We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Burger Before a Neil Young Concert!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Burger Joint at Le Parker Meridien Hotel

Burger Joint at Le Parker Meridien Hotel
119 W 56th St, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)
212-708-7414
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #580 of 12,022 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 6th and 7th Avenue
Transit: Subway: N,R,W,Q and F
rev123
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best Burger Before a Neil Young Concert!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Son and I hit the Burger Joint at Le Parker Meridien Hotel before heading to nearby Carnegie Hall for a Neil Young concert. The joint was the coolest place I ever ate a burger in....the burger was insane...and Neil was on fire. What a night! Do yourself a favor and go to the Burger Joint next time you're in NYC...if you can find it. Clue...look for the neon behind the curtain! :)

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,005
    799
    304
    90
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Arrive after 5.30pm to Le Parker Meridien and the sight that greets you will most likely be one of a snake-like queue of people in the lobby waiting to disappear behind a curtain. Those in the know have figured out that behind the curtain is the hotel's fabulous Burger Joint - don't be put off by the queue, it is well worth the wait. The choice (I wouldn't call it a menu) is simple: how do you like your burger cooked; do you want cheese or bacon with that; do you want salad. Fries are the only side option and if you've got room for dessert you can ask, but again, your choice is limited (brownie). This is old-school style and the burgers are cooked to perfection. There's a lack of pretence about the way you order your food - and the way it is served - that tells you this place is interested in their burgers; nothing else. Burgers are probably a dime-a-dozen in NYC, but if you can find your way to Burger Joint, you won't be disappointed. (Tip: for a take-away option only, guests of the hotel can call ahead and collect their order without having to wait in line)

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good burgers, too crowded”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I have eaten here previously, and it always has a long line . Expect to wait 20/30 minutes to order, you will be very lucky to get a place to sit. As soon as you get inside ,watch for someone to leave and have someone hold a place to sit.It is located in lobby of of La Meridan hotel. Burgers are around $8 , fries are very good and shakes are made with real ice cream in a blender/mixer on the spot. We ate in the lobby sitting on inside steps. Don't worry there will be others.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere… Good Burger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This joint reminded me of 'flight club' or something out of the movies. I had to ask the front desk of the hotel to find out where the Burger Joint was. It was behind the curtain! Once I entered, there was a line up of roughly 10 people and this place was packed! We're talking about 3pm on a Sunday afternoon.

Waited a LONG time for my order (Works Burger and Fries). After about 15 minutes and getting a seat beside another couple (this place is very tight and small), I bit into my burger and it was very good. Not the best I've tasted, nor the fries… but it was a very good burger, the ambience was absolutely fantastic. I regret not ordering the milkshake as I was told it is amazing. I watched them make a few and all they do is load in pure ice cream, milk and chocolate syrup. There are no measurements or method to their madness!

I will go back again when I visit NYC!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Iconic, and I love the burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I know this place is not for everyone. But if you like a simple burger and fries and thrive on unusual environments for the same, this is the place to be. I mean, how many other traditional burger joints (complete with graffiti-covered walls, a tiny open "kitchen," and minimal seating) can boast an existence behind a curtain in the opulent lobby of a luxury hotel in midtown Manhattan? I just love this place for what it is. And I will keep coming back to it for a solid cheeseburger (lettuce. tomato, onions, and pickles), salty fries, and a chocolate shake (made in the blender, like Mom used to). Ah. One of life's great pleasures.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burger Joint at Le Parker Meridien Hotel also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Burger Joint at Le Parker Meridien Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burger Joint at Le Parker Meridien Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.