We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM New York Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added citizenM New York Times Square to your Saves list
citizenM New York Times Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   218 West 50th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #26 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This hotel is really great value for money, location is good, rooms are small but very practical, free wifi and nice staff. Complete room is adjustable by tablet, not only sound/tv but also curtains and light.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Hello Judith T,

Thanks for taking a moment to share your visit with us & other readers. Our goal is to give our guests an affordable luxury experience and hope we succeeded. I see you are a frequent traveler to New York and hope you choose us on your next visit.

Since last you stayed with us, we have opened our roof top bar. Come check it out!

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

My wife and I spent 4 days in new York last week.
We were amazed about New York and one of the things we liked most was ... this hotel!
Yes! Despite the tiny size of the rooms, everything was perfect! Everything seems designed to engage you actively in an exploring experience.
The location first of all: in the very heart of Manhattan, 3 minutes walk from Times Square, the metro station in front, Central Park very close-by.
Just entering the hotel lobby, we realized it was somewhat different: the reception looked was a round table with a number of young, welcoming and enthusiastic receptionists supporting us in self-checking in (or out) and providing any kind of information we needed.
Moreover, many open living areas with sofas and armachairs of famous designers, walls decorated in a very original way, plenty of people in the bar area, a nice atmosphere with a good music. The lobby was authentically a live area where people enjoyed spending time.
Also the area with macs and a printer in the mezzanine was really helpful.
The room, despite being very tiny, was hipertechnologic, with a moodpad (a Samsing Galaxy Tab 7") controlling everything in the room (temeprature, color and intensity of lights, snooze, picture to show in the pictureframe on the wall, curtains and blinds, even the TV. And of course with access to the web (this was really good when you only have a smartphone).
The breakfast was ok, normal continental breakfast but always abundant (self service).
I would definitely go back to this hotel next time in NY.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fakor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Hello fakor,

Appreciate that you took some time to share your visit with us and other readers. It was particularly nice to read your comments about the lobby, which we refer to as "the living room". It is set up in a sort of open floor plan design and intended to function like a living room or family room would at home. So glad you enjoyed that experience.

It was a really cool compliment to read we were one of your favorite things about New York.

See you next time!

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Stayed here for 3 days in May.
You can check-in/check-out by yourself in the round table at the front that doubles as the reception- there is always staff around to help out. There are a lot of seating areas in the lobby and a few long tables for breakfast. Personally found the breakfast selection small - sausages, bacon, egg muffins, potatoes and yogurt with a good selection of dried fruit. Coffee and tea made to order in the bar. No salads/pancakes etc.

Pros; Clean quiet rooms. Excellent location (Food emporium,Duane Reade,Rite aid on the corner), Many restaurants to choose from - I like Ruby Foos right on Broadway, Subways A,E,1 on the same block as well as the M50 bus. Room has mood options so you can change the lighting to different colors - nice touch. Shower has a nice rainfall shower head - no rooms with bathtubs.

Cons: Very small rooms (7 steps from door to bed,3 steps across). All rooms are the same. 2 narrow closets with a safe and 2 shelves. Under the bed there's a large storage drawer but my suitcase (regular size) didn't fit.TV is on the wall over the bed so not very convenient to watch - don't look for ABC,CBS,NY1 etc. They do have showtime,TLC and various HBO options.
No amenities except for 2 large shampoo/shower gel bottles. Would of liked some body lotion,conditioner,Q- tips.

The whole room is controlled by tablet - no problem for me but i wouldn't be surprised if older folks would find it problematic. Also, beware of the "gentle" alarm clock - it starts counting backwards from 60 in a very disturbing voice - creepy.....

All in all a very good option if you travel light and find a good price.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Hi meit,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us & others. We designed citizenM for today's traveler, who generally packs lighter and appreciates a good value. Our motto is to provide an affordable luxury experience. And while some folks might think those terms contradictory, we hope we have found the right middle ground.

We are definitely changing the television channel selection and our brand team is reviewing other amenities as well. We hop you choose us again when you come to New York.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Based on the great reviews here, I chose this hotel and stayed 8 nights. I was not disappointed. The location was so convenient, just a few steps onto the 50th street subway and great central place for exploring midtown and going to theatre shows. At first I didn't know if l liked this hotel and by the second day it had won me over. The staff are amazing. The rooms are small - perfect for one person - but the economy of scale and use of space is very impressive. In the end, I realised that all I needed from a hotel in central NYC is a great bed, a good shower and a bit of peace and quiet from the busy city. This hotel delivers on all these fronts! The concept and execution is also impressive.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Hi Darren W

We appreciate that you took a moment to share your experience with others. Thanks for the shout out about the staff. They are an amazing group! Look forward to seeing you back here soon.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We liked the modern design. The check in was touted as self check in at kiosks near the door. On arrival there were several very pleasant staff members standing by the kiosk to walk you through the process.
The room was comfortable and clean, and modern. The bed was very comfortable. most everything in the room was controlled by tablet, and it was easy to figure out. The room was very quiet at night.
We paid for the breakfast, and it was very good. The rooftop bar was not open while we were there.
What I did not like was that there were no washcloths, and the only toiletries provided was a giant pump bottle in the shower labeled as shampoo and shower gel. No conditioner.
The toilet and shower were inside a giant plastic or frosted glass pod, and you could see shadows through the glass so you knew when someone was in there, and you could hear everything that happened at the toilet throughout the room. If you are modest, you may not be comfortable with that little bathroom privacy.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 2ritravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Hi 2ritravelers,

We appreciate that you shared your stay with other readers. Your words and experience are important. Please know we are reviewing instituting wash clothes in our guest rooms. We have had other guests make similar comments about it and about the toiletries. They too us under review by our brand.

We hope to see you back soon.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

I didn't know exactly to except when i arrived at citizenM since it's pretty new when i booked on january, 2014. But I was really surprised with every single detail. From the beautiful lobby to the trendy rooms controlled by a tablet, from the great breakfast to an example of kindness and professionality from its employees. My personal props to Corey and Stephanie who helped me a lot during my pleasant stay!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank rblacerda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Hi rblacerda,

We appreciate that you shared your experience with us and other readers. Especially nice of you to mention Corey & Stephanie. It is so rewarding for the team when they get recognized.

One of our core training themes is to surprise our guests (in a good way of course!). Glad to here our brand did just that.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I simply loved my stay in this hotel. I spent 11 nights there and it was amazing. Staff is very helpful and location is perfect! The bed is very comfortable and the shower is fantastic. Wifi works perfectly, and it is free! I'd recommend this hotel to everyone. Just loved everything!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Hi Pamela G,

Thanks for such a glowing review. Really don't have much to add! You said it all.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#33 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,287 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
#2 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 4,505 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#18 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#32 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 4,105 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#7 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#136 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM New York Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM New York Times Square

Address: 218 West 50th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM New York Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in iconic Times Square, just off the corner of Broadway & 50th, citizenM New York offers 230 boutique rooms in the heart of the theater district. Come for a piece of cultural notoriety and stay for the anti-jet lag rain showers and free Wi-Fi, free movies, hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control every detail of your room, super chic lobby spaces designed as Vitra living rooms, an on-site MENDO library for perusing or purchasing, 24/7 dining and cocktailing at canteenM, a quiet mezzanine terrace, fully-equipped gym and yoga terrace, and the skyline showstopper: an exclusive rooftop bar, cloudbar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with citizenM Operations Holding BV, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your citizenM New York Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing