blocks to Madison Square Garden. Connect in Business at this Madison Square Garden Hotel. Corporate travelers enjoy an easy walk to many businesses and area corporations: Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Flat Iron Building, Macy’s, Fisher Price, Cisco Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea Hotel New York City
Chelsea Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea
New York City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.