We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM New York Times Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added citizenM New York Times Square to your Saves list
citizenM New York Times Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   218 West 50th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #34 of 454 Hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good value, Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Nice chain hotel that's been give a boutique vibe. Definitely a hotel for someone planning a great manhattan location with really clean and functional rooms but not a big price tag.

Nice rooftop bar with great views. Rooms are small but very functional with a large bed virtually built under the window and a huge flat screen TV. Large shower room.

Breakfasts were very good and the staff very, very good.

Will be using this place again

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Hello richardspeldhurst,

Thanks for your review. I was happy to read you found us a good value. New York is an expensive city but relative to other hotels in our area, we're priced competitively. Thank you too for your nice comment about our team. Appreciate it.

See you back soon.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    106
    16
    7
    2
See reviews for
41
188
41
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

The location of this hotel is great and strategic. In 1 min you are in time square and there is subway stop just right to the entrance. Rooms are very cool, all is controlled by a tablet (lights, heating, curtains, etc...). The staff is very nice and polite. When you arrive you can also choose the late check out,so paying 56 dollars more you don't have to leave the room at 12 but at 16. Only "negative" thing is that rooms are small, but it's the standard for NYC. I really suggest this place.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
HI F1L00,

Thanks for your review. I was very happy to read you felt we were "amazing". Glad you appreciated our late checkout option. We think it is good value and see you agree. Yes, as others have noted, our rooms are smaller, but most, like you, think they work well for their trip.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Very cozy/trendy hotel. Staff is very helpful. You can do everything from your bed with the tablet. Loved the mood lighting. Times Square is just around the corner. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Wicked is right across the street. Go see it. Amazing show! Read the quotes on the walls. I learned...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Hi Tri300,

Thank for sharing with us. Very happy to read that you enjoyed and would return. Hope your first trip to the Big Apple was fun and you'll be back soon.

Look forward to seeing you again.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

It's a nice hotel..very modern but a bit pricey. Rooms are pretty cool but could be better. My room didn't have any wash cloths or coffee & hotel doesn't offer free breakfast like most hotels in NYC does but for the most part I would stay again. Location is great & so is the atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Hi Fungal33,

Glad you chose citizenM for your visit and very happy to read you liked us and would return. New York is an expensive city, but we work to keep our prices reasonable when compared to other hotels in our area. We also provide free water in the rooms, free WiFi and free movies. We do charge for breakfast, but if you pre-purchase (or at check in) it is only $16 including tax for a full, hot breakfast. Relative to other hotels & restaurants, we think it's fair.

Looking forward to seeing you back soon.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Citizen M Times Square. I am a huge fan of the W Hotels but too often just too expensive.....well for me from now on I will be looking for a Citizen M hotel when I travel!......loved the common areas....fantastic staff.....mini rooms....but mini techno rooms with a fantastic bed is just WoW to me!!!......love it love it love it......I tried very hard to find flaws.........found one : no hair conditionner???......euh.......no worries......still big time in love with Citizen M!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Hi BacchusB,

...and we love, love, love you! Thank you for your review, especially acknowledging the team. The cool stuff is cool, but it our connection to our guests that we are most proud of. We will be adding washcloths soon and our brand team is looking at other enhancements, like conditioner.

Hope you come back soon.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

The minute you walk into the lobby this place will put a big smile on your face. Great design features, quirky ideas. Friendly staff. Great facilities. Two great bars. Our room was a double but even though small it felt large as the designers made the most of every inch of space. Got to see it for yourself.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Hi Geezers5,

Thanks for your review. When I read that we put a smile on your face...what a great compliment...thank you. We hope others take your advice and come see us.

Until next visit...

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Trendy/design hotel. Young, efficient and friendly staff. Very enjoyable indeed! Loved the modernity & the location of the hotel; the clean, fresh, calm, high-tech room.
Very good breakfast.
Everything is just perfect and spotless!
The lounge bar on the 21st floor is just amazing!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Hi LUCIA P,

Thank you so much for your review. So pleased to read you liked us and things were perfect. We fully agree about the rooftop bar, cloudbar. It is a very special place that our guests love.

See you back here on your next trip.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to citizenM New York Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM New York Times Square

Address: 218 West 50th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM New York Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
citizenM's archetypal affordable luxury is now in one of the largest cultural capitals of the world. Situated in iconic Times Square, just off the corner of Broadway & 50th. Inside citizenM, relax in our living room, retreat to the quiet mezzanine terrace, take a breath of fresh air at the back outdoor courty or head up to the 21st floor for a drink at the rooftop bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM New York Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM New York Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.