We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS FUN!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stomp

Stomp
126 Second Avenue, The Orpheum Theatre, New York City, NY 10003 (East Village)
212 477-2477
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 846 attractions in New York City
Type: Performances
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction Details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“FABULOUS FUN!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We traveled with two 14 year olds - you know, "not easily impressed" teenagers... Well, "Stomp" blew their socks off and they left the show totally energized and actually talked to us boring adults! (yay!) The show is well worth your time!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    89
    20
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Clever and entertaining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Always good to see a show that turns a clever idea into something entertaining. This show is not about the technicalities involved in tap dancing but nevertheless provides the audience a novel way of being entertained. The show can be loud, so if after a while your ears hurt, be advised to take some earplugs. Overall, very worthwhile for all ages to enjoy.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“"Interminable"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Please, don't be put off by the title of my review. There is no doubt that STOMP is so incredibly entertaining, so clever and steeped with performers who are so undoubtedly talented. The biggest - that is, the only - problem is that STOMP is soooooo long! Now it's true our tickets were freebies. As a result, upon being seated my emotional investment in the show was not at 100% (fair weather theatergoer, I confess). However, once the performers come sweeping onto the stage the audience is engaged and delighting in the percussive beats. It's great! The first 45 minutes are GREAT! But minute 46 and well, you don't have to beat this dead horse. By then, it's simply overkill. My focus shifted from the show to my own plans of escape - - Fake a heart attack? Generate a parole letter mandating my prompt return to the cell block? Have my kid fake a seizure? Really, if I hadn't been given seats in the first 5 rows any one of these schemes would have been executed. By 1 hour, the tourists were boppin' and whoopin' and stompin' along while I tried to induce an aneurysm. You can imagine my fury during the encore. Maybe I'm impatient. No. I AM impatient but really my money's worth was awarded so soon into the show that all that extra was wasted on me. The kids got restless too - but maybe it's in their blood.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun! Kids loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Considered Broadway, but ended up selecting Stomp due to location and availability of good tickets at a reasonable price. We had 5 adults and 3 kids (young teens). Everyone enjoyed the show!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“This is the show to see if you have boys!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

(Don't be caught with your teenage boys tagging along with Mama and Grandma to see Mammma Mia. Take your boys to see STOMP! they'll be talking about it or years to come!)
The other reviews are very accurate!! A must see show!
STOMP was so exciting and every act was new and held a surprise. We laughed and enjoyed the audience participation. There were so many items used to produce music and the actors had a good idea of how to keep everyone's attention. We got a lot of fun out of watching a family with boys ahead of us in the audience. The tickets were also reasonable for a family on a budget who still want to see some New York shows. (Don't be frustrated by the graffiti in the area of the theater. It just adds to the exciting elements of the show!)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stomp also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Stomp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stomp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Stomp to your Saves list